April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

jump

by yinbar - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Keeping it very basic for my first entry. Simply avoid the walls using the spacebar (and hit r to restart). Gravity flippers add extra challenge. Yeah, it's not really 'jumping' as such but the name still works...

Created in Gamemaker Studio, it uses only a single (coloured) square sprite for every object in the game.

I couldn't quite find a good way to get any audio in.

The IOGraph shows the mouse movement for most of my work through Sunday before submitting.

Thanks!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#277Theme3.85
#595Fun2.94
#800Overall2.94
#1011Mood2.39
#1093Innovation2.29
#1108Graphics2.29

Comments

mchaza says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:30am

Nice solid controls, great job. Those tall blocks killed me.

Toki Anholmes says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:32am

fun and minimalist, well done (a little bit too hard for me)

jami says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:33am

The "jump" is hard to get, nice idea of changing gravity (:

yinbar says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:03pm

I'm curious as to what scores anyone can get too, my record is 745.

Sticking to the edges whenever possible seemed to help!

Corofides says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:16pm

Nice and simple gameplay. Reminds me of those old flash helicopter/missile games where you had to get through a tunnel. I think the jumping could have done with a little tweaking.

The Jahn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:17pm

Damn this is addictive...

Alphonsus says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:38am

Simple and fun. The jump control is kinda hard though. Great job nonetheless!

berkano says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:42am

Nice little game, well done!

Ofursnati says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:57am

Nice game. Really hard to make some jumps into small openings.

yinbar says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:46pm

Good to see it's not too easy then!

May 1, 2013 @ 5:01am

Fun, simplistic game. Very elegant way of displaying all the information - one of the first truly minimalist games I've played thus far. Well done.

SuperDisk says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:29am

I like it! Controls were kinda wacky, though.

Ray_Mickelino says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:13am

Might be easier if it was slower. Good game though.

triplefox says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 2:14am

Twitchy!

GranaDa says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:40pm

Nice concept. A bit hard but fun. Good job!

psc1997 says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 1:41pm

Good job ;-)

My Milked Eek says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 2:08pm

Fun game, though jumping was a bit hard to control at times.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]