April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Minimalist Living

by Kilian - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A very short Walk'and'Click-kind of Adventure.

Plot:
The player is getting sick of his everyday office job and luxurious lifestyle. He seeks for minimalist living but has to escape the office first.

Controls:
UP/DOWN/LEFT/RIGHT to move the player
Mouse + left Button to interact with the buttons

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#47Humor3.71
#61Graphics4.10
#196Mood3.38
#332Fun3.23
#400Audio2.97
#437Overall3.28
#923Innovation2.62
#1013Theme3.03
#1594Coolness37%

Comments

robertcalvert says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:17pm

A big tasty potato! I love this type of game and yours is excellently done.

LrdKzrth says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:43pm

Did... Did I win?

lotusgame says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:14pm

i think did win, not sure :)
the patotoe is nice !

Masadow says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:14pm

End ? A very very nice WTF game ! I laughed so much. I didn't understand anything ! However, very nice art and I loved to slap my colleagues !

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:15pm

Cool game, nice art!

SenorDiablo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:15pm

really loved the atmosphere and the art and game play really came together to deliver. Loved it

Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:16pm

"Who would slap someone who knows karate? [Game over]
Hilarious :)
Also mashed by a window... Is this the end?

Jeremias says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:17pm

I laughed several times, e.g. because of the losing condition for slapping someone who knews karate or the big potato. Nice, clean art style. Found no bugs. A bit short anyway.

Rastagong says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:21pm

A nice and quite funny adventure with some neat pixel art! :)
The end surprised me though.

Elemnir says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:26pm

I liked your art style, and the smacking of people was fun. Actually wanted it to be longer because I was interested to see where, if any, the story was going.

Kilian says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:38pm

Thanks for all your kind comments :-)
There's an ending screen and it's not the game over screen.
I don't want to spoiler how to reach it though ;-)

I've had plans to include some puzzles and more locations but I couldn't made it in time. With my lacking programming skills it took me way too long to figure out the main gamemechanics.

Mase says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:35am

Nicely drawn. I appreciated the multiple endings. I was reminded of the ancient indie game "A Day at Work."

messiano says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:21am

That's probably my highest rated entry so far. I really love the atmosphere, and graphics, it reminds me of my beloved adventure games.

Also, the karate joke was great and unexpected!

Uhfgood says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:27am

Nicely done, although the part in the restroom...

Skoggy says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:48am

Very nicely done. Got stuck, but it was fun nonetheless.

GertJohnny says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:51pm

I do believe I am stuck in the bathroom. Oh well, at least it's quiet in here.

May 6, 2013 @ 6:44pm

Ha, I love this! It's fun walking around and discovering sutff (Potato!). The interaction-button is great too.

May 6, 2013 @ 7:44pm

Nice game, with very cute graphics. I got a problem though: once i entered the bathroom i couldn't get out!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]