April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Lumber Rumble

by MRvanderPants - Jam Entry

We're a group of ICT students and this is our first game jam ever. We had a great time working on this project.

Our game is about Jack the lumberjack, who just wants to go home, but is hindered by numerous obstacles on his endless way home.

We used the theme minimalism in the controls: the only thing you control is in which lane Jack is walking and what weapon he is using. We also used pixel art for all our graphics, which is minimalistic though very nice.

You control the game with the WASD-keys: W and S to move up or down a lane and A and D to switch to the previous or next weapon. Jack will use the selected weapon whenever he encounters an obstacle, you don't control the actual triggering of the weapon actions. To kill bears, you will need to have the shotgun selected and to chop down tree, you need the axe. You need to have the rope selected and to cross the river by swinging over it. And remember kids, don't stand in bear traps: they will eat you ;)

We hope you guys will enjoy our game!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#118Humor(Jam)2.88
#213Audio(Jam)3.08
#216Graphics(Jam)3.43
#233Fun(Jam)3.03
#264Mood(Jam)2.97
#281Overall(Jam)3.11
#344Innovation(Jam)2.74
#466Theme(Jam)2.62

Comments

Jellycakes says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:17am

Really cool game, pretty addictive. Solid gameplay, really nice art and pretty funny animations. Very nice game!

dark_hunter says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:34am

Nice game. I liked the graphics and simple gameplay.

Saturnyn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:00pm

Nice art music and gameplay.
If you want to improve it, you could make the menus move faster, they are a little annoying for the moment.
Great entry for a first jam !

Corofides says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:01pm

Nice game. It's kind of fun how you've given control only to weapon choice and movement. Works really well.

TeamEagle says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:06pm

was a fun game but once you get the hang of it, it doesn't get much harder and you could go on forever. Increasing the speed slowly would make it harder for example and is a simple change.

mollymus says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:39am

Pretty fun game! But I agree with TeamEagle that it should relly get harder!

May 1, 2013 @ 11:49am

Needs to get harder/faster as you progress but really good fun, nice idea.

May 1, 2013 @ 12:28pm

Brilliant. :) The fact that you can decide whether to dodge the obstacles or simply deal with them using your tools makes the concept fresh and dynamic. The whole presentation is wonderful.

Jeremias says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:03pm

Like the concept. Nice idea how you let the main menu pass if the player starts the game or the "game over" comes from the right after dying.

Misfit says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:17pm

Nice parallax scroll effect. Solid and addictive gameplay.

DaanVanYperen says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:20pm

Why does the forest hate me so, WHYYyyyy.

kreischweide says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:49pm

Nice work, but the controls got me confused for a second. Everything fine, but the difficulty should increase at some point :)

Jyrkface says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:04am

Nice game! I agree scaling difficulty would be a worthwhile addition, but overall it's very cool! I love the way the gameover and menu are integrated right into the scene so smoothly!

mokujin says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:36pm

Nice game with a minimal gameplay)

SmilingCat says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 2:06am

Pretty cute and fun little game. Great job!

loxo says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 1:18pm

Simple game with nice graphics and music.

joe40001 says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 9:15am

Great mood, wish it was somewhere I could submit my score, also once you get the idea the game doesn't get harder fast enough, at around 1.5k I was wanting for some variety or something to spice it up. Still really cool game though.

shawn42 says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 1:30pm

Good work, I really enjoyed one-shotting bears in the face. The music was perfect for this game. I agree that the difficulty needs to scale up somehow.

Xanjos says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 9:00pm

Takes a while to get used to the controls but the game is quite fun and addictive although the pace is pretty slow. The graphics were well done and the audio really matches the mood.

Tifu says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 9:47pm

Good job, as others have said, difficulty should ramp up a bit, but the game has good mechanics. Fun stuff. Nice use of theme.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]