April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

OnlyOne

by mrexcessive - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My little game, finished at last... There are 7 main levels, then Harder repeats with no control hints showing and maps inverted.

Only keys used are WASD and R, only R is useable all the time - to reload current level.


Besides the excellent Unity, I also used: 2D toolkit, PaintShop Pro X3, Audacity, Visual Studio C# 2010 Express, FileZilla, HydraIRC, SFXR, erm... Notepad. I adlibbed the piano myself for the Death music.


Source does NOT include tk2d itself, nor Unity standard assets folder.

I have only tested Windows, and Web on Chrome and IE.
Thanks to Limb_Clock for testing on OS/X!
If it doesn't work for you please let me know mrexcessive@gmail.com and I'll do what I can, any error messages or screenshots/descriptions of problems appreciated.

If you enjoy it please let me know.


Thanks for the fun weekend!
MrExcessive

03May13 - uploaded new OS/X build set to fullscreen after a bug report on screen resolution.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#296Innovation3.45
#538Fun3.00
#759Theme3.33
#835Overall2.91
#848Audio2.20
#899Humor1.79
#952Mood2.47
#1224Graphics2.09

Comments

mrexcessive says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 11:37am

3 levels now... a sort-of tutorial by levels approach.

Apr 28, 2013 @ 1:41pm

The Windows-download-link doesn't work.

mrexcessive says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 2:05pm

@SuperlevelSebastian think I fixed that now, thank you for reporting.

mrexcessive says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:19am

If someone could check the Linux version I'd be very grateful! Will ask in IRC once back from work...

VDOgamez says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:39am

While the graphics are a little silly, looking, this is a pretty neat maze idea. The fact that your ability to move a direction can get taken away again adds to the depth. It's kind of unpolished, and short, but it's definitely creative.

mortus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:53am

Great idea, I liked it. First game so far that I'm sad has ended so fast (though I played not so much yet).

Tozy says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:58am

Innovative mechanic! I don't liked the other aspects of the game that much. The first levels make a good tutorial, congratz!

mrexcessive says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:39pm

Thanks for the nice comments... yer apologies graphics, programmer art ftw !

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:22pm

Hey, that's really good! A neat mechanic and stellar tutorialization!

Languard says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:00pm

While it fits well with the theme, it otherwise feels like an average puzzle type game.

hnjslater says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:45pm

Pretty cool, looked a bit pants on my monitor, the levels were right down the bottom left hand side, barely on the screen! Very good mechanic though

Mythalore says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:46pm

Very innovative puzzle game, well done!

kewry says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:17pm

Amazing concept, quite fun and challenging

nseward says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:29pm

Great puzzler. I love the tutorial levels. So few spend the time to make the game easy to approach.

siondream says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:09pm

Great concept, I loved the puzzle-maze style and the restrictions on movement.

Khaldrin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:51pm

Creative idea. I like the concept of giving/taking the control keys. Nice piano death music btw.

SmilingCat says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:44pm

Very creative puzzle game! Nicely done.

dook says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:40pm

Not bad. Giving and taking controls like pieces on the board is a great idea. You could probably do more with that.

May 1, 2013 @ 3:43am

Haha, nice mechanic!

mrexcessive says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:57am

@Khaldrin thanks for the music appreciation!

Ryusui says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:07am

Love the puzzle concept - I don't think I've ever seen anything quite like it before!

MaxSzlagor says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:59pm

Nice concept! It took me a while to understand what was going on, but then it grew on me as I figured out how to move around. Specifically, I had a hard time understanding the idea behind storing up key actions, and it still isn't clear to me what makes them disappear, which makes planning a strategy harder. Trial and error worked pretty well though, and I enjoyed the experience. Thanks for sharing!

May 2, 2013 @ 11:21am

The puzzle element is very unique to me... Good work :D

itsZN says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:52pm

Its a nice idea, would have helped to give more instruction at the begging, idk

Dir3kt says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:28pm

That's a good mechanic, that gives interesting gameplay! The levels are good but I wished there was more.

With better graphics and audio it could have been a real contender!

Jiddo says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:16pm

Some nice level design in this game!

mrexcessive says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:44am

Thanks for all the nice comments. @Dir3kt I may Jam next time for this very reason... My artistic abilities are placed near last in any group... Sound design I believe could have been better with 2 hours more. Main thing I missed on was more levels... Should have put some more simpler ones after lv4 and then more complex ones at the end.

Idovoodoo says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:10pm

Nice idea, I like it a lot. Well done :)

tcstyle says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:38pm

Great puzzle concept. Was fun to play. Sound was okay. I liked the misguiding pieces.

saggiosoft says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 1:17pm

Really nice puzzle!

Rafael Sales says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 1:11pm

Intelligent puzzle and simple but innovative gameplay. Congrats!

MinionStudios says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 8:38pm

Well thought out and really fun puzzler! I love the key removal mechanics!

m64 says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 10:16pm

Simplicity that quickly builds towards complexity - great!

May 9, 2013 @ 3:40am

Weird graphics but I still liked the idea behind it. For 48hrs, I think you did a fairly decent job. :)

bobiniki says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 5:18pm

Wow that us realy original game mechanic. Quite fun and makes you take desisions.

avidgamerNino says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 10:41pm

Is that a "render cliouds" in the background? I enjoyed having to work with what controls are taken away. Good take on the theme. I can't say anything bad.

hgouveia says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 9:11am

Very challenging game, i love it

mrexcessive says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 6:20pm

@avidgamerNino Background is a plane being looked at by a "3D" camera, separate to the 2D one doing the plane. Used GIMP to create clouds and then tile. Small script rotates the background plane slowly back and forth independently of all else - I added this fairly early on and never had time to put something more interesting!

Sylvain.p says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 9:20pm

The concept is pretty cool but the graphics are horrible sorry.

mrexcessive says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 6:55pm

I know... I'm a programmer without much of an eye for visual quality...

TenTonToon says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 5:33am

Nice little puzzle game. The idea is interesting, although I think some explanation of the core mechanics would be nice, even though you can understand everything that's going on after just 2 levels.

It lacks a certain punch, though; some more "daring" level design. And it certainly would benefit from a post-compo redesign on the visual side. But, all in all, the important thing is there: the core idea and game mechanics.

Keep it up! :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]