April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

UFO Invaders Love Steak

by ZombieRockParty - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Use the arrow keys to move. Up to jump. See if you can spot the aliens stealing cows.

Each time you load the game a new world is generated. Still has much to do. Enjoy.

Sorry, but I didn't quite finish this even though it was moving along quite quickly at the end, I just ran out of time. At this stage you can only explore a little and see a cow get picked up.

Anyway it was a great experience and I'm already looking forward to the next one. After I get some sleep that is.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#344Humor2.57
#886Audio2.12
#934Graphics2.56
#1217Innovation2.08
#1223Theme2.67
#1239Mood1.75
#1316Coolness47%
#1332Fun1.46
#1336Overall1.86

Comments

egos says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:36pm

after 5 minuts i sax a UFO take a cow and i don't know how stop them :(
no fun sorry

robertcalvert says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:39pm

I am not sure what I was meant to be doing but I really like the art work. The city scape and the cows are awesome.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:39pm

Ah sorry guys. I should have made clearer that you can only explore. I simply ran out of time. Development was moving really fast at the end. A couple more hours and I would have finished, but unfortunately I was also too tired.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:28pm

The idea of aliens stealing my cows looks promising. Too bad you didn't finish it.

DaanVanYperen says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:22am

Starfish cow protector! or something. euh.. D:

Dietrich Epp says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:31pm

Congrats on getting this far.

MrHalfman says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:32pm

Is there something to do?

kreischweide says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:33pm

Missed opportunity, you could instead have gone for Jam instead of Comp to get the extra 24 hours to finish it :) Otherwise style looks great to fit the theme, audio is in... just a bit more game mechanics could have been enough.

finefin says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:34pm

although this is not really a game (yet) I enjoyed the graphics and minimalistic chiptune.

CAukamp says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:59pm

Some kind of sad. You should have opted for Jam and finish it.

mrexcessive says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:01pm

oops went wrong way and ran off edge of world. Nice bizarro world. Saw alien steal cow early on. Not sure how to play other than watch stuff happen... can move around but...

loxo says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 8:29pm

Good idea. Maybe you have some time to finish it.

GaTechGrad says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 11:07pm

Neat concept. I'd definitely like to see the completed version.

geckojsc says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 11:22pm

Quite cool, well done on the procedural generation! I liked the chip sounds, it would be nice to see this go further.

ataxkt says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 7:11pm

Couldn't really figure out what I was doing and what effect it had. Sorry! Finish it and upload a post-comp version!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]