April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.


Back to Browse Entries


by Destroyer40k - Jam Entry

You are Partagus, an ancient gladiator being pitted against enemies in an arena. With only your massive egoistic shouting and your sword to guard you, you must fight to the death.


The instructions are included in the game's menu.
Controls: WASD - Movement
Mouse - Sword Movement
RMB(Right Mouse Button) - Par-Ta-Gus shout

We used the following tools:
Photoshop CS4
Featuring paint as the map editor
Visual Studio 2010, C++
Simple Fast Multimedia Library(SFML 2.0 RC)

Downloads and Links




AlvaroH says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 4:14pm

Well Done!

Hemuuuli says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 6:15pm

Ou yeah!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:47pm

Interesting :)

kewry says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:48pm

game crashes on my windows 7 64-bit

dick_claus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:53pm

Can't run game on windows virtual machine. Don't have MSVCR100.dll

Geoege says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:58pm

PARTACUS !!! Hahaha so much laugh every time i hear that !
Also love to shake that sword to kill enemies.

Hertzila says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:22pm

It's pretty fun, especially with the sound effects. Good non-standard gameplay. Music!

Tainted_Code says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:28am

Game crashes on my Windows 7 :(

Destroyer40k says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:47am

If someone who has the game crashing on him on native Windows environments would describe the problem more specifically, I'd be grateful. I've tested this on Windows 7 and 8 64-bit without without any crashes myself.But due to some reason the game window is falsely declared not responding by Windows even though the game is running, though this is fixed by picking a level(Pressing enter).

mchaza says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:57am

Doesn't run on Windows 7 64 bits, nice intro music.

ZeddieFIN says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:04pm

I might be a little biased because I made the graphics for this game, but it does work at my own computer and at my mother's older computer. Both of them are running Windows 7 x64. It's just that the game might show that it stopped corresponding on full screen with this older computer, but if you press enter, it still continues to your game.

Hope this helps,
Teppo Ylitalo

ZeddieFIN says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:26pm

Oh yea, and try to get a score of 60000-70000 to get to a point where the enemies start spawning at the rate that it's rather hard to kill all of them before the next batch comes. :) (My biggest score is on map 1, around 114 000.)

Teppo Ylitalo

Nyyman says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:38am

Nice work!

PPLo says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:39pm

Funny one. I liked the skyrim reference.
Good work.

You must sign in to comment.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]