April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

RGBA

by mrx - Jam Entry

Platform shooter set in a minimalist environment requiring cunning use of colours to vanquish your foes!

Created in under 72 hours by a team of 6.

Unity, Photoshop, Blender, Gimp, C#


Controls:

Movement - W A S D
Jump - Space
Fire - Left Click
Change Ammo - Right Click

Rules:

Monsters are immune to their own colour and when injured will bleed out ammo of its own colour, so be sure to rotate your targets to get an even distribution of ammo!

When you kill a monster on a platform with a totem, a token of its own colour will be pushed into the totem's queue, the oldest totem colour will be removed then the totem has more than 3 colours. When a totem has a red, green and blue token (in any order) the platform is completed and will turn white.

Watch out for killing too many monsters of the same colour on a single platform! If a colour appears more than once in the totem, all monsters of that colour be immune to all damage while standing on that platform!

Good luck!

UPDATE:

We've included a web build for player convenience, the build includes the tutorial level that was made within the jam time, but unfortunately we forgot to include the level in the final build, technically a typo bug, but if anyone wants to rate the game based on the non-tutorial version it's all good! Actual game-play is unaffected.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#31Graphics(Jam)4.34
#52Overall(Jam)3.77
#114Fun(Jam)3.35
#138Mood(Jam)3.40
#150Humor(Jam)2.70
#167Innovation(Jam)3.30
#273Audio(Jam)2.91
#446Theme(Jam)2.72

Comments

Elrobo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:51am

Looked and played well, wish I could invert the Y axis.

angelk says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:25am

Just amazing what people can get done in 3 days. The animations are wonderful and silly, environment is nice the gameplay is simple yet fun. Graphics are really a knock out of the park. Way to go!

intripoon says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:36am

Great game! Looks nice and feels good. I wasn't sure what to do though. I could kill bad guys with colors different to their colors. But the respawn all the time so just killing them forever probably isn't what I have to do. There are those pillars that change color, but I didn't figure out what to do with them.

Zed says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:18pm

I really like this. Reminds me of the early PS2-era third-person platformers, of which there aren't nearly enough. If this were a full game (maybe with a bit of difficulty balancing), I'd buy it.

Orni says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:00pm

what a brilliant idea - and the models and animations were perfectly executed
I could totally see this become a well selling game (at least on mobile) and you should definetely improve upon it and put it on the apple market and google play store (which thx to unity shouldn't be too hard to pull off)

very well done guys, loved it!

bowlercaptain says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:46pm

Nicely done! The graphics were very nice, and things ran pretty smoothly. The only qualms I have is that there was no nice front end, no 'You Win!' screen, and occasionally it wouldn't fire even when I was holding down the fire button.

someone says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 3:03pm

Love this game. Great job on the animations.
Took a while to figure out how the ammo thing worked.
Needs more work but it an excellent start.
Killed them all. They stopped spawning after a while.

lorancou says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 3:12pm

Found myself facing a horde of angry mobs, maybe I'm not quick enough at killing. I wish they were a little less aggressive :) Very good job, I love the animations!

NateNaterson says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 3:47pm

Best visuals I've seen so far! The mechanic was a bit hard to figure out at first though. Great little game.

fysx says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:12pm

The game is very difficult and the mechanics are a bit complex if you haven't spend time with it for 72 hours ;D. Awesome graphics and the controls feel good!

Ray_Mickelino says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:49pm

Wow, Just wow. 5 stars all the way.

MinionStudios says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:57pm

Great game with an incredible atmosphere... I love the animations and gameplay mechanics!

OrangeeZ says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:52pm

Graphics and animations are very well done, but the place gets crowded too fast and reduces the whole gameplay to strafe and shoot. Other than that, your game definitely has what it takes to become a great platformer.

DaanVanYperen says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:35pm

It looks like you crammed two weeks in a Jam, amazing!

Sylvain.p says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:20pm

Impressiv graphics for a 72hours game.

zkenshin says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:30pm

Would have been neat if the cross hair changed to the colour of ammo you were going to shoot as well.

GranaDa says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 1:21pm

Nice gameplay. Please continue developing this to a full featured game. Good job!

lightsoda says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:19pm

Great animations, has a nice look to it.

May 5, 2013 @ 10:45am

I really liked the concept and graphics, but I couldn't seem to find any victory condition?

mrx says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 7:29am

Hey guys and gals,

Thanks for all the great comments and all the great crits!

@Elrobo: We'll definitely have the option in future versions.

@intripoon, @NateNaterson: Thanks! We did drop the ball slightly at the 11th hour by forgetting to include the tutorial level in the final build, the web player does have it though.

@bowlercaptain, @BarrensZepplin: Unfortunately we didn't have time to add the victory condition, basically it's when you have unlocked all the platforms with totems on them. We will also be adding a bit more in the way of menus, options, etc. ie. front-end, in a future release.

@lorancou, @OrangeeZ: We do need a smoother difficulty curve, for sure!

@zkenshin: Colour changing crosshair was actually in the plan, but it got lost in the chaos! I'm sure we'll add it in later though ;)

@angelk, @Zed, @Orni, @someone, @fysx, @Ray_Mickelino, @MinionStudios, @DaanVanYperen, @Sylvain.p, @GranaDa, @lightsoda: Thanks for all the compliments! We really want to take this idea further, add more of the crazier ideas we had and make it a well rounded experience.

Again guys and gals, thanks so much for all the positive C&C, it is so awesome to have our brief labour of love received so well by our peers, it definitely stokes our fires and we hope to take the mechanics of RGBA as far as it deserves!

Thanks!

oatsbarley says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 6:05pm

Oh wow, this is stunning for 72-hours. It's all really smooth, and it was fun. Well done!

Jeremias says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 7:50pm

Very polished entry. Can't say anything negative...

Saturnyn says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 11:42am

Great work ! If you had more time, I think it would deserve a longer tutorial to explain everything you said in the post, it is a little confusing without that.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]