April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Stem

by KevinLaity - Jam Entry

Using the power of the sun, guide your flower through a maze of treacherous obstacles while collecting precious water droplets to keep yourself alive.

Created by Team Fuzzy Pixels

Crystal McNair - Art, Programming
George Georgeadis - Game concept and level design
Kevin Laity - Programming, Level Design
Jason Tsamalidis - Music

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness74%
#6Audio(Jam)4.27
#81Graphics(Jam)3.98
#89Overall(Jam)3.64
#105Innovation(Jam)3.49
#105Fun(Jam)3.38
#113Mood(Jam)3.49
#239Humor(Jam)2.28
#255Theme(Jam)3.31

Comments

jpverkamp says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:40am

Very pretty--I really like the audio. You may want to make it clearer exactly which you want to get and which not (I'm assuming only water drops are good?)

DNA Yarn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:41am

I would have liked to see the rest of the game follow the graphic style of the title screen.

MinionStudios says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:47am

Love it when the music kicks! This had a very nice flow to it and I love the control. Awesome!

MartianWatts says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:48am

the graphic style is great!

olkeencole says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:11am

Beautiful little game. Love the idea. The controls are nearly spot on. I had some really close shaves with the flower bud. The music is really moves the game along. Really enjoy the art style. Great job guys!

bleatingheart says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:26am

Really pretty, with surprisingly unique mechanics.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:40am

Very nice. Interesting take on theme, too.

ddionisio says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:04am

Nice relaxing game! Great music too! I love how the stem grows fluidly the light beam is pretty cool.

angelk says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:02am

Graphic style is enjoyable, the audio is simple but great to listen to, the gameplay is fun. Very nice entry! Great job.

Robotic says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:06am

Cool asthetic, I wish it would have been a bit more fluid when things move around and collide.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:42pm

Music is beautiful, the title screen graphics are great, I would like to see the whole game in this style!

goerp says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 3:14pm

You guys gotta start rating or else you wont have enough votes!
That would be a shame because thsi game is pretty nice.
I like the Daft punk music and there are spawn points and evolving graphics. Nice controle mechanism,

For me there could have been some more variation, but its good.

Nick Cash says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 4:24am

Wow, a great entry. Audio is outstanding. Difficulty progression is very nice. Clever mechanics.

avidgamerNino says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 1:47am

Great audio, I dont know about hiding the cursor. At first it threw me off then I adapted. Good job.

CrazyGage says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 2:00am

really nice. Loved the style and clean look of the game. mechanic was easy to follow, and I could use my touchpad to play!

FREEZX says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 2:13am

Really good! Loved the concept and the font!

Sylvain.p says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 2:26am

Good music. The plant is a bit too inerta.

dick_claus says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 2:42am

Nice and pretty. Interesting game mechanic.

Tsuki_Usagi says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 3:37am

loved the music!<3

Hologuardian says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 12:08am

Oh my lord! This is a beautiful game! I love the audio! The way I want to constantly get the water drops, without any other indication is amazing design, it makes me want to restart and get all of the drops every time. :D

infinitedog says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 5:11pm

Awesome music.

I enjoyed the game a lot, take my like sir.

domrein says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 3:38am

Great music and graphic style. I agree that the title screen had a much more interesting graphical style than the main game though.

HeyChinaski says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 9:43pm

Looked great and sounded awesome. Apart from when the mouse went out of the game the controls were nice and fluid too. Great game!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]