April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Comic Sans: The Game

by FloatingGhost - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Well here it is, Comic Sans: The Game. It's built using java on top of the Slick2D library, and should work on all systems (spoiler: It probably won't).

How'd I do?

EDIT
+++++++++

Fixes (I hope) for Linux and OSX with new (post-compo) natives loader.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness85%
#20Humor3.92
#357Audio3.03
#565Fun2.98
#802Mood2.63
#888Overall2.86
#1188Innovation2.14
#1199Theme2.70
#1205Graphics2.12

Comments

pHOIg4H892 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:51am

10/10, has comic sans

TomboFry says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:43pm

I'd like to play/vote, however I get the following error message (I am running on version 1.6, maybe it's that?):

Could not find the main class: ludumdare.LudumDare. Program will exit.

Raimonds says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:47pm

Loved the turning mechanic [:

FloatingGhost says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:24pm

I'm running 1.7 - have you extracted the files from the zip? It appears to hate it if you don't.

metadept says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:27pm

Hahah, cute! What if we don't want to rescue it, though?? My only suggestion is to make projectiles/enemies Times New Roman letters for thematic effect.

timtipgames says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:29pm

Thank god I was able to save comic sans :)
A bit too easy for my taste. The way you implemented ducking is an interesting way to do it :)

Yezu says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:30pm

Can't run on Fedora.
"Exception in thread "main" java.lang.UnsatisfiedLinkError: no lwjgl in java.library.path"

I guess something wrong with path setup.

FloatingGhost says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:41pm

Ooh, I did do the linux natives majig... No idea why it won't run.

Overv says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:45pm

Fun little game! I like the replayability through saving Comic Sans again!

Morgawr says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:45pm

Same here, Linux (Ubuntu), cannot run this because of missing main class yadda yadda

FloatingGhost says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:46pm

That is rather odd. I'll see if I can fix it.

Shigor says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:52pm

Save the COMIC SANS!!!!! Now if there only were some potatoes....

karsyf says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:54pm

"Times New Roman is Victorious" and I lolled out loud =D

Dietrich Epp says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:02pm

Hilarious and fun! But it seems random how high I jump...

Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:25pm

That ducking animation is absolutely wonderful.

invaderJim says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:29pm

The total package.

Holofire says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:16pm

Absolutely hilarious. Such a simple and original idea. I love it.

The jumping is a bit...wierd.

Merkoth says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:19pm

Tried to play under latest OSX, got this error:

Exception in thread "main" java.lang.UnsupportedClassVersionError: ludumdare/LudumDare : Unsupported major.minor version 51.0

Cosine says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:10pm

Love the theme. A little short lived, but cool. One problem... Comic Sans can't be saved! Haha.

SenorDiablo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:03pm

ahaha very funny and fun. good work

errorage says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:08pm

<font face="Comic sans MS">I had fun</font>

jmf says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:40pm

Haha, enjoyed it a lot. On windows had to run it from command line to get the classpath right using "java -jar LudumDare.jar".

Jellycakes says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:39am

Pretty fun, too short though. Maybe a bit more polish too but other than that nice game.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:59pm

Pretty hilarious at times! I'm scoring this high on humor because it actually made me LOL-out a number of times. :D

Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:01pm

Good little game.

Zed says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:38pm

Ha, I like it. Very simple.

The theme for the last LD was "You Are The Villain". This would've fit in MUCH better with that, since 'rescuing' Comic Sans makes me feel like I'm committing some sort of crime.

Purplescape says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:04pm

Funny game! So glad I saved Comic Sans

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:33am

its amazing what people come up with at these things -- really nice effort -- gets insanley hard

TaleLore says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:10am

Great...

Cambrian_Man says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 2:42am

I think something's off in the jump code. Sometimes you do little hops, sometimes it's a big leap. Still, best font-based run and jump game I've played this year!

pvwradtke says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 2:55am

I had some problems to run it on Ubuntu 12.04 and OpenJDR6. I had to install openjdk7 and "sudo update-alternatives --config java" to select JDK7 in order to get it to work. Glad i dit it, had a good laugh with this one. Very easy to win, but dodging all those falling potatoes to rescue comicsans was entertaining. :)

sudorossy says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 10:12pm

It was interesting...

Maple says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 3:18am

*Ahem*, your hitboxes are terrible, but otherwise you did a good job.

Am I meant to want to lose?

Also, you really shouldn't be mixing post-compo stuff with compo stuff, unless it is strictly game-breaking bugs. You should make a post-compo link for the post-compo version, so people aren't rating what you did after LD.

Skoggy says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 1:57pm

Sorry, couldn't start on my mac :(

FloatingGhost says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 6:35pm

Maple, it was a game-breaking bug. It wouldn't launch on mac or linux, I added 2 lines to load the correct natives. That is all.

badlydrawnrod says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 9:22pm

Jumping is a bit floaty, but ... well, it does what it says on the tin.

Coil_Whine says ...
Nov 9, 2013 @ 5:51am

yeaaaah I like this a lot.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]