Now:
October Challenge 2014
Ends in:
? DAYS, ??:??:??

Coming Soon:
Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014
? DAYS, ??:??:??

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.


Ludum Dare 31:

Ludum Deals

???

 

Recent:

MiniLD #XX

ANNOUNCEMENT BAR! I tell you event things here, but only sometimes.


Ludum Dare 26

April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Terminally ill - Sebastian - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hey guys, this was my first experience of Ludum Dare and I had a really great time.
I was a little lost for ideas with the theme, so I just went with the first idea I got. Its kinda weird, but I hope you guys enjoy it.
I'm looking forward to playing everyone else's games once I've gotten some sleep. Very tired at this point, I'm guessing most of you can relate!

I made this game using the unity engine (coded in c#)
Even composed my first song in garageband (don't worry I added the option to mute it lol).

Note: The game will lock and hide your cursor while you're playing, so when you're finished press ESC and move your mouse out of the game window to get it back.

You can read about my experience making this here: http://bit.ly/13M2WB5

View Sebastian's journal. | View all entries by Sebastian

Ratings

Coolness100%
#24Mood4.02
#63Audio3.71
#102Overall3.77
#119Innovation3.77
#198Fun3.44
#208Graphics3.65
#358Theme3.74
#428Humor2.42

Comments

voxel says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:03am

Well, that was stark and harrowing. Never been so sad to play pong in all my life

Kiwiboi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:08am

Intense! The story and the layout were really entertaining.

cason says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:09am

Awesome game. I really like, its super challenging. I'll try it after sleep I guess...

How'd you get that cool effect on your text?

Waynetron says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:12am

I liked the filter that you applied to the screen. It really made it look like an old CRT.

jhrrsn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:14am

That was freakin' AWESOME! I was kind of expecting a text adventure, so it was an interesting surprise when minigames started piling on. Very cool idea, and very tough.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:31am

Very cool reminded me of Joshua..

chobrah says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:40am

Wow, how do you make a console-based game the most immersive game I've played so far. So dark, so moody, so hard... loved it.

Brian Corr says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:46am

Very neat mate

titi987 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:40am

Unity do not work on Linux, I can't play.

sol_hsa says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:41am

Telling player to enter commands with keyboard and then suddenly requiring mouse input was harsh. Having the web player steal the mouse required me to alt-tab outside to kill the game.

Sebastian says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:57am

Thanks guys, glad you're enjoying it!

titi987: I'll try get a linux version up soon.
sol_hsa: Press esc and move mouse out of window, sorry I should have mentioned that. Added to main post.

mrspeaker says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:02am

Woah - nice concept! Creepy!

hnjslater says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:24am

Wow thumbs up, a beautiful harrowing game.

manabreak says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:57am

This is quite kewl, got quite difficult when the second game was launched. :) So nice mood laid out with such simple things.

cmayhem says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:05am

Rather cerebral game. Maybe I'm just too tired after LD but this seemed like yet another game that was quite difficult. The music was very nice and fitting.

tiffi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:21am

really cool game. thought i am a better pong player..

Oh and FYI, the highscores on my game is working, there is a submit score button on the GameOver screen!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:25am

One of the best games I've played so far! Good job! ^^

Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:12pm

It seemed to crash after losing at pong, just a black screen & audio. Full points for mood. Nice visual work.

lucasncv says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:19pm

Very intense and extremely hard, haha! Great mood.

Zaszx says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:40pm

Very nice story. Also a good game to practice multitasking :)

rzfmzn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:44pm

Game for Asians! =OP
Nice work!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:13pm

Excellent game!

artifex says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:50pm

Excellent idea, very hard. Great sounds , art and interaction. Only thing is the globber part of game doesn't respond very well. Excellent game.

PTSnoop says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:04pm

So not satisfied with making one game in 48 hours, you managed to make about seven... Nice one.

And the rapid-multitasking was both fun, and played nicely into the mood of the game. Not so keen on the generally depressing theme, but you still managed to convey it well.

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:11pm

Very entertaining! I loved your menu system too! The second round was impossible for me as the ball just flew by!

It was a lot more intense trying to play two simple games at once than I thought it would be. Great game, if a little morbid :P

Nekith says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:14pm

Disturbing, to say the least. And I thought Pong required no skill... :)

Great job !

anjack says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:14pm

Awesome game! It really got my heart pounding!

cahman says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:48pm

Very nice game! Games switching between keyboard and mouse can be a little jarring...

fullmontis says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:10am

Very hard, and the story actually gives playing these little games some intensity :) Good job on the mood!

whitetigle says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:22pm

Well made, fits the theme, gfx and sfx were great and for your information my brain just blew up. But it's ok. So that's a very nice game you made there. Congratulations!

Travis Irby says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:49pm

super stylish great writing nice job!

Almax27 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:02pm

Amazing atmosphere for such a simple concept, nice one :D

May 2, 2013 @ 7:06pm

Great, music was good, liked the filters you put on things, gives it a cool, gritty look. Nice story and gameplay, too!

Taro Omiya says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:09am

"Added a new game while you play Pong."
Fuuuuuuuuuuuuuuu-

Jan Marcano says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 3:47am

The concept of multi-games was awesome! It got my brain working and sweating to even coordinate in both games.

Y thought it would be a more text-y adventure based on the terminal interface, but it was good nonetheless.

Amazing work man!

Jorjon says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:28am

Nice game! Reminds me of another one I can't recall the name. You should upload the Unity project as the source, I want to check the effects you added.

Gravel says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:54am

Awesome atmosphere!

