April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Dream Min

by Argembarger - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I learned how to make a browser-based game just for this Dare. Also I have a final tomorrow.

I think a last-minute sleep-deprived change has led to some sporadic bugginess in the collision detection. I'll fix it when I get a chance but otherwise the game is complete and more or less running as intended. UPDATE: I fixed the typo leading to collision problems. Things are lookin' good.

Also, true Minimalists only walk orthogonally. also it's my first-ever entry and obviously the very definition of the effects of sleep deprivation on the brain.

The object of the game is to walk around and try to hold onto small objects while avoiding the large ones. Although at this point, the de facto object of the game is to try your best to hear all of my masterful audio tracks.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#43Humor3.74
#186Audio3.33
#980Fun2.50
#1055Graphics2.36
#1120Mood2.22
#1129Innovation2.23
#1209Overall2.43
#1211Theme2.68
#1535Coolness40%

Comments

Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:43pm

This has the best music. I heard a cat and a potato and The Lion Sleeps Tonight.

theomnis says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:45pm

Wow/Dang - Choose appropriate, LOL!

CogComp says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:26pm

Really like the way the music is affected by the gameplay, it really changed the way I was playing

free_napalm says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:30pm

I laughed out loud while playing. This is exactly like those bad websites in the 90s - moving animated pictures, crazy background music.
When I had 2500 I realized the big things do not even kill me. I also knew every track by then, so I stopped playing.

igrowbeards says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:34pm

The awesome audio makes this game a lot more fun than it actually "is" :) Nice work!

Sebastian says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:34pm

Man, that stupid elephant kept barging in and ruining the potato song!
Very funny game ;)

Ernyz says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:37pm

Hm, it might sound strange, but I couldnt even loose O.o when I pick small item, the score start increasing and then no matter what I do, it just doesnt stop. A bug maybe?

Argembarger says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:37pm

Yeah, there's no concept of winning or losing. Just amuse yourself for as long as you can, until the raw pointlessness of your situation causes you to cash in your score and end it

Tainted_Code says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:14pm

Funniest sound effects ever! You can get an infinite high score just by running around the edges though. xD

muton says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:16pm

This is fun for a few minutes, and actually more fun than most LD games! Well done, it's very amusing.

Cheshyr says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:16pm

Ahoy Potato! This was pretty amusing; I liked it.

mrexcessive says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:36pm

Fun... Sounds fun... shades of Jeff Minter

Purplescape says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:10pm

It's a chaotic and a fun take on the theme. Potato!

Pabo says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:16pm

Now this is a unique entry. I didn't really understand what was going on, everything was so random - but to a point where this becomes a plus. The gameplay itself was all right, with some collision issues, and quite hard when I didn't walk along the borders (which became the only winning strategy for me). But what stuck with me was the randomness. The various objects were strange enough (potato bonus FTW), but what I loved were the sound effects, and also the intro screen. That way, I was already expecting something wacky, and the game didn't disappoint me.
All in all, an unexpected entry with some issues, but what shines through in the end is the fun you obviously had while making it. Also, kudos for trying to make a game with a new technology, I'd have had to study for weeks before coming up with something like that.

kyyninen says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:39pm

I don't see myself playing this again, but it was fun enough while it lasted :D Animations and sounds were amusing!

May 3, 2013 @ 10:31pm

I was trying to get the kitty and I couldn't catch it, man I really wanted that kitty. Anyway this made me smile, so thanks

PPLo says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:59pm

Wooow! Psychedelic dude!
The mechanics are good. The sound effects are funny ^^
A losing condition could have been cool.
Good work.

netmute says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 11:58am

That potato song. It is awesome.

FREEZX says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 3:32pm

Ahahahahaha this game cracks me up. So funny! Loved it!

Brassawiking says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 7:52pm

Well this was something different haha ^^. Nice one!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]