April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Gawdamn Aliens!

by Jyrkface - Jam Entry

------------------------------------------

Controls -
WASD to move
Mouse to shoot
Hold D to bypass obstacles

Fend off the Gawdamned Aliens as a True American Hero.
Never stop shooting!
Guzzle sixpacks to shoot better! (Like real life!)
Infinite lives till they take your trailer!

EDIT: Web version now up! Unfortunately it appears to be buggy as hell, with certain bugs showing up differently on different computers. At this point, I've spent quite a lot of time on the conversion (due to some object corruption) and I'm not sure I feel comfortable making any more corrections inside the scope of the Dare rules.

If you experience issues with the your character not recognizing terrain damage, I strongly suggest trying the PC version.

------------------------------------------

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#71Humor(Jam)3.19
#167Fun(Jam)3.17
#285Graphics(Jam)3.14
#299Mood(Jam)2.84
#367Overall(Jam)2.88
#410Audio(Jam)2.10
#478Innovation(Jam)2.22
#518Theme(Jam)2.33

Comments

DDDBOMBER says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:02am

Really nice, loved the graphics

SonnyBone says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:41pm

HA!!! This is hard as crap, but it's hilariously entertaining. Good work!

Alphonsus says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:49pm

A bit difficult but fun to play. Awesome work!

Jyrkface says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:55pm

Thanks for the comments!
Middle of the last day of the jam a bunch of bugs started cropping up in Alien Behaviors, it basically became completely random how long it would take for enemies to build up a critical mass. For this reason we set the spawn scale to the max from the beginning, so that this version would be "fair" at least in terms of endgame scores. Might do more with the game later though, and that will def include a better fix for this.

Travis Irby says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:42am

Woe thats a lot of aliens haha! The destructible ground is very cool reminds me of that old gorillas game :D nice job

robotality says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:28am

That was fun. Hard as hell but fun!

GetFun says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:29am

Evil with tits O.o
btw, a lot of fun!

dsoft20 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:32am

It's a nice entry, but I find it a little bit difficult, it's almost impossible to evade alien's missiles, and the aliens take too many hits to die.

StMatn says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:51am

Nice game! It definitely is hard, but thats part of the fun. I like it a lot.

Jyrkface says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:57am

dsoft20 - Shoot incoming missiles! They bounce back and even hurt the aliens! Another little trick is that you can use your truck as cover as long as you can still defend your trailer!

Definitely though, if I finish this project I'll make the difficulty scale up instead of just starting at ridiculously hard, but it will get even ridiculously harder if I add in the enemies that got cut for time :P

The Consul says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:49am

Graphics are nice. I especially like the invasion going on in the background.

The mechanic where your firing rate gets quicker the longer you've stayed alive is also good.

The sound gets a bit annoying after a while though.

Good work.

s0ulcrusher says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:21am

Falling into hell is hilarious

Jyrkface says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:09am

Honestly, making wonky titted Satan was my favorite part of this whole Jam :P

MRvanderPants says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:59am

Awesome art and really addictive gameplay. Very solid game.

kreischweide says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:14am

Nice game, definitely fun and very responsive controls. Some aggresive background music and some more detailed sfx could improve the experience. Great work!

Jyrkface says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:22am

@kreishweide - Don't I know it! Unfortunately Ryan had a stupid root canal he forgot about during the Jam and consequently the music we got done on time sounded like cats in a blender, so it was back to the old SFXR for sound support :P

Other features cut for time were a slower scaling of the invasion, several random characters to spawn as (explaining why the trailer is the spawn point, sort of) and two additional enemies (who are jerks.) I'm very much thinking about throwing next weekend on the altar and finishing this thing :)

manabreak says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:29am

The devil in the end really got me :D

hamster_mk_4 says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:30am

This game is brilliant. From the lurking devil to the way lives don't matter but staying alive longer does. I loved every second of play.

vapgames says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:41am

Very fun!

May 3, 2013 @ 11:38pm

I love graphics and i really laugh so hard with the game, ilove dat satan GOOD JOB!

kibertoad says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:51pm

Good graphics, interesting twists, however games becomes impossible if you die on a later stage. Power down rate should be reduced.

Cybearg says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 10:22pm

Excellent game! Loads and loads of cathartic fun!

I loved the simple premise and the great pixel graphics. It feels like it would fit on a classic system like the C64 or something. Having the ground wear away over time was a brilliant idea and all the power-up drops make you feel great. It would have been nice to have some variation in the powerups, but I understand that there is limited time.

I only have two real issues with this game. First off, as others have said, the constant shotgun sound gets annoying after a while.

Second, I wish that the aliens would come in ever-increasing waves, rather than an infinite stream. This would give you a moment to pause and cool down before more intense combat came at you, while also giving a sense of progression. As it stands, the constant fighting without end eventually becomes kind of exhausting. I think that breaking up the enemies into waves would have remedied that (see: Space Invaders and Missile Command).

Overall, a great and very fun game!

Jyrkface says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 7:07am

Thanks for all the great feedback! It will be taken into consideration while finishing the game! Some things we're working on adding include 30+ unlockable characters to randomly spawn as (no differences in abilities, just visually different for some color) 5 additional enemies and 4 additional levels to unlock as well as fabulous new power-ups.

Hoped to have a web version uploaded here by now, but the Ludum Dare version of the game without the new features had some graphics corruption, so that's going to take a couple days..

donan says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 8:36pm

Fun, addictive and a really nice version of a classic. Really good game :D

Tsuki_Usagi says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 12:58am

without my mouse around is basically impossible to win jajaj xD'''

but yeah, it was fun /so much without playing an alien retro game orz/

just one thing: the game was slow D: (and the controler of the mouse froze once :/ )

yimpossi says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 2:51am

I love the graphics! simple yet challenging. Good job.

Jyrkface says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 11:57pm

@Tsuki_Usagi: can I ask which version you were playing?

Jyrkface says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 11:58pm

Also, definitely agreed about the mouse. This game is not trackpad friendly at all :P

domrein says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 4:04am

This game is great. I really like how death is handled and the humor is a nice touch too. No idea what the devil with lopsided breasts is about though :P

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]