April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Way Out

by Dabuuker - Jam Entry

You woke up in a strange place. Try to get out.

A and D (or arrows) to move and W or Space button jump.

Update 1:
- Added Windows standalone, Linux and OS X links (Linux and
OS X are untested, as we don't have access to those platforms)

CREDITS (For those who don't finish the game):

Gameplay and Development: Tanel and Toomas
Music and SoundFX: Rocu ( https://soundcloud.com/rocu )
Artsy stuff: Poku

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#104Mood(Jam)3.53
#110Audio(Jam)3.47
#140Graphics(Jam)3.71
#278Overall(Jam)3.12
#324Fun(Jam)2.76
#461Theme(Jam)2.65
#490Innovation(Jam)2.12

Comments

MaxSzlagor says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:13am

Well done! The mood is excellent due to the nice combo of the graphics + audio. Would like a checkpoint or two :).

Travis Irby says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:38am

Really pretty graphics and the controls feel good, nice job :D

Nisshoku says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:05pm

The controls feel good. Mood is nice. :) Didn't get to complete it. Like Max said, a checkpoint would have been nice.

Alphonsus says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:11pm

Checkpoints would be great! Anyhow, beautiful graphics and great gameplay. Nice work!

Dabuuker says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:18pm

Thanks guys! We thought about checkpoints, but decided against them in the end because the game is just one level.

fullmontis says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:51pm

One of the best sounding games so far! Gameplay is a little bare bones though.

free_napalm says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:53pm

This felt like a much darker version of Pandemonium! A checkpoint would have been good, though.

Yoni says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:02pm

Great controls and graphics, but didn't manage to finish - Checkpoints could have indeed been nice.

Sebastian says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:30pm

Another vote for checkpoints lol. Controls are very smooth.

bvanschooten says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:55pm

Great graphics and sound and overall presentation! The game feels polished too. Can't figure out when you get hit by the swinging balls though.

Purplescape says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:19pm

Excellent graphics and sound. I love how dark it is!

May 1, 2013 @ 9:34am

Nice association of colors, graphics and music :)
+1 for checkpoints though xD

cahman says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:47pm

Gorgeous! The audio is great too. I agree it was difficult to tell the hit zone of the swinging balls, and I think it would look even better with some parallax on the background. Overall a very nice entry. Can I ask what shader you used on the platforms?

Dabuuker says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:27pm

I guess I got too used to the swinging balls when playing it myself, now that you guys mention it I have to agree.

Cahman, it's the default Bumped Specular shader that comes with Unity and one directional light with a similar color to the sky.

s0ulcrusher says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:41am

Great sound effect on those spikes popping out from the ground. I agree about the checkpoints, it's a long run :)

Grouflon says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:46pm

Great general atmosphere and great controls. The concept and the gameplay are really basic ans not really innovative, but it pretty well done. Liked it!

MinionStudios says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 5:13pm

Fun and nice looking!

euwaku says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 5:39pm

Ahhh "try and die" game! Loved it!

someone says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 11:30pm

I just get a black screen with music in the Linux version.

joshimoo says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 7:02pm

Good job.
I particularly liked the mood of this game.
The perspective makes it a little hard to see when the balls will hit you, maybe some lines on the ground would help that.

Jonapulse says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 3:59pm

I hate waking up naked in a trap-infested landscape. That always happens.

lorancou says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 9:06pm

Great game ... I want more :-)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]