April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Defense of the 8-Bits

by NiftyLlama - 48 Hour Compo Entry

It was made in scratch and it's my first Ludum Dare, so it's not the best. But I worked hard and I hope you like!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#835Fun2.68
#877Audio2.14
#924Humor1.74
#1084Innovation2.30
#1091Overall2.63
#1116Mood2.23
#1255Graphics2.03
#1255Theme2.58

Comments

uberneen says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:40am

Not bad. It's simple but functional. I had one issue with collision, but I was able to break free from the wall and continue.

cwilloughby says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:41am

I liked it! Loved the little wagon train and the tank pulling it. Liked that you got more levels in. Got stuck on collision a few times, including behind the scoreboard. Wished the dudes on the wagon disappeared to when I lost villagers. Good first entry!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:41am

Super sad... why did that refugee have to die?

CogentInvalid says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:42am

Scratch always seemed hard to work with to me, so I'm impressed by the fact that you managed to get everything that's there in 48 hours. The tank moved a little too slowly for my liking, but I liked the controls and the way the attachment to the tank trailed along behind it.

Alec Von Arx says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:43am

8-bit graphics for the win! haha surprisingly fun for such a simple game.

GameRespect says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:50am

The game is pretty good! I found myself saving every bullet until it was needed and I knew i had a clear shot, and the aesthetic and the sounds are decent. With a bit more work on the collision checking and more levels/features, it would be even more awesome. Good job! :D

CogComp says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:39pm

Well done. I wish there was more levels. Nice tempo in game.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:44pm

good game but i wasn't sure about the story you should add that

DevWouter says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:00pm

Personally i would have left out the alpha part in the name

Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:27am

Very interesting concept gj on LD..

Ooya says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:08am

Nice game, great concept ! But i can go through walls in reverse gear.
Nice work ;)

escence says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:15am

Nice one, simple but fun. I got stuck in the wall in level 4, but I could get out :)

Skoggy says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:35pm

Very simple, a bit too easy but nice otherwise.

Team Castor says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:05am

Nice job !

gmaker says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:58pm

loved theme )

john_conder9 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:02am

The game was painfully slow, maybe I'm just impatient but maaaaaaaan! Also, the second the game started I immediately had to turn down the sound of chrome, it hurt my ears it was so loud. But, other than that it was functional and other than the last level where the UI got in my way (I got stuck at the top) it was pretty cool. Neat concept, and I liked how he levels had a ms-painty-look, I think it went well with the game for some reason. Not sure why, just kind of charming you know?

Dietrich Epp says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 1:28am

On the second level, the wall is practically invisible: dark gray on dark green. Nice concept, though.

Kvisle says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 8:17pm

I finished it! I like it, this is something that can become really good with some work. The core game mechanic is there - you can make this quite nice with small modifications here and there. :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]