April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

The Boy Who Leapt Through Planets

by ydg - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Very small metroidvania-style game where you jump. A lot.

Controls: WASD, Shift and Space.

Try to get all the four endings!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#170Humor3.04
#383Fun3.17
#565Audio2.69
#758Overall2.98
#997Mood2.41
#1075Theme2.93
#1100Innovation2.28
#1217Graphics2.10

Comments

Deadlyapps says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:06am

lulz. Fun stuff.

paulopn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:09am

That was fun! I really liked the use of jumping as an upgreadable stat!
One question, though...why does it look like the main character has exposed genitalia? o.O

texel says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:41am

Got the weapon upgrade. Aaand you're done.

semi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:48am

Yeaah bro :) I agree with paulopn that it looks like the main character is constantly rocking a hard-on. The fully upgraded jump was a little hard to handle, especially since it seems to limit jump distance by your head sticking against the ceiling. Other than that, i liked the humor, secret passage finding, exploration etc. Great job!

CogentInvalid says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:49am

The graphics were awful but it kind of added to the charm of the game. This is probably the funniest LD game I've played so far.

jerrre says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:50am

Nice game

Diventurer says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:51am

Well, it got really annoying when I kept dying at those arrow-enemy-thingies, it was impossible to land on that little triangle without sliding off. However, it was quite fun. I like the classic hidden paths. Should have been more hidden though, oh and I'm an awful person apparently. Who'd know.

erdos says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:51am

Lol, he asked me not to kill him, I did it anyway, I am an awful person!!

Things I liked about this game:
- The secret passage ways (surprising!)
- The fact that he shoots bullets out his wang
- The range of powerups
- It really made me want to play until the end

triplefox says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:57am

I like the penis gun

Framerate was kinda low for me but i dealt with it

Brian Corr says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:59am

Very fun. A little punishing with no checkpoints, though!

What's with the dong?

johnste says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:59am

Why does he shoot with his genitals?

Good fun, had to try a lot of times to complete the game. Getting hurt by the monsters and obstacles felt a bit random, sometimes I could jump on them (the monsters) without damage, but sometimes not.

caasi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:11am

Hey, look, I can shoot without my hands!

Sebastian says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:17am

Woah, the shooting caught me off guard lol.

lpcustom says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:40am

LOL at penis gun!

Tozy says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:52am

At some point, aftyer jumping the gap with the move symbols and getting the first big green circle the game just wen pure white :s

ydg says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:57am

What are you guys talking about? He's just shooting a laser gun which just happens to be stuck in his crotch. It's not fun, he's probably in pain every time he shoots ;_;

At first the game was meant to be a lot smaller, and jumping would scale in a more natural way. Yet I still wanted the last jump to be a really big one. So no planification = Bad.

The collision with enemies is awkward because I didn't implement a good hitbox. Touching them from the right or the left will hurt you, but jumping on them will hurt you... sometimes.

Anyways, thanks a lot for the feedback!

daniel says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:01am

Fun and humorous :)

attagcatc says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:49am

Fun platformer. The controls feel a bit too coarse, especially when running. Also when the jumping has been upgraded it is impossible to jump over the spikes at the start.

Chman says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:05am

Wait, what ? Is that a penis gun ? Made me laugh.

Lerc says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:03am

I don't want to think about what I'm using for ammunition.

Tinco says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:48pm

Anikiii!!!

Anyway, fun game, pity about the lack of savepoints :(

VDOgamez says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:44pm

I was amused by how quickly the jump height escalates into rocketing straight up unto the sky. My main complaint is that some sections are really unforgiving compared to the rest of the game. Once you have enough jump height it is extremely difficult to navigate the pit of spikes at the beginning, for example. Still, pretty good game.

aquilicoco says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:06pm

Good work!

tonic says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:02pm

Nice work.

mrexcessive says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:14pm

BIIIG jumps!

Morgawr says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:15pm

AGDG bro, the game was awesome. I loved the idea of using multiple upgrades and stuff like that. Great stuff, really!

donan says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:26am

Really nice. Humor and gameplay rocks!

Tifu says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 10:03pm

I got the pacifist ending, then "some enemies" ending after that! Fun game. I didn't seem able to kill the huge red dude, though.

Benjamin says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 7:15am

fun game, very high jump on the end but still playable whatsoever. You have Title + intro + game + fun ending = 100% complete game. Nice achievment for 48 hours work.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]