Gungnir says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 6:18am

Great minimalist gaming and storytelling. Both highly effective. Triumph!

allinlabs says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:27am

Pwwwwetty hard... require some multi-task :)
Loved it, sound & music, screen effects, that's rad !

Orni says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 6:12pm

wow, this is hard - but amazing fun !

one of my favourites :D

I love it

sudorossy says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:08pm

I really liked that. It was so difficult, but brilliant. The story telling was a nice touch.

patrickward says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 4:55pm

Tricky game. Playing the multiple games was challenging on a laptop, but in a good way. Some of the graphics were hard to see (such as the red pong ball). But, overall the graphics really fit the mood and storyline. Audio played well with the game itself. This was definitely one of the more innovative games I've played. Well done.

Floko says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 5:56am

VERY interesting. Multi-tasking isn't my idea of minimalism, but I had fun anyway. Loved the mood, its so solid!

GranaDa says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 11:50am

Great take on the theme! Amazing!

May 6, 2013 @ 3:51pm

Wow, all around great work!

I actually toyed with a similar idea about playing multiple minigames at the same time, but I'm pretty sure mine wouldn't have been nearly this cool.

Love the special FX, the static and that glow that takes me back to the days of old CRT monitors. Also, great work on the music.

Sebastian says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 6:36pm

Thanks a lot for the comments and feedback so far guys, I'm glad most people are finding it to be an interesting experience!

mildmojo says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 4:23am

Unity? Could you please push the button that makes a build for Linux? Thank you!

Sebastian says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 5:24am

Hey, mildmojo. I've uploaded a Linux version. Hopefully someone can let me know if it works?
The reason I haven't uploaded it before is because when testing downloading my mac build from dropbox it wouldn't run. Hopefully this is a problem specific only to mac..

Muu? says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 3:12pm

Cool entry! Nice effects and atmosphere!

finefin says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 11:37am

oh wow, this game is hard. can't stop playing :)

TurboDindon says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 9:48am

Great sound and visual atmosphere. Harrowing.
I used French keyboard so it's very hard with the WASD move... I couldn't survive for a long time. x)

- SEPHY (@sephyka)

Jeremias says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 10:01am

Great shaders. I like the game, but what you should fix in a post-compo version: Everytime a new game is introduced, you will die because it is too hard to read the text fast while playing another game. I think you should pause the game and let the player progress by pressing any button.

Madball says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 6:35pm

Very sad story. Nice atmosphere from both the computer and storytelling.
I saw a similar concept before: http://www.kongregate.com/games/IcyLime/multitask
Pong is imbalanced. The mouse sensitivity is too little, I swing my hand as far as I can and I can`t cover the whole field without moving the arm. And the ball (did I just say 'ball'?..) sometimes gets too dark to see... and too fast to hit. And I need to read rules for new minigames meanwhile, so make a tutorial about minigames or something outside the game.
Oh, it seems that if you lose a life while rules are being writte, they stop.
Also, at the "R.I.P" screen you have to write 'r' twice.
2:57 was my best time... Did I just lose 2 lifes in a row in pong? I think the ball flew to my direction after the serving veeery fast... with me being hell knows where... Make it slower!

Sebastian says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 7:10am

Thanks for the detailed review Madball, and well done for surviving that long :)
I've only managed a little over 4 minutes myself.

@TurboDindon Sorry I'll make sure to add support for other keyboard layouts next time around, completely overlooked that!

euske says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 10:23am

Clever twist on the story. Like it!

ethankennerly says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 6:41pm

Moving Mouse to Pong and clicking to jump in a platformer interested me. The dismal music and static noise shader deepened my interest. If you continue to develop this: Reading instructions to the second game while playing the first game annoyed me. Playing two games at once that seemed to have no relationship to each other also distracted me.


The story was humorous, yet really implausible. I could imagine a lonely computer AI that might die if I didn't play its game, I wouldn't think I might die if I didn't play Pong well.

DaveDobson says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 8:08pm

The setup and feel here are awesome - I love the VT100 style interface. I kept getting pong as my first game, and it was nearly impossible to keep pong going while running whatever the second game was. Also, for the color match one, which I got a couple times, the instructions were truncated, so all I got was "Press spacebar when" - this was with the web version. Music, sounds, visuals are awesome, although the dark faded colors made it harder to do pong for me. I ended up dying rapidly all the times I tried it, only once surviving to the third game (pong really killed me) - sometimes the launched pong ball was really, really fast and right at me, so I'd die three times in a row or something. So, some minor frustrations, but a really cool underlying idea, and the concept of playing two games at once just completely folds up my brain (in a good way).

MinionStudios says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 2:38am

Awesome experience!

May 15, 2013 @ 1:13pm

Smart idea and engaging gameplay to back it up. A job well done!

Sylvain.p says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 8:07pm

Nice concept, but the Unity web player's mouse are too nasty, so too difficult for me.

PaulSB says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 3:07pm

Well yeah that was all sorts of moody and depressing! Pong and Gobbler were a nightmare to play together O_O

Also like the screen filter effect and the concept. Great job!

ronsho says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 12:02am

Great interaction metaphor. Love the way the text looks, is lit.

Cambrian_Man says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 3:14pm

Multiple games at the same time is a pretty neat concept, but I had a hard time with even playing pong because it was hard to see the ball with the screen vignetting and the white page background doesn't help. Otherwise, it's pretty solid.

hilaia says ...
Jun 1, 2013 @ 8:33pm

Wow, seems s cool and I can't play it because the Linux version just stays in 1024*720 or something like this on my computer :'( .

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]