April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Pat Chenko's Desert Chrome

by Petethegoat - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are zombie-ghost hunter extraordinaire. Take your chromed pump shotgun and retrieve the priceless artefact from this abandoned desert city.

Contains profanity!

WASD to move.
E to taunt.
R to reload. Space to pump. LMB to shoot.

ZOMBIE GHOSTS CAN SWIVEL THEIR EYES TO SEE THROUGH THE BACK OF THEIR HEADS

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2059Coolness0%

Comments

quill18 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:25pm

That music. Those sound effects. Fantastic.

I also loved the shotgun pumping mechanic. I don't think I've ever see that in a game, and it felt good. I think it's a perfect fit for a gritty zombie shooter.

RexSpaceman says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:36am

I couldn't get the gun to fire even after pumping. Overall, very funny and interesting premise. Good work!

pansapiens says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:05am

Great work on the zombie groans. I had the same problem. Pumped and pumped but could never shoot (oh, that sounds so wrong). I found the doo doo I wanted, but no bullets.

Next LD I want to see "Desert Rust: Pat Chenko vs. m'fn Chuck Norris" :)

s0ulcrusher says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:59am

So to fire the weapon you have to:

1) Load shells individually by hitting the 'R' key 8 times
2) HOLD space to chamber a shell, not just tap it
3) LMB to fire, goto #2 until empty, then goto #1

It's pretty tricky...

bbrown2 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:01am

The visual effect of each individual shotgun pellet hitting a zombie ghost was very impressive and satisfying.

Petethegoat says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:46am

I think the pumping requiring the held keypress is causing the problems. But yeah, just hold the pump!

May 2, 2013 @ 4:40pm

The sounds are fantastic!!! I laughed so hard!!!
I like the tricky way to shoot.. It give me sensation of how difficult is survive in the game! Good concept!

MinionStudios says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 3:42am

Awesome! what is this even?

mrexcessive says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 5:47pm

Really nice, up to point of combat then death/death. No gun fire at least no bullet and no zombie death. Like the "tension music" !

Catman says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 10:00am

Cool game, but I'd like some more feedback on shooting!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]