April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Pillar

by drkrunk - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Barely finished in time. Use the html page inside the download to play. The source is included.

There are tons of things that need to be done to it, but I think it's fine for the comp. Tell me what you think and how it runs.

Movement keys: AWSD and arrows.
Spell: Number keys and click.

Hint: If you get stuck, head back to the village and read what they have to say. It changes when you get new spells.

Update: I decided to go ahead and continue to work on this project. We're still looking for animators. If you are interested in helping us with the project, send me a portfolio of your artworks and animations: nate@effengames.com.

I'm looking to keep a clean style with vector graphics, compatible with flash. The end product won't be a web flash game. I want to make this a fully featured game.

*In case anyone was wondering, I stripped down the original to no story, just spells in the post-compo until I can work out the performance issues.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#191Graphics3.70
#221Audio3.26
#501Mood2.95
#580Humor2.19
#699Innovation2.95
#835Overall2.91
#1025Fun2.44
#1199Theme2.70

Comments

xstargirl says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:20am

amazing, it's cute! I really like the mechanics.

Thein says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:10am

The spells looked really cool! I wasn't sure if there was anything left to do after getting spell 3, though.

drkrunk says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:19am

No, that was pretty much all I had time to do. I should have started with an engine or code base, but I didn't, so I nearly ran out of time. Thank you for playing though! =]

paulopn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:46am

Looks good! Nice music, too.
Just please make the player move faster... X_X

Perhaps you should have gone for the jam?

ENDESGA says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:51am

Very cool!

Tahooey says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:52am

Really Nice Game :D

drkrunk says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:21am

@paulopn Unfortunately, I wouldn't have the time even if I had entered the jam, but for what it's worth, I think the game came out okay. If enough people like it, I wouldn't mind continuing this project after the competition.

rezoner says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:07am

Of course when I got spell 3 I immediately went to destroy the village (: Capable engine, well executed graphics but lacks some idea for gameplay.

Speed up both player movement and windows pop-outs. Think about something more engaging to use this (very cool!) cube terrain.

nilstastic says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:12am

Pros: Nice graphics and excellent music (sounded like a thumbjam song). The mood was there as well. =)
Cons: It was hard to know what to do, i got the first spell but then i got stuck. Followed the path to the east as well but nothing (perhaps i need to use the spell on.. *brb*

lotusgame says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:53am

Good realisation, but very hard to understand what to do.

drkrunk says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:17pm

@rezoner I've got so many ideas of how I could use the whole system to make it more puzzle-based. The original idea had a lot more depth to it, but was lost in the execution. The original idea was that you would raise temples and have to solve puzzles to earn new the spells. It was planned on the player being unable to walk on tiles that were too high. This would have allowed me to section off the world until players completed it up to a certain point. The collision didn't work because of the very poor way I handled drawing the screen, which ended up costing me like 5 hours and I wasn't able to solve the problem anyway.

Celticraft49 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:33pm

very short, but fun gameplay

sol_hsa says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:21pm

Great beginning! You should definitely develop this further.

juaxix says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:23pm

I enjoyed the game, I would like to change the direction of the spells, if you share the code it would be great.

HelkeGames says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:13pm

Nice game, i like the concept and the art! Well done :)

TheSarcastic says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:17pm

Looks really promising! Awesome music and graphics :)

BrothersT says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:23pm

An interesting idea with the blocks, although I can see that the game is incomplete. If the two spells did something distinctly different, I wasn't sure what it was though. And fun cartoony graphics :)

ZYXer says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 9:30pm

Cool graphics! Together with the music they create a nice atmosphere. It's a shame you weren't able to do more during the 48 hours, because I think this game has some great potential. Keep up the good work! :D

SmilingCat says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 2:51am

This was pretty cool, especially the music. I seemed to keep running into a glitch where I would randomly teleport to an edge of the map, though.

lasergans says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 4:31pm

Nice mechanic, cute graphics, but i miss some story, or usage of the spells.

zkenshin says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 5:06pm

Really liked the audio, and the cute world art style. :)

mrexcessive says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 6:38pm

Looks nice, couldn't find most of the content, just a huge empty map - with a potato in far corner

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]