April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Dream Island

by FREEZX - Jam Entry

Warning. this game is trippy.
Play as Mateus and help the dream characters.
Mouse wheel - zoom out/ zoom in, wasd - move, spacebar - jump

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#32Humor(Jam)3.65
#115Mood(Jam)3.48
#161Graphics(Jam)3.66
#230Audio(Jam)3.04
#261Overall(Jam)3.16
#291Fun(Jam)2.83
#316Innovation(Jam)2.81
#485Theme(Jam)2.52

Comments

MaxSzlagor says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:36am

Nice! The game is indeed trippy, in a good way. Love the look and sound. I feel like I'm running around in this weird, happy world. Played it through the web link. The camera feels like it is a bit close to the character. Thanks for sharing!

OnlySlightly says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:37am

I love the trippy goofy atmosphere. And the voice overs!

Leginar says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:41am

This was......I don't know what to say really. Thank you? ..... yes.... thank you. I actually had more fun than I should have meeting all of the characters. Also halfway through my play-through the man on the tower stopped falling to his death for some reason... I consider that a win.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:19am

But the themse is Minimalism, not Surrealism! :P

Who cares, it's fun. THe Dinosaur rocks :D

timtipgames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:24am

Fun trip. Thanks :)

erdos says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:26am

Hahah this looked awesome straight away from the screenshot, very trippy

Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:31am

So WHACK!

I got stuck after returning the boob to the naked lady, though. I picked up the cord beforehand, but couldn't give it to the showman after returning the boob, might be a bug? o:

Really neat idea, good job! ~

kbm0 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:35pm

Nice one, I really liked the aesthetics. Great choice on the screenshot as well.

dick_claus says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:40pm

Run, forest!

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:42pm

Cool 3d art !

FREEZX says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:44pm

Sorry for the bugs, didn't quite have the time to get them fixed, but will do asap.

FREEZX says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:11pm

Bugs are fixed now.

anatolat says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:34pm

Trippy indeed! Nice graphics, love the clouds and the dinosaur.

Nanolotl says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:44pm

Very whacky. Would have been more enjoyable if it didn't take so long to get anywhere. Also the camera in the maze thing was a nightmare.

Frosnite says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:42pm

Quite cool, though is there a goal? :P I "fell" in love with the dudes flying and falling everywhere! Laugh out loud when I saw them! Cheers!

lotusgame says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:08pm

I enjoy the Surrealist atmosphere, even if the theme is Minimalism. It's like you are lost in a land.. dreamed by someone else, as in the movie "The Cell". Good work !

MinionStudios says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:04pm

I LOVE IT! sooo fun. You're right, it is trippppy especially the voices

martijn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:07pm

Not that trippy, just weird

multitude says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:07pm

Love this game. i really enjoy exploring in game landscapes. would love to see this as a full game.

martijn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:08pm

Not trippy, just weird

Shugor says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:49am

The setting certainly is interesting :Y I didn't understand most of what was going on, but there were quite a few things that were fun to watch, like the guy that kept falling off the tower
As for the game itself, it almost seems too simple; unless I missed something (I couldn't find one of the items, so I didn't finish the whole thing), it's just finding objects and returning them to their owners. I know the theme's supposed to be minimalism, but it could use something else to keep the game interesting. It's still pretty good overall, though~

Jellycakes says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:48am

Some pretty interesting visuals that made me want to keep playing. Really good job on this guys!

whilefun says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:24pm

Very, very odd, but really interesting. I loved the sound effects, and music. It seems you really put yourself into your game which is awesome. Good work :)

Jod says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:30am

Wow, totally trippy! Loved the consistent art-style. The camera is a bit odd, though.

The T-rex with the boombox was my favourite :).

lorancou says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:53am

Trippy is the word ! :D

Great adventure

Alucard J says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:59pm

Interesting .... Could be expanded on with more puzzles, otherwise a great effort, I thought the models were great. Well Done =]

marnaouf says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:47pm

Very cool and trippy indeed. Really liked exploring the world and the graphics were nicely done, really liked the style. The game was a little buggy but other than that great game.

