April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Formless Reliquary

by PsenFilip - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The game:
Find your way through 25 different levels.
Expect no further instructions ingame. Find what the game is about and maybe a hidden/meaningful message.

Keywords:
memory, puzzle, trial, rules, colors, patterns

Controls:
W,S,A,D or Arrow Keys

Fullscreen:
The game was designed to be placed on a small window. If you REALLY want it fullscreen, just hit Alt+Enter (Win) or Cmd+F (OSX)

Optimal Version:
Web (optimized screen aspect and full-screen). Prefer this version if possible.

A Word:
"No one else knows about The Reliquary.
All we've been told is there are Relics... spread all around The Universe.
It's been a long time since we heard about the Relics, huh.
All they say is that each Relic location means something. That is... for the Greater Reliquary."

Thank you and enjoy the experience.
~ PsenFilip

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#176Innovation3.64
#210Mood3.36
#247Fun3.36
#249Theme3.88
#303Overall3.43
#311Graphics3.40
#328Audio3.08
#936Humor1.71

Comments

Crowbeak says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:21am

Are the levels randomly generated? Some of them doomed me to failure.

PsenFilip says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:35am

No, the levels are NOT random. All 25 levels are beatable.

The game keeps rolling until you beat all levels.
Just remember that failure is not the end. Failure may even be means to an end!
Good Luck

stevejohnson says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:11am

Sound effects are so-so. The general aesthetic is very good. Somehow the two vertical lines make the game grid look much better than without.

Tozy says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:51am

What the game is about? I managed to finish the game, but still I feel like i'm missing something.
good graphics and music!

semi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:43pm

Very polished and a fun idea! I didn't figure out how to move diagonally, however, so I couldn't finish some of the levels.

PsenFilip says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:49pm

Semi: You cannot move diagonally, indeed.
Some levels are tricky at first but every one of them is beatable.
Try again and you will eventually find the A-ha moment on eache stage :)

Overv says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:26pm

I haven't figured out how exactly some of the seemingly impossible levels work yet, but it's definitely a very fun and innovative game!

visibleatom says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:30pm

446, 14. A couple of those were because I turned my head away at the wrong time.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:18pm

Great music.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:13pm

Very neat blind memory game.. An neon aura pulse would have been awesome could be fun game keep working it..

Lidfrid says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:36pm

i like the concept, it could be rendered in a more minimalistic way.
Too much effects, and it doesn't fit the music really well.
Good job though :)

Cosine says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:54pm

I like this game. I think it's a great creation of a fairly interesting topic.

lpcustom says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:01pm

Really enjoyed it. The ah ha moment was great.

netguy204 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:03pm

Overall, Nice work. I found it to be well assembled, clever, and frustrating as heck. But, I blame it on my own lack of spatial memory and not the game.... way to point out my faults!

Graphically, nice. Sounds are appropriate. Good game play idea (even though I dislike it personally). An accomplishment. Well done.

Jellycakes says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:21pm

Really enjoyed this game, although my short term memory is bad so I had a little trouble, other than that really nicely done.

Hegemege says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:23pm

Got 341 greens and 5 purples, made one error only :P

Really addicting game, very good implementation of the idea both technically and graphically. Only thing lacking is a soundtrack, but a solid and enjoyable game! Well done.

neight says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:33am

Really great mood. Thanks for making it!

minism says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:57am

Fun game, nice work. I'm bad at memorization :X

Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:51am

Very nice game man! The idea is simple but very challenging and fun! Congratulations!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:38pm

While at first it is a bit easy to not understand fully what you are doing, it comes around to be a fun experience of a memory game. The death mechanic is a bit interesting, and I thought aesthetically it was fairly pleasing. The music was also nice, and the lighting/darkness effects added some nice mood to the game. Had a good amount of content and liked how it looped randomly through uncompleted levels.

Madball says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:06pm

Interesting idea! At first I was like "How am I supposed to pass it o_O", but figured out everything eventually.
You should add some more features. I can't suggest anything, but the idea is too good to leave it.

ataxkt says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:57pm

Bit slow, its annoying having to wait to respawn. Nice concept though.

multitude says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:13pm

You should put this ion Kong or some other page, because this is awesome sauce :D

Rafael Sales says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:48pm

Awesome game! Very well implemented and addictive. Congratz!

Tainted_Code says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:49pm

Brilliant game! The idea behind it is great. Oh, and the sound.. Music was nice!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:19pm

Really cool game, first "memory" game i've encountered so far, and I thought it was challenging and fun.

pighead10 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:51pm

That's a difficult game! I hope I didn't miss anything by not completing it.

Puccini says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:38pm

It's a fun and simple game!
I don't now how to move me in diagonal so some levels i didn't find the solucion.
A start level button or a restart level will be great , i missed the "level instruction" some times.

But in conclusion , this have a lot of potencial!

Ragzouken says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:58pm

I couldn't figure out some of the tougher levels, but I thought this was a really cool idea :)

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:03pm

This is one of, if not the best "limited map information" games that I've played this LD. It's clear that a lot of thought went into the interface and aesthetic. It feels like there are just the right number of design elements and they all serve a meaningful purpose. I do feel like it goes on a bit too long. Once I understood "the thing" and had spent some time enjoying that I understood it, I wanted the game to end. I'd say without more mechanics it could stand to lose 4 or 5 levels.

