April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Bladeless

by kidevil - Jam Entry

Tried to finish this off for the comp, but ran out of time. Took longer than I expected to fine tune the gameplay.

Hopefully it paid off :)

The details? Made in Flash. Gameplay involves countering the enemies' attacks by choosing the right block based on his movements, then countering back with your own attack. Endless stream of enemies, and the difficulty ramps up with each kill.

The character and enemies are all randomly generated from a mix of outfits, so you may never see the same guy twice.

Tips: the enemy has 3 attacks, high, mid and low. He repositions his sword to show where he is about to attack. As soon as you know where he's going, hit the corresponding counter button. At any time, hit up, left, or right to set what attack you will do following a successful counter.

*** Tutorial pic below :) ***

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#27Graphics(Jam)4.38
#30Mood(Jam)3.86
#55Overall(Jam)3.75
#79Fun(Jam)3.52
#107Innovation(Jam)3.48
#139Audio(Jam)3.38
#226Theme(Jam)3.40
#277Humor(Jam)2.12

Comments

MinionStudios says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:42am

Love the Style! what a great game! I was intimidated by the controls, but after a short learning curve it was all skulls.

cason says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:47am

Very awesome. Addicting gameplay. The mid-blocks are tough...

Almax27 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:53am

Awesome style, and well polished. Struggled with working out how and when to block but it added to the challenge :D

ilo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:15am

Ultra-stylish with clever mechanics. I do wonder how it could be developed further though, because after half a dozen skulls I felt I had seen everything the game had to offer.

olkeencole says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:20am

Nice game! Really enjoy the art style and the game play. Fiendishly difficult at first, but very rewarding if you stick with it.

Andrewves says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:47am

I love the visual style of this game, the silhouettes really shout minimal. Great job.

axcho says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:49am

Very cool to see something (perhaps?) inspired by Iaido. I found it difficult to learn the cues for which block would counter the coming attack, so I wonder if it might be a more enjoyable experience if it started with only one height level, then two different height levels, then three. Still very cool though.

kidevil says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:31am

Thanks for the comments everyone! Can't wait to get some time and run through all your games :)

ilo: Ah! I still had my testing values in for the difficulty scaling, so it went super slow. Fixed now.

axcho: that would have definitely made it more user friendly, but I wanted to add in the trial and error aspect, so you get to die a bit before figuring it out :)

angelk says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:17am

I couldn't get any sense of the timing so this ended up just being the prettiest version of rock-paper-scissors I've ever played, and I don't mind! The art is fantastic :)

ilo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:37am

It does feel better now. There's a great flow to the combat, and the difficulty really kicks in around the seventh one. :)

kidevil says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:17am

Yea, the speed maxes out when you hit 10 kills now, and before it was at 25 :/ After that, it just keeps increasing counter percentage.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:14pm

As angelk said, I couldn't get any sense of the timing. Nice style, though.

qdowngames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:18pm

I love how the characters are randomly created. Really addicting once you get the hang of it!

bobiniki says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:27pm

Great mood and artstyle. I kind of suck playing the game, but it is really well done and very polished.

martijn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:24pm

Awesome game, but difficult to get the hang of, but once you ¨get it" it is quite fun

muton says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:36pm

Super stylish, and pretty fun.
It'd be nice to be able to change defensive posture, and a couple of times I hit a bug where the guy was stuck in a fighting stance after the opponent died - needed a page refresh to fix.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:37pm

This was fun... once I figured what to do. And it was still challenging. Nice work!

TheMightyComp says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:39pm

I love the concept and the art style - overall, very well executed. My one complaint was that no matter what I did, I could never execute a high block. Despite mashing 'R' like a fiend, nothing happened (possibly due to the fact that I'm on Mac?) It was frustrating to be continually disemboweled because of this, but other than that, great game.

DrGeraud says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:40pm

Your game is really cool !

michail says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:40pm

After a few replays I got it, very well done! And - it's hard not to mention it - awesome graphics!

ramoncb says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:43pm

amazing game! and pretty complex! =O

vladimirdlc says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:52pm

Gorgeous art, I like how the mechanics are not just pure luck but involve some thought.

Jod says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:54pm

I have walked the bloody path of the samurai for so long I have forgotten why I fight. There is only me, my enemy and our blades.

