April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

One Space Away

by Kiwiboi - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Didn't have time to make music sadly. Kinda rushed things in the end, but it'll do!

Controls:
Space to fly up


The little marsian is homesick. Help him! And don't get hit...

EDIT:
Added Mac version.
Now I'm not sure how this will work for you, for me the animations were sadly really laggy but the basic game is still there, enjoy! :D

Hmm looks like you might need Blender for it to work on Mac? I'm still not sure so please let me know.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#194Humor2.94
#540Graphics3.05
#940Fun2.56
#1046Theme2.98
#1047Audio1.47
#1056Overall2.67
#1070Mood2.31
#1093Innovation2.29

Comments

Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:34am

Haha... Nice! Very ambitious for an LD.. love the animations on the superhero XD

Mekuri says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:53am

This game is hilarious! I really laughed at the plane and the superhero. Would have been epic with sound!

Tahooey says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:12am

Funny little Game

CMaster says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:13am

Certainly pretty minimalist with the one-button-control and all.

The jet really annoyed me for being cheap though - you need to get swiped by it a couple of times before you know to avoid it.

juaxix says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:22am

Please fix the random paths, sometimes it is impossible to go up :D

I think it is a good job

wallmasterr says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:24am

would have been cool to see the birds animate, but fits the theme and works well.
Lol when the plane hits you :P

wallmasterr says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:27am

and forgot to mention , Go blender :D

Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:08am

Nicely done! I really like how you interpreted the theme with minimal controls; it's impressive how much control you've given the user through the use of just one button. Also the plane is awesome.

Infin8 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:16am

Nice stuff. Really a lot of content for a LD. I got as high as the asteroids.

hgouveia says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:10am

Very cool, sadly was flickering on my machine (W7 Laptop, intel graphics)

zerebruin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:37pm

Nice graphics, although not very minimalistic.
Very hard to beat on my laptop. Mouse clicking as alternative speedup method would be nice.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:42pm

Like others have mentioned, I was stuck by the ambition that you came up with this in 2days. Great effort and I'd say it's the funniest game I've come across in this LD thus far. Cheers!

lulzfish_4 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:46pm

It seems you made this in the Blender Game Engine? I really wanted to play it, but my Windows says "ludum.exe is not a valid Win32 application", maybe it's because I'm 32-bit.

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:48pm

I got to the asteroids, died and could not handle any more. I really REALLY wish that there were some checkpoints. My wrist is killing me and my keyboard wants to die >_>.

Solid effort however. Just...checkpoints.

HeyChinaski says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:53pm

Nice models, particularly good animation on the super hero :)

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:42pm

That's funny for a blender game !

Kiwiboi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:04pm

@lulzfish_4
Hmm that sucks. I'm not sure about this actually. I know that the computer I used to make the .exe is 64-bit so what you said might be an unfortunate truth :/

Paul Sinnett says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:00am

Good fun. It would make a good phone game I think.

HelkeGames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:03am

Nice and cool game, great job ;)

TheSarcastic says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:10pm

Couldn't get it to work here on my pc. Only a black screen showed up :(

Alex Rose says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:17pm

I couldn't get past the satellites!

Cool game though, really liked the models, the one button scheme was a really good idea and the superhero was amusing. Good job!

Kiwiboi says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:46pm

@TheSarcastic
Oh yeah? Hmm to know more about why I need some information about your OS, but you probably won't read this :( That's unfortunate though.

@All
Thanks for all the comments, both the positive and negative! I'll definitely remember to implement some of the things you've said next time.
And for those thinking it's too hard, deal with it >:) I'm gonna be honest it was my intent to make it frustrating! Love you all, peace!:D

May 2, 2013 @ 1:47pm

Really funny, i laught so hard with the superhero, i like it! good job!

Andrei Barsan says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:24pm

I felt that the controls were a bit stiff. I couldn't get past the plane event, despite trying quite a bunch of times. :( I liked the graphics, though! :D

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]