April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Grab That Key!

by Elstretchington - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Someone has lost the key to the city, you must venture to find it in the plains. Explore the vast terrain and Grab That Key!


windows only, just run the .exe and the game will launch.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#146Humor3.11
#540Graphics3.05
#816Theme3.27
#1002Audio1.76
#1030Mood2.37
#1064Innovation2.35
#1083Fun2.36
#1255Overall2.33
#1594Coolness37%

Comments

GetFun says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:45am

hhahah. shorter then excepted lol

Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:00am

Looks really nice.. unfortunately I'm not on my windows... I'll have to play it later!

Magnus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:09am

Lol.

JaJ says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:28am

I expected at least one of these! If you had added just a single real obstacle, you would have aced the theme as far as I'm concerned. In my opinion the lack of a challenge is the one thing that keeps it from being a game (and thus a minimalist game)

LrdKzrth says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:34am

Took me a while to find the key >.< But overall, very simple and to the point. I like it!

bvanschooten says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:14am

I like the idea of producing a "you have to burn the rope" kind of game in as little time as possible. The graphics are good.

Benjamin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:22pm

I crushed 75% of the herbs before noticing the key was visible from the start... :)

Trench says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:38pm

I played two seconds of the game, i could walk up the tree and nothing happened when i went to the right of the first map the character gets lost because there are no boundaries. Sorry about the negative comment but these are areas you could improve on, if i have done something wrong then i am sorry but it wasn't obvious from the start on where i should go. Well done though!

May 2, 2013 @ 1:35pm

Ha. Funny. :P

ahm99 says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 12:47am

If they can't find it they must be blind. I saw it almost right away. But I see what you did with the theme. Good job :)

Pinkerator says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 11:50am

Fun 5 stars :) I didn't noticed it at first!
And really minimalistic by the way/

donan says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 8:38pm

Simple and short, but a nice idea. This is the kind of games to be proud here at ludum dare ^^

Blinked says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 3:36pm

Cute little game, took me longer to find the key than I'd like to admit xD

AlexFili says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 3:46pm

Very short but an interesting idea. Please make a longer game next time!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]