What a beautiful game, such atmosphere! Caught the minimalism theme very well indeed. A very good cohesion between audio, video and gameplay.

tacograveyard says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:05pm

Great style! Controls were a bit tricky at first. I still don't love them, but I do love the game.

kidevil says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:20pm

Thanks for the comments everyone :) Glad the art style works, and know what I need to do to make the controls more intuitive :)

muton: I'm right with you there. Changing guard positions is definitely something I want to add. Also the ability to strike first. Already had it in the game, but wasn't able to tweak it in time. Basically, you could spam attacks and win every fight. Will have to check out that bug too :(

mightycomp: Ah, looks like a font issue. The controls are a, s, d, but I can see how a caps A can look like a caps R.

kidevil says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:35pm

update: muton: figured out the glitch. If you keep hitting one of the block buttons after killing the guy, it will play the block animation and you get stuck in it. Good catch and an easy fix :)

Dmitrix says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:42pm

Interesting game play, nice graphics and sounds.

zazery says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:30am

Once you get the hang of blocking and countering it's pretty fun. I'm terrible at figuring out where to block. Solid game.

kazukishida says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:40am

First thing i noticed was the art! cool art and very smooth movements for the characters in the game. i had a hard time timing the buttons tho but still good enough! i'll continue on playing this. Great game!

kidevil says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:25am

I think the timing thing is throwing everyone off. It's not so much about timing the block as it is about recognizing what direction and hitting the block asap.

I think axcho had it right at the start...this thing needs a quick tutorial level to start er off :)

8BitPimp says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:13am

I like it a lot. Nice concept, and not as hard as I thought it would be. Only complaint is that it was too easy to set your next stance immediately after a fight before the enemy has moved in the next round. Hmm, I hope you know what I mean :S.

pereubu says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:00am

great job. The feedbacks are really hard to understand and anticipate at the start ( it was very frustrating ), but I really like the concept :3

Casino Jack says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:47pm

Looks amazing, but I found it practically impossible (more like rock-paper-scissors as someone else mentioned) until I came back here and saw the tutorial image. I think it'd be much better if you fought increasingly difficult opponents which slowly introduced the different blocks/counters.

smilingrob says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:52pm

I like how the menu doesn't exist and you just walk away from the title screen. Nice ambiance.

N427 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:46pm

Very cool, loved the gameplay! I hope you expand upon it and make it into a full game.

Dohan says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:10pm

Awesome art & mechanic! The only issue I've had with the game is that you can't change the defense stance once you've chosen one.

kill0u says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:46pm

Awesome :)

kidevil says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:30pm

Thanks for the feedback!

N427: definitely plan to fix it and build on it in the next few weeks. Think it has some potential once all the kinks are worked out:)

Dohan: I agree! You NEED to be able to switch the block, and it just makes more sense for the gameplay.

DavidErosa says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:09pm

Wow, tried to play without reading the tutorial and got really wasted :D After having a look at it it was easier to play, but not to defeat.

A pity the defense can't be changed, it leads to a bit of frustration.

Thanks for the game!

vilya says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:59pm

Very atmospheric & nice mechanic. Like it!

Polar says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:12pm

Quite a nice little game, although sometimes my character didn't attack after a successful block - I'll presume I missed something in the instructions :) I also agree with a gentler difficulty curve - the game is *unbelievably* hard at first :P

kidevil says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:11pm

polar: I think it's more of an animation issue here. After you block, you always counter attack, but the animation jumps right to the sword clash animation if the enemy blocks you as well. It may look more like a double block than a block and attack.

SonnyBone says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:25pm

Really awesome execution! It's very satisfying to get a kill, and you always kick yourself when you screw up reading the block. Nice risk vs reward. Love the minimalist look!

May 5, 2013 @ 7:29am

Pretty nice. I didn't get it before I saw your tutorial, but after this it was fun.

May 5, 2013 @ 11:53pm

Pretty cool, but I think I prefer Karateka.

Colapsydo says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 9:13am

Characters and animation are incredible here, I like their diversity.

I first thought the game was casual, then I read the tutorial picture. It could be a good thing to introduce a small tutorial in the game, it would be a pity that people don't catch it because this game worth some playing time from them.

someone says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 3:48pm

Excellent game. Love all the characters. Really great animation.
It was irritating that you cant change which block you choose though.

heuermh says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 4:15am

Very cool, nice work on generated graphics.

Orni says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 7:07am

brilliant game

well done :D

zkenshin says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 3:35pm

Neat game. Had fun testing this one. :)

kidevil says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 7:51pm

Thanks all :) Working on an updated now based on feedback and adding a bunch of stuff I didn't have time for originally.

Gravel says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 2:35pm

Really nice gameplay. Great style.
Nice job!

voxel says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 10:03am

Amazing visuals, found it difficult to work out but maybe I'm just a little dumb

Jhelle says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 12:49pm

Nice art. But controls could be a bit more intuitive by placing them vertical instead of horizontal.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]