April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Fear of the Snoo Snoo

by Egan - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A basic RTS game focusing on 4 core game design features but providing enough of a challenge that it requires quick thinking and a sense of humour.

Survive as along as possible in the hopes of having Snoo Snoo with a warrior tribe, the longer the better.

Simple controls with a lighting mechanic that requires the player to control two characters to survive.

This is an XNA title so it requires the framework and you can run the game from the Visual Studio file included. I should have published it as a .EXE file. My Misttake.

EDIT 1:

I have uploaded a new RAR file containing a .EXE and the XNA framework if people need it to install.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1934Coolness14%

Comments

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:53pm

I have the framework installed, how do I run it? Magic wand? boiling water? love?

Lizzip says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:07pm

Running from source via visual studio worked for me

Egan says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:43pm

Yeah sorry it was late and I was tired so I forgot to write that in the Read Me.

Like Lizzip said if you run it from the source using Visual Studio it should work.

Thanks for even looking at it :)

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:12am

There is a cool mechanic in here, but it feels like I'm spending a ton of time sitting around not doing anything. If this game were finished, it could be pretty awesome.

Egan says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:47am

Yeah I admit there is some mechanics I needed to fix such as when the enemies attack, I had planned on them hunting you down but ran out of time.

I was aiming to make a game that you could never win, just to test see how long you can last for.

Thank you for playing the game :)

May 1, 2013 @ 2:48pm

Not able to play a Windows based entry, so I can't rate this one.

ZYXer says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:29am

I like the Snoo Snoo idea. :D
But I must admit that I wasn't quite sure what I was supposed to do in the game.

May 5, 2013 @ 3:02am

Feels a little incomplete but still a cool mechanic and considering the time constraints of 2 days I cannot really complain about that. Good job nonetheless! :)

Jonny D says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 3:20am

"I was aiming to make a game that you could never win, just to test see how long you can last for." <-- I'm pretty sure that's the whole point of snoo-snoo.

Sadly, that was one very big download, then an install and uninstall... and no snoo-snoo to make up for it...

goerp says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 2:58pm

Maybe you can add some more instructions, because I have no idea what to to do. There is for both men a little space to wander and I can see stuff on the ground, I can pick it up, but does it do something?

At the moment it feels like there is nothing to do but run around?

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]