April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

AlienHunt

by huelsmanj - Jam Entry

Press 'F' on your keyboard to enter fullscreen mode (recommended). This is a point-and-click style game. Requires Java 6 or newer. The game is package as an executable JAR file and should run on all platforms by double-clicking the JAR file. The game requires minimal input, has simple graphics, and an be enjoyed for a minimum (hopefully) of 1 minute.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1934Coolness14%

Comments

wonderwhy-er says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:32pm

Hmm, after 1,2,3 it does nothing...

PPLo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:03pm

I have the same bug.
3, 2, 1 ...and then the stars freeze and nothing happens.

brookman32k says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:41pm

same here (running on windows 7, usind jdk 7 update 7)

DaanVanYperen says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:40pm

Can't get it to go beyond "start".

huelsmanj says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:38pm

To those of you who have experienced the game freezing after the 3,2,1 countdown: I have tested and fixed the issue. I have uploaded a new build with the fix. Thank you.

PPLo says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:48pm

Ok it works now. Final score : 900.
A simple game but correctly executed. Good work.

mungoman1 says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:01am

This would be a lot of fun on a mobile something. The flashing was a bit obnoxious though :)

kurrik says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:17am

I liked the old school minimalist feel. I think the aliens could have moved around a little more, they seemed to graviate out toward the corners. Felt like the hit detection was a bit off, I actually found it easier to play windowed.

stqn says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:28am

Works well and is fun for a while (maybe I should keep this game to train my trackball pointing skills!) The starting sound and the flash when an enemy is killed are a bit violent though! And it *seemed* that I had to click slightly in front of the enemies.

PixelIndigo says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 9:40am

Hmm. What about points-- if you misclicked? I think it would be very nice aim training game :)

Siewart says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 3:16pm

A well executed, minimalistic, take on the genre.

MinionStudios says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 5:57pm

Shoot aliens out of the starry sky! woot

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]