April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Rocket Boot Camp

by errorage - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My game for Ludum Dare is rather simple. Pilot a rocket with WASD or the arrow keys through a bunch of spinny things. Get score for not hitting them and lose score for hitting them. The entire complexity ends there. No backstory, no lose condition, nothing past that simple game mechanic.

You can watch a 'making of' timelapse video here:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Sbg9T9gNRMQ

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#898Innovation2.66
#957Graphics2.53
#984Theme3.06
#1032Humor1.47
#1104Overall2.61
#1156Mood2.15
#1194Fun2.16

Comments

quill18 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:15pm

No knowledge of 3d programming? Unity? Blender? Until a week ago? First time entering Ludum Dare? This is a pretty impressive entry.

My only complaint is a lack of a sense of depth/perspective. In other words, I had a hard time knowing how close I was to the obstacles. I think there needs to be some kind of reference object+shadows so that you get a better sense of where the rocket is vs where the next obstacle is. Actually, just a "distance" meter might be all that's needed.

LrdKzrth says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:35pm

Very good!

whiteravens says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:29pm

It's quite hard to predict when you're near a circle or not, but still, good entry!

glbs says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:33pm

Nice game for a first attempt! I also had trouble with the perspective from unity, I guess its pretty usual as a friend of mine had the same problem.

Moist says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:35pm

This is a very interesting concept. Given some more polish it would make a hell of a minigame. The biggest problem right now is, as quill18 wrote, perspective. You could fix that by casting player's shadow on the obstacles. Nevertheless, well done!

Markusn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:24am

that's a great achievement for just starting with unity, nicely done

saggiosoft says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:46am

Good entry and good debut!

May 1, 2013 @ 11:46pm

Nice work! That is a really cool visual idea. I think it would be more visually consistent if the player was just a circle rather then a 3D cylinder.

SnoringFrog says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:20pm

Web link doesn't seem to be working right now. :/

Blinked says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:25pm

Link appears to be broken unfortunately, I'll check back on this one later.

Blinked says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 12:08am

Okay it works now :) Took me a while to figure out what to do, but it's a pretty cool concept, nice entry!

Also, I can't help but see giant Pacman's coming at me xD

SnoringFrog says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 2:56am

Took a minute to get used to, then was a bit too easy to stay interesting. Might be more effective if there was a lose condition instead of being allowed to basically rack up a score forever. Otherwise, nicely done.

Neonlare says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 12:37pm

Pretty darn good for a first LD, and good overall. Could use some sound and a bit of more depth/perspective to allow for more gauging of how close/far the objects were, but it's still a pretty damn good job well done! :D

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]