I'm not sure what the beeping was about at the end though.

Good work!

plash says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:19pm

Notes:

- Fits theme well.
- Music is okay. Was not annoyed by it, but could use more variation.
- Key repeat delay is very short. Causes death sometimes when I did not intend to move two tiles.
- Respawn delay is a bit long. Becomes easily frustrating it one does not realize how the core mechanic works.

Things I would change:

- Disable key repeat.
- Reduce respawn delay.

Cryovat says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:36pm

Oh dear, my short term memory is terrible...

That said, this is beautiful. The light and sound really makes it all come together to a great package. :)

Masadow says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:47pm

Beautifull ! I didn't understand some levels. There is a sort of philosophical meanings which I liked ! Great game out there and perfectly suited to the theme !

TheMaster99 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:28pm

Pretty interesting game. Cool graphic style. Quite challenging!

oldtopman says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:51am

Well polished, atmospheric. I remain confused, and convinced that some of the levels are unbeatable. Nevertheless, it's pretty good.

MaxguN says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:12am

Enjoyable but some levels can't be solved (or there are more controls than announced). That was sad :(

Bernhard says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:07am

466/16 is what I got I think.
I had two AHA moments, first was when I understood that the level shown was the next one not the one I just failed, and the second one I leave others to figure out themselves :-)
Pretty awesome simplistic. I liked it.
I saw you mentioned it in the description, weird that the EXE version somehow uses the wrong aspect ratio. Ran at 4:3 here which cuts off sides which makes it harder but it was playable.

Goodlookinguy says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:20am

MadMichaelofMetal (using my brother's account)
Don't play this game while streaming and focusing on the chat box. My review was done live. I enjoyed it.

TehSkull says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:07am

I liked this game. I liked it a lot. The gameplay was very unique and very enjoyable. I do love a good puzzle. More of this, I will gladly play.

michail says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:44pm

My favorite puzzle entry.

Uhfgood says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:10pm

This is a pretty good example of the theme as well as being pretty polished. Could almost release this publicly as-is (by that I mean to the non-ld crowd). Minimal without feeling like they're reducing it to nothing. Still a complete game. Pretty soothing to play as well. Well done!

NAMKCOR says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:51am

Not bad, but it wasn't very fun.

Xaychru04 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:54pm

I really enjoyed this game, and the concept was quite innovating!

GranaDa says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:55pm

Great game! Loved the audio and levels. Awesome job.

Hypnohustla says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:19pm

This game pleases my eyes very much. :) Memory games are not exactly my cup of tea, (mainly because my memory sucks). But had fun anyway :)
The audio choices were a bit weird and did not fit the rest of the game very well.

hgouveia says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:51pm

Great puzzle game :D, i had a lot of fun

Thijsku says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:09pm

Very cool game! Too bad that some levels are impossible to finish. I think a scoring system would be nice too. (like: how much time/turns do you need to finish the level)

Good job! :)

Alucard J says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:31pm

I also thought this was a great little memory game, found it challenging sometimes, took a long time to realize some of the walls were just 'pretend walls'. The use of lighting impressed me too. Well Done =]

Jacic says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:57am

I liked the music, but not the sound effects so much. Cool idea though!

May 3, 2013 @ 1:44am

My visual memory seems incapable of storing the paths to most of these. I wonder if more clues/indicators would help & make it a little less frustrating. Nice aesthetic.

ddionisio says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:20am

This is a pretty cool game, I like how it shuffles you to various levels. Also the fact that your death marks help you guide you the next try.

Nice gameflow and music.

Dir3kt says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:00am

Good idea nicely implemented. I'm bad with memory games, really bad. But I still had load of fun. I might come back to this one to strengthen my memory :)

AlbertoSM says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:04pm

Light effects were cool! The sound effects can be kind of tedious to hear constantly, since they differ too much from the music and atmosphere. Nice job overall!

hypp says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:03pm

Nice work!

tcstyle says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:01pm

Pretty neat game. Quite simple, well executed and totally fits the theme. The sound is great.

patrickward says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:46pm

This was very well done. Although it did remind me how bad my spatial memory is. I thought the colors and graphics were beautiful and the music (though repetitive) was soothing and helped the flow of the game. The only issue I saw, is that sometimes it appeared the maps were impossible (i.e. the player or target were surrounded by purple) -- or I misunderstood something. Overall, very impressive and enjoyable game. Thanks for making it.

sudorossy says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:24pm

Great game! I love how you have to discover certain mechanics

Rialgar says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 10:01am

Great game, just the sfx where a bit too loud/annoying imo

mrexcessive says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 3:54pm

Didn't get how to move diagonally... or whatever trick required for levels which seem to require that. Good job including tutorials. Nice game like alien pelmanism.

pvwradtke says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 3:01am

Ok, first of all, kudos for providing a Linux binary. All Unity games should do it in future compos. I liked the aesthetics, very simple and effective. Adding openings with previous failures was a good idea, specially because the scenario gets highlighted at that point.

Kvisle says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 10:50pm

I finished it it! I was a bit confused about the levels that aren't beatable on the first try - but as I kept playing I figured out the mechanic. Nice job.

Typedeaf says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 5:19am

The music was good, the sound effect woke up my dog =P The graphics are ok and the puzzles were fairly enjoyable but mostly pretty easy =P

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]