April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Myrne 6312

by Beldarak - Jam Entry

Myrne 6312 is a coop-space-survival-shooter.

You and your friend (in split-screen) have to survive and find a way out of a space station where things seems to have turned really badly.

Multi endings ! Yay !

Music by: RedSam (Antonio Romeo) and Jim Henderson Jr - Elvin Galland (https://soundcloud.com/jim-henderson-jr). A big thank you to both of you.

[Edit 19th may: Don't hesitate to visit IndieDB to follow the post LD development of the game (will start in few months). It would be nice if you could also rate it there:

http://www.indiedb.com/games/myrne-6312

Thanks ;)]

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#85Audio(Jam)3.58
#119Graphics(Jam)3.79
#146Mood(Jam)3.38
#156Overall(Jam)3.44
#199Fun(Jam)3.08
#219Humor(Jam)2.35
#246Innovation(Jam)3.06
#487Theme(Jam)2.51

Comments

TiDitto says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:09am

looks cool! anyway to get a mac/web version so i can rate it?

Beldarak says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:13am

Thanks.

I'll try to build a Mac OS version and a Linux one too tomorrow. I can't build it to the web unfortunately

Mystify says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:24am

what kind of control scheme is zsqd?

allinlabs says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:25am

I played it alone (unfortunately) but it was awesome. By the game is made to be played on a AZERTY keyboard, which sucks if you're are on QWERTY, you should add a option of it (or make the QWERTY the default one)

bleatingheart says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:27am

I'd also be interested in a Mac version if you get a chance!

manax says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:32am

Looks cool, interesting concept, but controls seemed really wacky to me.

Beldarak says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:41am

You can switch from Azerty to Qwerty with Shift(Left) + Alt(Left) ;)

I'm working on a web build. I found exactly what the problem is and will try to change that. No promises here.

I admit the controls are really weird, I'll change that after the Ludum Dare when I'll get more time to add gamepad support and keybinding.

Thanks for the feedbacks :)

moomoo112 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:04am

Controls are kinda painful, and the key combination to switch to qwerty does not seem to work at all.

Beldarak says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:15am

Oh. Weird, it always worked on all my computer, maybe not on american ones :'(

I'll try to add a Qwerty mode tomorrow then (will start tonight but their's a lot of scripts to edit).

But here's the good news: I seem to have a web build working ! Maybe it will accept the switch between qwerty and azerty and in any case it should help Mac/Linux users before I made a build for them.

It's uploading on my shitty connexion right now and I want to extensively test it before releasing ;)

Beldarak says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:04am

Ok, good news everyone ! I get a web version working (tried on Firefox and Chrome and it works perfectly (better on Chrome).

And the plus side, I added an option Qwerty/Azerty ! Hopefully I didn't forgot any script (don't think so). I need to upload the standalone and the web version, may take a while for the web version but the windows standalone will be here in a minute.

Cake&Code says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:33pm

I'd never even heard of AZERTY layouts before this! Something to keep in mind for the future.

I, like allinlabs, was only able to play the game alone but it was really cool anyways! I can't wait to get a friend in on the action with me :)

Beldarak says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:03pm

Thanks for the feedback ;)

I thought Azerty was the norm in europe but it's only in France, Belgium (where I live) and few other countries. I'll never again make a game without the option to switch it now :D

Fadobo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:33pm

Pretty awesome. Controls are a bit difficult as mentioned before, but I am really I don't have a buddy here right now to give it a nice full 2 player test :)

Super Hamster says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:52am

I couldn't really figure out how to enter the ship.. Maybe I glitched out? I do not know.

imagnity says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:53am

Entertaining. Good job!

rogueNoodle says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:29am

Great work - loved the pixel art! Kind of wished the font matched the style more, but overall, the style was great. Fun gameplay too, though I had to play by myself :P

Purplescape says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:59am

The idea is fantastic. I really liked the graphics. Those animals can be tough!

Beldarak says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:24pm

Thanks all, your comments make me very happy :)

@rogueNoodle: I built the project over another game I'm creating and intially wanted to change the police but I completely forgot to make so, I was also afraid that it would take too much time since I would have to check all the interface to see if the text wouldn't overlaps the interface boxes. But I agree this font is a little out of place ;)

@Super Hamster: Do you mean you begin in space? If so that's a bug, you should begin in a little shuttle (the one you see in the main menu) docked to the station. Then you can enter the station by the double door in the middle-up of the shuttle.

MinionStudios says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:04am

I loved this! Great overall ambiance! I wish you could shoot in other directions...

Beldarak says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:15am

Yeah, the player directions was a hard choice. I wanted a Castle Crashers feel so I dropped the up and down directions that were intially in my scripts.

I don't regret this choice but once I'll improve the game, after the LD, I will rework the station design to avoid long vertical corridors.

Travis Irby says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:57am

Nice i love coop games! will have to try this again with a friend. From playing it alone i can tell you that the pixel graphics are sweet and great music :)

ecool377 says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 3:44am

Awesome had fun with a friend playing it! We finished it great game 5/5

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 3:45am

looks kool but could not really figure out what to do -- nice effort!

TammiLion says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 10:12am

Not sure if it's a bug but at the beginning of the level you can walk through the wall and walk on space. The look is great! Web player was a bit slow unfortunately. Good job ^^

Beldarak says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 12:13pm

Definitely a bug. Any details on how it did did happen? After using the ship console? Were you able to reenter the ship or did you just get "propulsed" out of it while walking against a wall?

SaintHeiser says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 1:35pm

What the hell WEB RESOLUTION IS?

DBRalir says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 6:14am

Very nice! I love the aesthetic. One of the best games I've played so far! I will definitely come back to play this again.

Beldarak says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 3:59pm

Yeah, the resolution is a little weird because the game was absolutley not made for the web at first. It can't run in lower resolutions or the interface will overlaps.

But you can use ctrl+mouse wheel to resize the web page (and so the web player) without disturbing the interface.

Thanks DBRalir, that's what I love to read :D

Yezu says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 3:57pm

The controls were terribly confusing...

OU GDA says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 5:55pm

Really liked the style of the game. Are you using any sort of 2d library for Unity? And the controls aren't really that bad. The no north or south looking constraint actually makes it rather fun to have to flick shoot (reminds me of megaman) while running away. Is there some way to revive the second player? Music also really fits the game really well. As player 1, though, I had trouble getting out of some of the dialog boxes.

Beldarak says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 11:29pm

Thanks for the feedback.

You can revive your buddy by dragging his corpse into a Rezotron-3000 and activate it. It's the transparent green tube that you can find at some places (one is at the very beginning of the game).

I'll look into the dialogue problem. I changed the exit key to "T" at the very last minute so I may have forgotten some dialogues (pressing enter should do the trick).

And I didn't use any 2D libraries except a custom script to place and move stuff more easily: http://i.imgur.com/QtJM0DN.png

ahm99 says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 1:51am

Sorry, too hard. Cool game though. Liked the graphics. Good job :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]