April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Walk Softly, Bronson

by Tobye - Jam Entry

***NOTE: As you can gather from the below and reviews it's not a very complete game. However we have been working on it ever since and will definitely finish the project! You can check the website here: http://www.walksoftlygame.com/

This is a noir-style detective game set in a spirit world. The minimalism comes from the very minimal art style, lack of verbal or written communication and

A lofty ambition that was sparkling up until the final meld, when 2/3 of the game (including levels, effects and features) had to be gutted due to tragic lack of SVN.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1979Coolness10%

Comments

Leginar says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:32am

I was unable to get the game to run on a Macbook running Mac OS 10.6.8. It's a shame, as the game looks quite beautiful.

lambomang says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:20am

Nice atmosphere. Would love to play the game again when it's completed.

May 1, 2013 @ 11:07am

I downloaded the exe but it doesn't run on Windows Vista which I'm currently using. Immediately after running the exe it crashes with the typical kind of windows error. Do I need to download more than the exe? In that case you might consider putting all required files into a zip/rar to make the download a lot more comfortable.
The screenshots look really amazing by the way.

reverso13 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:46pm

Very nice graphic style!

DaanVanYperen says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:46pm

Like the atmosphere and music. And Ghost kitties! <3

May 8, 2013 @ 6:10am

Unfortunately the graphics seemed like they were really buggy on the OS/X version. Some graphics would render properly while others were black squares, while others yet were white squares. It was really difficult to play because of that.

The music track is great, and the mood is awesome too. I wished this one were in a more playable state because I loved the direction you were going.

MinionStudios says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 9:32pm

What is this? So atmospheric and intriguing... I LOVE the art. Will you complete this?

Kharza says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 7:41am

Wonderful feeling from this! I walked around and just let the music run.

GarethIW says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 8:08am

Wonderful art style and atmosphere. Not entirely sure what I was meant to be doing, as the only item I found to interact with was the ball. And then the ghost kid got run over. Would definitely play the finished game!

Oleg Zhurko says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 8:15am

I really like the music and visuals, but I have no idea what to do.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]