April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Mondrian's Frogger

by doobdargent - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Incarnate a frog and jump as far as possible while avoiding traps & obstacles.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#178Humor3.00
#332Fun3.23
#393Theme3.70
#702Graphics2.85
#721Overall3.00
#898Mood2.54
#931Audio2.00
#1181Innovation2.15
#1411Coolness45%

Comments

bitiotic says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:54am

Nice use of the theme. Frog needs a *splat* animation (should be theme appropriate of course). Also, its too easy to miss the end text and restart (if you're frantically hitting keys and die).

zanzindorf says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:53am

Nice interpretation of the theme. My brother was mad at me because my game had nothing to do with the art movement.

Frib says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:59am

I agree about the end text, but other than that, it's well executed and a nice adaptation to this theme :D

raincole says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:07pm

This is the kind of game that reminds people the good old days.

d_durham says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:53pm

This was good fun and a nice idea.

domrein says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:53am

Fun game. Nice use of the theme.

Colapsydo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:37am

Great level generation.

patrickward says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:22am

Fun concept and nicely done. I particularly like how the tiles changed each time. It was a bit fast for me, but I'm slow anyway.

henrykun says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:54pm

It was fun :)

fishbrain says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:55pm

Nice Frogger Mondrian crossover!

mortl8324 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:51pm

Very cool idea to do that. Fun game, and really clever.

visibleatom says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:41pm

I liked the use of the Mondrian landscape in your entry. Just wish the high scores didn't go away with arrow keys; I'm usually mashing them when I die.

rogueNoodle says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:52am

Great use of the theme, and bonus points for making a 'Frogger' game that I didn't suck at (unlike the original :P)

elektron says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 2:15am

Great job! This is the best Mondrian-themed game I've played.

May 5, 2013 @ 5:01am

Nice take on Frogger. Was just getting into it when it seemed to get extremely unfair. Super dense traffic and traffic going both ways on a single lane! Around score 3000 or so.

Drabiter says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 3:33am

It was fun and fairly easy :D

Clavus says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 7:42pm

Nice use of the theme. The procedural level generation was good.

chowbaaron says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 11:21pm

This will be the next game on the MLG Circuit! My fingers seriously ache from spamming the up arrow! Try playing this game without waiting more than a second or two between cars.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]