April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Barren Universe

by TomboFry - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Far, far away on a planet called Earth, a little creature started eating everything. He wanted to make the world minimal! ;)

A Katamari style game where you have to collect as many items within the time limit as possible. The bigger you are before you reach the ending door the more points you get... sort of.


(edit: fixed a bug that allowed you to unlock the last level by completing the first level twice. I'm hoping they'll allow this!)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness98%
#8Fun4.09
#26Overall4.05
#73Audio3.68
#121Mood3.57
#127Graphics3.84
#148Humor3.10
#170Innovation3.65
#680Theme3.41

Comments

torcado194 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:08am

Very fun! must've been hard for level design

HeyChinaski says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:35pm

Very nice little game. Great graphics and the gameplay was fun. I liked how slowly you grew. It meant your size would creep up on you.

badlogic says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:36pm

Very cool idea. Choice of file hosting is a bit meh, but has nothing to do with the game. Which is very cool!

timtipgames says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:38pm

Great music and graphic-style. Love the flow :) Everything fits together well.

Kiwiboi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:40pm

Nice game! This is actually really well made for an LD, a lot of content and detail.
The only critique I can give is that it's kinda hard to know where you can go/should go. Got lost a few times, but I love it! :D

Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:46pm

Nice concepts and graphics!

Hiku says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:48pm

Very good game. I liked it.

Holofire says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:49pm

Hah, loving the art style in this game. Also, the way the levels are designed are great. Gets very difficult when you are racing against the clock.

Xgor says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:52pm

Really fun game, the second level is a bit brutal with how much you have to collect though.

escence says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:56pm

This was fun! The time limit made it quite difficult for me, though :)

Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:59pm

Nice game, very well put together, great graphics. The core gameplay mechanic was very fun though there is not a strong connection to the theme. I didn't care for the music or sound effects but it was good that you have them. I like that you can stomp when you are larger, but it seems like a variable height jump would have solved the problem better. Also I think you could just remove the necessity to get to the exit door and end the level once the player reaches the right size or time runs out, this is supposed to be minimilism right? I could not complete the first level after several tries but I have gotten a bit better each time. I feel frustrated because sometimes there is way too much backtracking when you miss a jump, some of that could be fixed with level design tweaks.

atraxgames says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:52pm

Cool! The shrinking world is a smart idea.

psychomonster says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:12pm

AHHHH I LOVE IT!

Norritt42 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:19pm

Hard in a good way! :) I enjoyed it. I had some tare in between the block. Use dropbox for the future. ;)

Ray_Mickelino says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:20pm

Awesome. I don't have one bad thing to say about this game. Good job!

PapaGrimbles says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:24pm

Oh man, that walk cycle is incredible. Awesome concept of the shrinking world.

Martze says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:28pm

Man, is that time limit rough. It works in Katamari because you DON'T have to get everything, but here, it looks like you have to get most everything to even rank up to the next size. That means a lot of frustrating backtracking. Although it is somewhat mitigated by how the world gets smaller as you progress.

adcrusher says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:29pm

Awesome game! Very creative and the music fit very well. By far the best game I've played so far( although, I've only played about 5 :) )

michail says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:31pm

One of my favourite theme interpretations!

TomboFry says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:35pm

@KilledByAPixel: I do think the door was a little overkill - I added it early on and just kept it in without thinking about it. I appreciate your feedback, and seeing as this was my first Ludum Dare I'll know how to improve for next time, thanks :)

Wow, this feedback is just far too overwhelming! Thank you everyone so much!

geepit says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:36pm

Really cool take on the theme, everything was really nice graphics, music and gameplay!

belickim says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:26pm

It's super fun, my only wish would be some kind of timer-less mode for noobs like me :D

KevinZuhn says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:49am

I had fun!
I wasted a lot of precious time, especially in level two, trying to grab objects I wasn't large enough to grab. I would've liked some subtle indication that an object had just crossed the border of small enough! The time limit was harsh enough that I felt I couldn't make any mistakes.
Anyway, snapping up buildings at the end of level three and then jumping sky high was my favorite part.

multitude says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:00am

Really, really enjoyed this game. please make more of it and put it on kong or newgrounds. love this!

EdoMiyamoto says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:24am

Very good, a 2d katamari-like we'd like to see more often !

kyyninen says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:40pm

Pretty fun! I've always yearned for Katamari-like games on PC, thanks for providing! However, some times it was pretty hard to judge if character is big enough to absorb a particular item (I'm looking at you, gold bars!). And there really should be a some kind of notice when exit opens, I had to try second level couple of times because you can get big enough to reach the door before you can actually use it!

GetFun says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:06pm

Mhm... sometimes I can not collect rocks? :-(
But wow! it's actually super fun! gratz

Aifryz says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:09pm

I love it!

SuperDisk says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:22am

What a glorious game. The music really made it. Too bad I couldn't beat the first level, it was so big and time was so short. 5star overall.

MinionStudios says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:44am

Fun lil game! love the rainbow size meter

Nanolotl says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:38am

Brilliant concept executed very well. The levels felt a bit too long and the backtracking was annoying. I also felt there was a strange mix of graphical styles going on.

Bernhard says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:08am

Somehow found the city level to be easier than the volcano :-) I ran out of time twice in the volcano.
Anyway, really well polished game. It's another one of those "how was this done in 48 hours??" entry for me :-) Really cool music, couldn't believe there was another tune for the city level.

dotteri says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 3:32pm

The second level it's hard. Nice game and concept =)

kill0u says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 9:44pm

Fun game, with a nice concept :)

geckojsc says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 11:44pm

Wow, really brilliant design, cool music and frantic gameplay. Felt pretty polished, I haven't seen many LD games with such well made menus and intros, pause menu, etc.

I managed to get stuck in the far left wall, but that wasn

geckojsc says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 11:48pm

... but that wasn't a real problem, it didn't detract from the fun since I could just restart. (sorry, I accidentally submitted the form too early)

Entity2D says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 12:50am

Very fun game. I loved the idea of the level getting smaller as you ate more objects, it kinda reminds me of Katamari.

SaintHeiser says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 3:08pm

Good game! I like the game concept =)
Well done, man!

May 8, 2013 @ 3:37pm

Very cool game and nice work on the music! I was able to get stuck several times on the volcano level though. Katamari works because every obstacle (apart from the ground itself) can eventually be picked up. Ensuring a game like this avoids the player ever getting stuff will be very tricky. All the same, very cool effort!

Dietrich Epp says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 6:34am

Lovely game, it's just a little hard to explore that much of a level that quickly on a time limit.

Jeremias says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 11:03am

Funny idea and very good gameplay with smooth controls. The graphics look great, but sometimes your tiles start flickering with a small line or border. Additional, I think you could give the player more time... it was really hard just to find the exit. Perhaps you should show the player the exit or make an arrow towards it or something like that. Another thing which you could make better: more things to eat or faster growing! :D

TomboFry says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 2:08pm

@Jeremias Thanks, I will most likely add the arrow (or something like that), the time restraint definitely seems to be a recurring problem. The flickering tiles is something Game Maker doesn't deal with too well... It's happened in the past but I didn't think anything of it that weekend because I was using a graphics card which didn't have the problem (I can see it myself now though...)

fermcg says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 2:40am

Great game! one of the most suited to the theme!

paulopn says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 5:57am

I love it! Reminds me of Katamari Damacy.
Really well made game, I really have nothing bad to say.

Sylvain.p says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 11:45pm

Cool game...but to close to Katamari.

robcozzens says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 6:45am

That was amazing!
Although, it was way too difficult... I felt like I wasn't even close to beating the volcano.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]