April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Erase

by Sylvain.p - Jam Entry

A puzzle-platformer where the player have to remove most of the items and features on each level in order to create a clean-up picture: an abstract representation of the different phases of the character life.


PS : alternativ .rar link
http://www.fichier-rar.fr/2013/04/30/erase/


Game Design and code: Sylvain Payen
Graphic Design: Mathilde Soulier
Sound Design: Alexandre Dazzoni


Made with Construct 2

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#71Graphics(Jam)4.04
#158Innovation(Jam)3.32
#200Mood(Jam)3.17
#279Theme(Jam)3.23
#305Overall(Jam)3.03
#323Audio(Jam)2.72
#334Humor(Jam)1.91
#403Fun(Jam)2.54

Comments

Sylvain.p says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:28am

Restart if the sound isn't synchronized.

Leginar says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:06am

I had a lot of trouble with the dash level. I must have been missing something because I never seemed to be able to get rid of all of the unnecessary elements.
:(

Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:28am

I don't understand the dash level either. I Erase all the elements OK, but then i die, why?

Sylvain.p says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:37pm

There are still few bugs, but to this level you may have forgotten that you can destroy some triangle with shoot (and destroy more), because I didn't see error. Persist the next level is better !

We may sell the walkthrough/soluce for $5 if you want. :-)

plash says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:30pm

Not really understanding this game.. Response to player input & movement is nonexistent, and sound is very screwy. There is no audio cue when the player gets to the end of a level. The transition between the erase and movement modes is too long.

What does "Press MAJ to shoot." mean? None of those keys do anything, and the sequence M A J doesn't seem to either. ... Actually, the shift keys seem to shoot.

OniiRam says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:34pm

I can't get past dash level either

MinionStudios says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:13pm

very stylish game! I love the warping and gameplay flow. Good job!

NicoJaujou says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:14pm

Interesting design, maybe too much possibilities (the shoot thing is maybe too much), I love the eraze effect that you use.

rogueNoodle says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:17pm

Nice entry - the visual design is amazing.

klianc09 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:43pm

It somehow doesn't load, seems to get stuck at the loading screen.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:53pm

@plash dat troll

sharbelfs says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:29pm

The graphics are awesome, but he have some bugs and need a faster control.

Cosine says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:14pm

Game felt great, graphics were cool. Love the fact that it's HTML5. Cool game, but it didn't run too well on my machine.

dissonance says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:53am

Nice game. I had a few issues with the controls, but other than that it was pretty fun. Good job!

Sylvain.p says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:33am

Thank you for the encouragement.

Among other things:
* The Level 4 is achievable, (Hint : at the end there is only one triangle).
* If the sound doesn't work on the online version download the .rar (the feedback will be better synchonized). If anyone know something better than googledrive to host the game ...
* NicoJojou, you can be right about the features, but the interest in having more comes at the end.
* We will probably made a free-bug version(for the edgiers as plash) and a video for the less skilled.

May 1, 2013 @ 3:48am

Nice take on the theme and gorgeous art.

Felix20 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:31pm

Wow, really cool sound and graphics, though the music can get annoying. The gameplay is a pretty cool concept, but it's a bit clunky and boring.
Overall a nice effort, just needs some more polish.

GranaDa says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:35pm

Nice mood. Got trapped on "press MAJ to shoot". Nice graphics and sounds. It would be nice to see this become a full featured game.

@Sylvain.p: Our game was made using MMF2 and exported to HTML5 using Clickteam's HTML5 beta exporter.

jijaweb says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:53pm

One of the most beautiful games. Very good work!

ramoncb says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:15pm

amazing art and concept, I played the web version

I tried to download via googledrive, but the link seems broken .-.

ramoncb says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:16pm

ops, now I saw the alternative link, sorry xD

Sylvain.p says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:23pm

@ramoncb: thanks for this information, the file had disappeared from google drive. It should be repaired within 10 minutes :)

PPLo says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:34pm

My PC REALLY don't like the waving effect :/

May 3, 2013 @ 11:44pm

Very nice audio & visuals, creates a great atmosphere

StMatn says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 12:19am

Nice game! I really like the graphics style. The game is fun, but what is the "MAJ-button"? Great work.

Sylvain.p says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 1:45am

@StMatn : Many people have the same problem, it's my fault... the MAJ button is the Shift button. Sorry.

@PPlo : It's strange, what's your browser

PS: in construct 2 It's MAJ so I thought that it's how called It in English.

