April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

MINIMALIST INVADERS FROM OUTER SPACE

by muton - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Keyboard controls are cursor keys & Ctrl OR WSAD & M.

An awful alien couple, DaYviDD and FiYoNARR, from the galactic megacity have invaded earth because property here is cheap.

They are minimalists and hate mess and disorder of any kind. Convince them to leave by making their living conditions unacceptable!

Be careful, DaYviDD has a gun!

(Post-comp version has some bugs fixed and some additions - it's a lot more fun, and more difficult. Please try it, but you gotta rate me on the compo version. :) )

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness85%
#65Humor3.58
#326Audio3.09
#419Innovation3.29
#443Mood3.03
#538Fun3.00
#564Graphics3.02
#619Overall3.11
#1097Theme2.89

Comments

Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:32am

Such an original fun idea! AI was a bit weird at times though. Loved the sound effects!

bummzack says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:43am

Hahaha. I messed their shit up. Great humor and additional points for the music :) DaYviDD having an invisible gun is kinda unfair.. I guess that's because he's minimalist scum. Some more levels would have been awesome.

Komradus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:44am

On occasion the collision between objects leave a larger then comfortable gap between said objects. But other then that, solid work here!

Adbook says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:45am

Very fun game ! The aliens' voice is awesome !

muton says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:51am

Thanks! Yeah, my AI is buggy - yesterday I had a choice between debugging and fixing that, or making graphics and play-testing.. At least I finished it in time, this way. :)

aquilicoco says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:46am

Good work.

kryger says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:44pm

There should be more games like this!

rogueNoodle says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:03pm

Ha - I instantly regretted hitting CTRL by the toilet ;) What a weird game, and I mean that in the best way possible :)

theomnis says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:40pm

Where did that gun come from? Oh, I should have read the instructions.

Hamumu says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:42pm

This somehow came out as unbelievably easy for me... if one of them had a gun, he didn't have the manly earth-cajones to fire it at me. I just went around the apartment trashing everything without any resistance. I did like it when one of the aliens actually cleaned something up though. Wish there had been some challenge in that!

lanz says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:49pm

Fun game, and very good art. Nice idea and great implementation.

SuperDisk says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:11am

Funny idea, but the sound effects were loud and evil.

madballneek says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:31pm

Smart entry, I like it. Causing chaos while having fun doing it.

runonthespot says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:33pm

I love that the take on minimalism :)

uberneen says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:16pm

Neat game, very creative. The audio alone was a compelling reason to trash the place.

lotusgame says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:17pm

Invading ;-))

TurboDindon says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 11:17am

Mwahaha, the idea is very fun.
I tried the post-compo but it's hard to finish the disorder.

- SEPHY (@sephyka)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]