April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Hexzilla

by Bernhard - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hexzilla is a simple base building and defending strategy game with incoming waves of enemy swarms.

Press ALT+ENTER for fullscreen mode.

Tuesday: Added Linux version (Audio might require Pulseaudio)
Wednesday: Android version submitted to Google Play Store

Thursday: Added screenshots of my highest score so far :-)

----------------------

Additional Downloads:

Android Google Play Store: https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=ch.nukular.hexzilla
iOS App Store (iPhone/iPad): https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/hexzilla/id644120262?ls=1&mt=8

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#68Overall3.86
#76Fun3.71
#208Graphics3.65
#219Mood3.33
#249Audio3.22
#316Innovation3.43
#673Theme3.42
#839Humor1.86

Comments

Markavian says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:35am

Well presented game, feels very complete. Felt constantly harrased by the enemies to the point where I couldn't keep up my defenses.

Pickehut says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:23pm

Wow, this feels like a game that you could buy on steam!
Nice graphics and sounds too.
The only complaint I have is that it seems to be too easy.
I don't know if it gets significantly harder later on, but after I placed a lot of shields around my base I had no problems surviving.
But this is only a balancing problem I guess.

LrdKzrth says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:25pm

Very addictive...

Qrchack says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:35pm

just loved this one. Android

swizzcheez says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:09am

Very nicely done. Will refer back to this from time to time.

toonheart says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:12am

very nice :)
And I was thinking no one's gonna build a tower defense :D

Done rating.

Please do show some love on my game too :)
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-26/?action=rate&uid=21211

shohs says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:19am

Very nice game, it seems very well thought out. The only problem I had with it is that everything seems too cheap - the fact that every upgrade costs $1 made me always have a ton of money, which in turn made it pretty useless to build extra farms.

kingsman142 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:04am

Extremely difficult game, but it is one of the best ones I have seen so far.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:55am

Played this on my way to school on Android, and I made it to the 210th wave on my third try. Also tried it on the PC just to see the difference.

The game is well presented and the graphics have a clean finish, but the pacing seems kinda off. The start can be very hectic, but when you get a decent base esatblished, you just sit there and wait with $500+ in your inventory to spend on nothing in particular.
It could definitely have used some more expenesive upgrades to drain your cash. With a little more polish, I think this could become a great game! (:

Tater_hater says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:12pm

didnt work for me on chrome, but if the app is on the android market, ill defiently try it out. Looks good from the screenshots

HelkeGames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:32pm

Cool and nice game well done! ;)

tiffi says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:40pm

loved the game, one of the best games ive seen so far (tested about 60 games). awesome work!

pentaphobe says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:58pm

Oh wow, I totally started working on a prototype of this last week after having a dream about it - thanks so much for letting me play it without having to work more :)

Pretty damn cool idea, and really smooth implementation (and a tutorial!)

It'd be nice to have a little more build time at the beginning, but it's highly playable and a fantastic job

bernhard says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:23am

Thanks for all the comments everyone, really appreciated!

@Tater_hater: It's on the Play Store now \o/
Link: https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=ch.nukular.hexzilla

stqn says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:08am

Great presentation, good audio, very smooth (played the Linux version). Well done! The game itself lacked some goal to keep me playing, although I played much longer the second time I tried and then eventually lost/abandonned after 200 ~ (whatever this number means :) ).

PsenFilip says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:06am

The game is overall very polished, especially the GUI. Pretty smooth experience.
I spent quite a few time on it; pretty good game session.

Only complaint is that the mouse wheel should be inverted IMO (scroll up when zooms in).
Keep it up

FREEZX says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:05pm

Zerg rush! Love the game!

mrexcessive says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:21pm

Most excellent... bookmarked to come back to later. I have a penchant for hex based games, nice to see that too. very slick for a tower defence.

f7f5 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:43pm

The is very well presented. Played it on chrome and loved the audio and the overall feel. The only downside is that everything was a bit cheap, so at a point I had over $1000 and growing. Also could do with some final objective: I just abandoned after a while. But for a 48hr game, it's great.

Ryusui says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:20am

That was amazing - a very professional-looking product. The only thing I think was missing would be some kind of keyboard shortcut for the build/repair/upgrade process - things get pretty hectic after a while!

wonderwhy-er says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:48am

Seems fun and challenging, hard to put a finger quickly on what's best strategy :)

junt74 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:50am

Very addictive!
Well minimalized, and upgrade system is well worked.
Excellent game!

Blinked says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:50pm

Really well made game, the graphics look nice and the touch screen works very well. My only complaint would be that the game gets very easy once you have a fair enough defence. But overall outstanding game!

Jonny D says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:08pm

Pretty good and pretty fun. I found that farms are overpowered (maybe because there's no upkeep for other types. I only had a couple of farms and got all the money I ever needed. I was able to build a very strong defense of turrets and shields before I even realized you can upgrade. Then I just waited for a few hundred waves.

LizEngland says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:36pm

Great game! I had a lot of fun playing this, and it seems a really good match for a touchscreen game. It has that kind of frantic minimalist 'war' that reminded me of Galcon.

Toki Anholmes says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:44pm

very polish game, well done ! Maybe another goal beside the score would be appreciate...

playvue says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:35pm

Absolutely loved it! That said, mouse-only control made it heart to spend the money I had fast enough to keep up. Keyboard or simplified click options would go a long way. =) Great job!

May 2, 2013 @ 9:47pm

Felt like i was limited to my clicking speed )

Jellycakes says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:51am

Pretty nicely made game. Very easy to set something up without running out of money but nonetheless a pretty fun game. Nice work!

Bernhard says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:06am

Thanks for all the comments guys!
Further balancing and something more besides the current endless mode seems like next steps for this game!

@playvue @RealyUniqueName , the game would play quite differently with hotkeys yeah, would be ineteresting. I kind of like how it is almost equal between touch screens (Android and upcoming iOS) and desktops.

I added two screenshots from my highest score round. I started the base with 3 farms and reduced to 2 and made it until wave 408. I kind of wish that the tutorial stated something about many farms not being required. Or maybe even limit the number of farms available for building.

moomoo112 says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:29am

made it until the enemies could destroy bases in one shot, and then I kinda lost..

Dir3kt says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 3:43pm

Hey I remember trying your binary during the Dare to see if it run on my setup. But didn't had time to play back then. This is now fixed :)

I enjoyed it a lot. The controls are very intuitive and the core of the game is interesting. Played it for a while and it was fun. I stopped because I noticed I had too much money and the creeps didn't seemed to be a threat anymore. Would definitely be interested by a post compo version. Don't hesitate to send me a tweet :)

HD408 says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 1:12am

Cool design. While I played this game, I felt really inspired. My next LD entry would probably be a tower defence game.

Dietrich Epp says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 4:00am

Once I figured it out it was easy until late waves. Addictive gameplay! Would love to see a more developed version. I actually filled up my high scores board, got 3768 credits. The main complaint is that it's so much clicking speed.

Rafael Sales says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 3:44pm

Fucking awesome game! Great game to build smart strategies and get master playing a simple but deep game mechanic. Congratulations!

nimblegorilla says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 11:53pm

Cool game. I think it needs hotkeys - I couldn't spend my money fast enough!

kill0u says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 12:19am

Nice game :)

jamioflan says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 4:02pm

Awesome game!
I'm very impressed with iPad support too!
I agree that the money seems a little worthless; maybe you could make higher level upgrades cost more?

Sestren says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 8:28pm

Cool design. The title screen audio was very nice, and the gameplay was fun.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]