Super Hamster says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 4:27am

I get a white screen.

Travis Irby says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:12am

Thanks for the comment on my game. I agree that it could probably be faster paced. Your game is really stylish! Unique concept, nice.

Colapsydo says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:24am

The universe created by graphics and sound is nice and the evolutionary gameplay is a great way to teach the player the moves.
However I found a bit frustrating to have to redo the level even if I reach the goal, it should be indicated first that we have to destroy a specified number of elements and not afterward.

Dir3kt says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:19pm

Graphically impressive. I liked the erase mechanics it's quite innovative and interesting. I didn't like the shoot and dash, felt like it was too much.

Rafael Sales says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 4:01pm

Fantastic game!! Really minimalist, fun and great art. Congratulations dude!!

rujo says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 9:56am

very peculiar and artistic oriented game.

fermcg says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 1:45am

Very nice! Well done!

egos says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 10:49pm

Very nice game
special mention to graphic and a good point for construct 2 commutiy

a bientot

May 7, 2013 @ 10:59pm

Very original style!

May 7, 2013 @ 11:01pm

I like the graphics... Good game :D

KEFIR says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 11:49pm

Amazing graphics! AMAZING!!!

May 13, 2013 @ 9:15pm

Very nice game, and a solid idea fitting the theme, but I must admit that I didn't really like the way you need the keyboard and the mouse to play this... I realize most games require this, but it didn't fell "natural" here... Sorry to say so.

ddionisio says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 1:06am

Wow, I love the art style in this game! I like the idea that you have to choose wisely which chunk of the level to erase. The only issue I had is it felt awkward to switch between mouse control for erasing.

alwaysinbeta says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 1:08pm

Really interesting art style and unusual gameplay. Enjoyed it.

lotusgame says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 6:29pm

Very nice game ! A huge work ! Impressive :)

Galvesmash says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 3:20am

Beautiful graphics for this game!

omaha says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 5:00am

I loved the geometric graphics. Very clean and fun to look at. I felt the audio needed some TLC. The 'electric shock' sound in level 3 was like fingernails on a chalkboard.

May 15, 2013 @ 1:12pm

Some great aesthetics here and one can see you've definitely put a lot of work there. Some issues aside,I think it's a solid effort.

Xanjos says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 8:07pm

Pretty good game with a really nice art style and an interesting concept but controls felt a bit awkward.

Symmeteer says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 2:37am

Pretty zany - I liked it! The movement was a bit sticky, though.

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 6:26am

Interesting concept...

DST says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 7:22am

Absolutely beautiful! Very stylish, with a good mechanic.

Orni says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 9:06am

nice game

it doesn't seem to fit the theme though, since it's not minimalistic - it's rather abstract, which are totally different things (many people misinterpreted the theme this way)

you should also speed it up, since the level transitions take a long time, just make the fading stuff and delays twice as fast

Sylvain.p says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 2:52pm

Thank you. If I have time I will make an adjusted version (in few week) so thank you vvery much for the comments.

Orni : the minimalist comes with the game process, you have to destroy the level and destroy the too much feature of the character, as a minimalist artist which try to minimalize his work. But you'r true the graphic style and gameplay isn't directly minimalist.

mtrc says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 12:33am

This was pretty fun! I wasn't sure why there was a minimum elements to be destroyed - why not let us be creative and reach solutions faster? But I enjoyed the aesthetic a lot and the ideas in there.

Gremlin says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 4:11am

Clever puzzles.

The jump feels a bit awkward.

paulmcgg says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 11:27am

Wow. I think this might be the most visually stunning entry I've seen, beautiful. I loved the shimmery erase view (how did you achieve this?) and think there could have been a nicer way to erase objects or see them disappear.

I did have some problems with the movement being sluggish and really awkward control placement. I guess because the controls didn't work in mine (did you try the downloadable builds as well as web?), you may have a different keyboard layout?

But again, the art is phenomenal. Well done.

paulmcgg says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 11:29am

Do you have a website?

ethankennerly says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 7:03pm

The special effects of zooming out to delete an obstacle impressed me!

deathray says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 6:35pm

Great art! Not the most fun, but so pretty to look at.

infernet89 says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 5:12pm

I really LOVED the art style here, full points in graphics for you ;)

Teejay5 says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 10:31pm

Love the design! At times its unclear what you're supposed to do, (and a few bugs here and there) but I really like the puzzle elements presented.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]