April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Tilegrid

by Binary Gambit - Jam Entry

Our entry for LD26 was focused around minimizing the amount of game mechanics. Our other games have always continued to get more complex as the development process wore on, and given the theme and knowledge we only had 72 hours, decided we should try the opposite.

Tilegrid is a simple yet difficult "Match the Colors" game where the player must place tiles from a randomised deck to create scoring shapes.

Some controls we didn't mention:
Press 'R' while playing to reset the current level early.
Press 'Escape' to return to the main menu.
Press 'Spacebar' to swap your tile
Click to place tiles

*UPDATED RULES CLARIFICATIONS*
-White marked edges represent connections - tiles may only be placed when connectors match, or in the starting blue tiles.
-Red tiles must be placed in 2x2 squares to score
-Green tiles must be placed in lines of 3 to score, in either orientation.
-Scored tiles of these types change to purple.
-The brown tiles score one point for each scoring (purple) tile in their row or column (as indicated by arrows) at the end of the game.
-Purple tiles score more points the more tiles you place adjacent to them.
0-1 adjacent tiles = 0pts
2 = 2pts
3 = 4pts
4 = 8pts

-If it is impossible for you to place a tile, the game will automatically discard them for you.

Good Luck and we hope you enjoy our entry!

Made using Actionscript 3 and the Flashpunk library.

Ben(Abregado) and Steve(Pupnik)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness82%
#83Innovation(Jam)3.58
#178Theme(Jam)3.53
#192Overall(Jam)3.33
#238Graphics(Jam)3.33
#266Audio(Jam)2.93
#283Mood(Jam)2.88
#300Humor(Jam)2.00
#332Fun(Jam)2.74

Comments

DarkX2 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:03pm

It looks nice, but even with reading the instructions and playing the first level I did not really understand how it was decided where I can put a tiles.

bvanschooten says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:11pm

Nice and well presented game. Good music, pity about the loud beeps which afaik you can't turn off. I do not quite understand all the game mechanics yet, so more instructions would be welcome. I could not figure out why I run out of tiles without the game ending, and why the grey spots sometimes appear only after clicking on a black spot. Also I have no idea what the blue tiles are.

Proch says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:19pm

really really fun to play! you had a nice idea ;) simple and fun mechanics

Binary Gambit says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:25pm

Thanks for the comments, I have updated the notes with some rules clarifications. Unfortunately we didn't get around to implementing the feature to give your score immediately when you run out of tiles.

kbm0 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:53pm

Nicely done, good graphics. The sound when you place a block is a little annoying after a while, though. I had a difficult time understanding the concept at first, though when I understood it, it was quite fun. Good job!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:54pm

Great game with really cool mechanics and visuals.
Awesome job!

foul says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:19pm

Maybe allow to place a tile when it does not match the sides in which case it just wont create combo (draw a white dash at the border explaning the connection there is lost). It is worse when i run out of time and the tile i hold can be placed "somewhere"...

Andy Go says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:25pm

Some nice mechanics :)

Axelhein says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:47pm

Took me a little while to figure the mechanics out, but once I did I had a lot of fun.

fysx says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:39pm

Looks very interesting and made me curious but I found it very confusing. The visuals, audio, and "feel" of the game is superb, but it was totally random for me when I could place a tile.

Is there a certain amount of points you have to make in each level? Or any other condition to win? Or is it just for the pleasure of making points? Would be totally fine for me but it is not clear to me what the actual challenge is.

Binary Gambit says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:02pm

No required points for progression, just a measure of how well you performed on that map. We were thinking of implementing a progression system and some more maps, but time ran out.

fullmontis says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:32am

Very enjoyable puzzle game with interesting mechanics! Grat graphical stye and cool music but the sound effects are quite intrusive...

Binary Gambit says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:18pm

The bloops are a bit loud, there is an option to turn them off in the main menu though.

syawqy says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 11:05pm

I'm confused
but, I think this is pretty good

shawn42 says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 2:58pm

Looks nice. I can tell you spent some time polishing, it shows. Fun gameplay / experience. Keep up the good work.

I think there may be a render bug when in "level 1 with help" mode. If I swap my tiles, the "helper squares" don't update until I try to place it somewhere.

klianc09 says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 12:05pm

I'm still not sure how this works, but somehow I enjoyed it.

FrederickK says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 9:08pm

great enter, really fun

lasergans says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 12:07pm

Cool game idea :) Like it!

cadin says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 12:46am

Nice. I think this could be a really good game with a little more polish. Kind of reminds me of Robo Sockets.

Binary Gambit says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 1:28am

Thanks for all the feedback and (hopefully) positive ratings. Check out our Postmortem and Timelapse, links above.

dx0ne says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 7:47pm

Fine little game. I love such simple puzzlers.

Xanjos says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 11:53pm

Took some time to understand how the scoring mechanics worked but overall it was a pretty fun and interesting game.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]