KEFIR says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:45am

Very cute and colorful game! But somehow I can't see main character :(
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/13089585/ld26/dream_island.png

FREEZX says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:04pm

You can zoom out using the mouse scroll

DST says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 11:03am

Very cool! I like the happy surreal minimalistic graphics and mood in the game, and it was very nicely laid out ^_^ Great humor too!

May 4, 2013 @ 8:52pm

That was good fun, wonderfully surreal.

SamoojaMies says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 3:13pm

Wanted to play web version full screen but the dialog exit button also closes the full screen mode :|.
Funny and happy game.

euwaku says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 6:05pm

5 stars graphic and humor :D

McFunkypants says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 8:45pm

Absolutely wonderful - surreal, trippy, interesting. This is a real adventure. Great work!

recursor says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 9:35pm

This game is odd, and full of interesting characters. I enjoyed walking around in it. You should consider locking the mouse cursor. I went to click on the robot at the very beginning and the cursor just happened to be on the browser's reload button...whoops.

Maple says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 2:36am

Hmm, this was a good game. At first I didn't know what to do, but continued because the world was beckoning me to explore, then I started figuring out that I can talk to people and give them stuff. Definitely a nice break from reality, lol.

If I had any complaints, they would be these: It was kind of annoying that the camera kept zooming in as I walked, or maybe the problem there was that I thought the sensitivity was too low when it was zoomed in. I got used to that though. I understand that it's meant to be a dream world and all, but I thought the text should have at least had proper capitalisation etc. Also I expected to be able to walk up the slope into the place that spawned behind the dog. But that's about it. Oh and the potato texture didn't suit the graphics of the rest of the game.

Otherwise, good job.

FREEZX says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 8:53am

Nothing is true but the potato.

Beldarak says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 12:00am

I played on the web version and the mouse kept getting out of the window. Consider locking it inside the Unity caneva or change the controls so we don't have to click.

Otherwise it's a really great game, loved the ambiance and the graphical style.

May 7, 2013 @ 2:33pm

That was an awesome insanely twisted creepy incestuous dream island. Loved IT!

May 7, 2013 @ 6:12pm

Holy crap this just got covered by Rock Paper Shotgun :D http://www.rockpapershotgun.com/2013/05/07/dream-island-probably-isnt-about-anything/

FREEZX says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 8:40pm

Woah! Didn't see that one coming. :D thanks for the intel

Gungnir says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 1:40am

Cool, really proves that surprise and wanting to be surprised is a very powerful motivation in games.

Taro Omiya says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 2:31am

Perhaps because I'm Japanese, but I think this dream is rather tame. Still very funky and random, though!

Ryusui says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 7:47pm

The whole thing just felt rather juvenile to me. None of the "characters" are really interesting (except for the robot and the T. rex) and the island is just a slog to explore. Plus the whole thing was in desperate need of a proofreader. (Random bad English is not the same thing as humor!)

About the only positive thing I can say about it is I wish I knew how to achieve that "flat-shading" effect in Unity...

GranaDa says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 1:29pm

The voice and music are great. Loved to walk aimlessly just listening to the music. Good job!

FrederickK says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 2:48am

Clicked a button and then the game reset...
Man, what you guys were doing when came up with this idea?
I loved it! But I don't think it fits very well with the theme...
But good job...

May 12, 2013 @ 12:50pm

Definitely surreal, and one of the more expansive game worlds I've seen thus far. The island and its characters was interesting, but the mechanic of simply running around was boring and didn't give me much incentive to keep exploring.

Codexus says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 10:59am

Good game, I managed to reach the end. I liked the visuals and mood!

deepnight says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 5:22pm

Totally strange :)

mohammad says ...
Jun 13, 2013 @ 8:51pm

LSD Dream Simulator? That was what it was like playing this game.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]