April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Raining Shards

by TheMaster99 - Jam Entry

Thank you for trying out Raining Shards!

The objective of the game is to collect the

fragments of asteroids that are destroyed by

a cannon in the center of the screen. Sounds

easy? Trust me, it's harder than you think.

You control a basket at the bottom of the

screen to collect the fragments, using AD,

Left/Right, or the mouse. (PROTIP: mouse

works best). See how high of a score you can

get!

Credits:
TheMaster99 - Programmer
Louthinator - Audio and main game design
Derek - Graphics
Everybody who watched on my stream - You guys

helped me with a lot of bugs that I otherwise

would not have fixed (or even found the

source of!) Thank you guys!


TEAM OCLU

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#183Audio(Jam)3.22
#298Fun(Jam)2.82
#311Innovation(Jam)2.82
#313Graphics(Jam)3.00
#377Overall(Jam)2.86
#423Mood(Jam)2.45
#434Theme(Jam)2.75

Comments

Holofire says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:10pm

Very nice and simple. Gotta be fast to make sure those shards don't go off screen.

netguy204 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:44pm

Thanks for the mac fix!

Like the music and the colors. I want me one of those heat-seeking cannons!

Gameplay is simple. Well done for what it is. I find myself wishing for more emergent behavior. For example, what if there was a powerup that the center cannon rapid fire oneshot things. That'd be cool but I'd have to decide if I was willing to deal with the rain of shards. What if my scoop could grow? What if there were shards I didn't want to catch? What if I had to make sure my cannon was powered by some resource?

As it is, not much gameplay can emerge beyond what is explicit. That's fine but it's a limitation.

Good work.

stqn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:56am

There's a problem with the game (under Linux with openjdk7), when I start the game the cannon shoots a couple bullets but then nothing happens, clicking doesn’t shoot anything, there is nothing to do. Nice music.

TheMaster99 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:15am

Sorry, but frankly I don't know what could be causing it :/

Tainted_Code says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:42pm

Overall, a fun game to play. I liked the idea of it! I'm sorry my computer has terrible FPS but still, good game! :)

Jod says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:40pm

Quite cool, and quite hard when the cannon ups his game!

I sometimes saw some dove-like things in the screen, but didn't really know what they were. Also really liked the time-warp power up, cool effect.

Shugor says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:49pm

A nice game, with pretty music and graphics. For as long as I played, I didn't find any apparent bugs. However, the relaxing background music and background makes me feel so sleepy zzzzz.

TheMaster99 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:43pm

Jod: They are birds that're supposed to pick up shards for you (Potato power-up. Birds. Geddit?) but I didn't really have enough time to make them work correctly.

Thanks for all the comments so far!

Aaron4576 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:52pm

Great game! seems like it has a lot of potential! Some quirks I found were, after getting a power up(Time warp)it didn't were off. And game could be a little faster paced(I got 45,0 first try). But overall for a game made in 72 hours great!

Xanjos says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:12am

Really nice gameplay concept. The heat seeking cannon mechanics could use a bit more work though (the time to fire was a bit too plus the heat-seeking bullets/cannonballs etc. were too jittery and took too long to actually hit something).

TheMaster99 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:24am

Xajnos: That's an issue with playing at a low framerate. Unfortunately, slower computers will experience this issue. The power-ups taking extreme amounts of time to wear off that Aaron4576 was experiencing also is due to the low framerate you may have. I didn't expect there to be as many people with this issue as there are, because those seem to be the most common complaint. I guess I've learned me lesson, and will plan for future games to be playable on a much wider amount of computers!

Anickyan says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:33am

This game was pretty boring. Nothing ever happened, except for one block or triangle breaking.

TheMaster99 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:19pm

Only one thing? I can assure you that more than one thing is meant to happen...

Jellycakes says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:58pm

Pretty nice, but dragged on a little. Didn't understand how to play at first, guess I should have read the readme but still would have liked to have just dived into the game.

avidgamerNino says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 5:55am

I still don't know what makes me die. Nice and simple unique concept.

TheMaster99 says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 10:28am

If you miss too many shards (don't collect them) you lose!

HakitoCZ says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 2:10pm

Sweet game. I raelly loke it :)

yellowlemming says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 7:30pm

game certainly works very well and can be quite challenging to stop the things going off the screen

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]