April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Omega

by shohs - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Created in Java.

Guide the hero, wielding a trusty grapple, through a minimal world. Include minimal story!

Controls: WASD/Arrow keys to move, Mouse to grapple

I'm new to this, so all feedback is appreciated!

Remember to unzip it!

*Note: This is my first time distributing anything, so if the native distributions don't work, it's because I don't know what I'm doing. I've included all of the builds for that reason.*

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#159Audio3.41
#230Mood3.32
#537Innovation3.14
#670Humor2.07
#798Graphics2.72
#840Theme3.24
#895Fun2.62
#954Overall2.79

Comments

egos says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:41pm

not so bad but the control are so HOrrible i cant continue sorry

lpcustom says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:39pm

Windows version isn't running for me in 64bit windows 7. I could possibly try to use a 32-bit version of Java. Anyway to get this updated to include the 64 bit jogl dll if it exists?

shohs says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:52pm

That's odd, because it works for me and I run 64-bit Java (albeit on Windows 8). I know that if you don't unzip it, the jar won't run, but if that's not the problem, then I'm not sure what is.

fullmontis says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:34pm

I really like the concept, really really like it. Also great mood. But I got stuck as soon as I found the third message because of the unresponsive controls. After five minutes trying to reach the door I stopped...

ChrisGaudino says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:34pm

Grapple controls are really difficult, but I had fun anyway, and I really liked the music.

hgouveia says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:53pm

Great game, i like it :D

Holofire says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:40pm

Nice platformer game. Giving the guy a grapple really makes this quite unique. Great job.

fussycashew says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:51pm

Nice concept, but as other's have said, controls are pretty sticky. Really like the mouse grapple.

JimmyLord says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:56pm

I like the visuals and music, but the controls need polish. I gave up around the 4th or 5th message. It's little things, like the grapple goes out too slowly and you have to lift and rehold the left/right arrow after touching a wall to keep moving.

shohs says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:22am

Thanks for the feedback everybody. I agree that the controls could be improved, but I guess I didn't notice it much before because I was grappling everywhere, haha

Tom 7 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:31am

I got 11/13 dots and did win, but the controls kind of kill it! It took me a long time to realize that the grapple is some atan2 stuff and not like clicking on the wall where I want to go. I got pretty good at flinging myself around, but I was trying over and over to get across the hangy spikes on the ceiling and the game crashed on me? I also know what to do to get the potato but it's just so hard to execute. :(

Nice music!

Tom 7 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:39am

Just kidding, I had to get the potato so I went back and did it! OMNIPOTENT

Mystify says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:47am

Could not find the main class: org.nmc.dare.Driver. Program will exit

Kitch says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:53am

Could have used a bit more gravity :) but I really like where you are going with this. keep it up!

Rabbits... says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:39am

Very difficult to control with a trackpad but I thought the grappling physics were very well done.

May 1, 2013 @ 2:16pm

I think at least your Linux JAR is 32 bits, I'm getting an error here.

Doublecaster says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:20pm

I thought this was really good game even though the controls were bad. The simple background music brought a lot to it, and the sound effects were great.

Xanjos says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:06pm

Absolutely loved the grappling mechanics and the audio set the mood really well.

zanzindorf says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 2:03am

I couldn't figure out the grapple. Sometimes it wouldn't work at all and sometimes it would fling me across the level. I dig the sounds though. They give a very ominous vibe.

Gremlin says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 3:17pm

The music is pretty awesome. I clicked before I tried the arrow keys. With that and the sound effects, I thought the grapple was a ball-and-chain and the hero was a prisoner who I'd have to propel around using just the chain pull him places.

The jumping physics aren't quite as nice as the grappling physics. Since you stop when you hit something from the side, standing too close to a wall makes it hard to jump over the wall. Fixing the feel of the running and jumping would probably do a lot to lessen some of the inherent frustration of platforming.

May 5, 2013 @ 11:32am

Audio and atmosphere are obviously very good, but I wasn't able to use the grapple in any helpful let alone satisfying way. =/ I'm probably doing something wrong here, but I tried everything that occured to me to use it properly. It's just so slow and static, I have no idea how flinging, as Tom7 called it, would even work. I'd *really* like to see a video of that.
Also the basic running and jumping is a bit counter-intuitive. You need quite some time to accelerate to maximum running speed, but as soon as you let go of the key the player immediately stops mid-air. Also the fact that side-movement is sometimes ignored (when standing next to a small block and trying to jump over it for instance) makes the whole thing a little frustrating.
I think this is a good basis to a potentially great and really fun game, but it would need a little more polishing and possibly more in depth explanations of the hook mechanics.

shohs says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 9:03pm

If you release the grapple while you are still far away from it, you will get flung toward the grapple. I left the instructions vague on purpose, but I suppose I should have at least hinted toward that.

manax says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 11:54pm

Nice game, I didn't find the controls too difficult, except it seemed the grapple didn't always stick. I figured out how to fling myself, but that didn't seem very reproducible.

I seemed to have gotten lost after the 3rd message...

Music + colorscheme + text was very moody.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]