April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

The world is in your hand

by jacklehamster - 48 Hour Compo Entry

"The world is in your hand" is an adventure game with simple graphics and minimalistic controls. You play the entire game with the space bar.

Edit: I added the posts compo versions of the game, for Android and executable Mac and Windows. I needed to make performance and physics improvement for the post-compo versions, because it was hardly playable on mobile.
Note that the Android version also lets you play the post compo versions with the phone as a remote (see link for detail: http://www.dobuki.com/the-world-is-in-your-hand.html)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#62Mood3.80
#268Innovation3.49
#269Graphics3.49
#271Audio3.17
#313Theme3.79
#563Overall3.16
#679Humor2.06
#980Fun2.50

Comments

asdfzxc920 says ...
Apr 27, 2013 @ 4:09pm

I find that I keep getting stuck in a certain vertical wall in the orange area.

Other than that, pretty good.

jacklehamster says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 12:10pm

K I removed the part that gets you stuck

Apr 28, 2013 @ 8:35pm

Nice! Love the style and the graphics.. really makes it fun to explore!

martijn says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 8:56pm

Great story.

gizmo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:17am

yea, this has great details all over the place. and the guy in the armchair plus the music.. makes an awesome and weird atmo :)

Kiwiboi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:37am

I almost cried.. No but seriously that was cool, I only got the girl to do something/help the girl, wish I could help more of them <3 Maybe I could just couldn't figure out how.

Great game dude! :)

manabreak says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:37am

Very nice mood you've set there. :)

Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:38am

Genius (:

Ludipe says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:40am

Great story and very original gameplay. A bit slow-paced sometimes but that's ok. Well done!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:41am

Really lovely game - it'a a nice concept (I would have played more even if it had been a dialogue game in which you could only blink yes/no) although flying through small gaps can be frustrating. Good stuff!

Milktoast says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:12am

Simply beautiful.

Spelchan says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:26am

When I read single button control I was hesitant but it actually worked really well for this game.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:00pm

Exploring even when paralyzed... That's something new... But it has limitations though you'll just look some people... Meh... This game's clever :D

jacklehamster says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:43pm

BTW, if you want a few seconds, the people will interact with you.

frankbsad says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:47am

that was a lot of fun, very interesting too.

May 1, 2013 @ 7:21am

I really enjoyed the presentation and the mood in this entry, but honestly I was completely lost with the gameplay. I managed to pick up one of the people and put them on the chair with me but I was completely at a loss as to what I should do with this person.

mortl8324 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:21am

Interesting game, very artistic.

Ryusui says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:23am

Beautiful little game - I just wish controlling and interacting with the environment was easier.

AaronYip says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:34am

Wonderful concept! (:

The Consul says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:29pm

Great take on the theme.

Diamonde says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:34pm

.- -- .- --.. .. -. --.

Husky says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:14am

Very impressive experience.
I like the mood and music, and the interactions. :P

May 4, 2013 @ 12:55pm

Great game! Except getting pulled back after collisions :)

Madball says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 3:33pm

Charming game... but if I didn't read comments, I wouldn't know I can help people. Bumping into walls wasn't really nice. I liked how detailed graphics are.

messiano says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 6:01pm

Graphics and exploring around makes the game very enjoyable. A bigger world, procedurally generated would be very nice :). Loved the cat.

0beah says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 6:10pm

Love the audio and the idea. Controls need a bot of work tho

loxo says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:14pm

Unique concept and great silhouette graphics. I like the atmosphere. There is so much to explore.

Spiridios says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:38pm

Really liked the theme here and that you can totally botch the intro if you don't answer questions "correctly". In fact, it feels like there's two games here and it's kinda neat. If you expand on it, you can alternate between the two using the Captain Pike yes/no for dialog and the super flying wheelchair man for the superhero part. I do feel there was some guidance missing from the flying stage. I'd pick someone up and other than the girl and her kitty, it was random and non-obvious as to where I had to take them.

Tozy says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:24pm

I got stuck down in a ceiling corner :(
Interesting approach. A little frustrating :P

ethankennerly says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:18pm

In most games I do not feel sad or pity. Here the silhouettes and piano melody along with the story of a quadriplegic man touched me. If you continue to develop this, those tender feelings were conflicted by bouncing off the platforms and flying, which seemed to nullify the plight of the victim.

Zccc says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:58pm

I really enjoyed it, it has a very good mood. I couldn't help everyone, tough...

Julian Ceipek says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 5:11pm

This is a really cool concept that deserves to be expanded. As others have said, it is easy to get stuck in corners and the bouncing off objects behavior is jarring. I didn't realize that I could help people until I read the comments because of the amount of time it took for them to react to my avatar and because they ignored me otherwise. At least at first, I felt powerless to change anything.
I think this would work better if the people would take notice of you as you pass them and the first person you could help was very close by.

Nice use of the theme!

michail says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 12:40am

The music plays only once for me, then it stops. I appreciate the idea, but the controls make it really annoying to play.

atraxgames says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 7:29pm

Very touching, it feels like even if paralyzed he wants to live, he wants to fly, and help other people.

Sylvain.p says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 1:11am

Nice atmosphere. Is it possible to interact with elements (as people or bed etc.)

jacklehamster says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 7:39am

Yes, you can interact with people. Thanks for trying the game!

kddekadenz says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 8:34pm

I'm sorry, but I don't get it.

MinionStudios says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 3:22am

Weird and cool!

Angerus says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 9:53am

It's full of mixed feelings...I don't know if I had fun playing it of it was just a strange experience. Anyway, It was interesting !

Aaants says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 10:55am

Wonderfully weird

Codexus says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 1:36pm

The one button thing has been done many times but this is the first time it seems actually justified by the story. Good job!

omaha says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 7:00pm

Did I take the wrong route? I didn't see any interactive elements after several minutes of bouncing around. Not sure what else I was supposed to do.

jacklehamster says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 8:17pm

Some elements interact if you wait about 5 secs.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]