April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Potatoroids

by lpcustom - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is my first Ludum Dare. I created this entry with GameMaker Studio Pro, which I've been using for about three weeks. I'm not new to programming but I am new to game making. This entry doesn't adhere to the minimalism theme very well, but pretty much anything I can write is minimalist.

This is an Asteroids meets Lunar Lander game. You control a space ship which is tasks with defending the world against asteroids and spaceships in the form of potatoes and french fries respectively. Gravity keeps pulling your ship down so you have to maintain flight while shooting at the bad guys. You also have limited fuel on the ship. You have to refuel by landing on the Fuel platform. This can be challenging. Use the force.

You get a 1UP every 20,000 points.

SFX - created in BFXR.
Music - created in Muse Score.
Art - GM sprite editor and Gimp.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness81%
#80Humor3.52
#319Fun3.25
#521Audio2.76
#721Overall3.00
#767Mood2.67
#942Graphics2.55
#1129Innovation2.23
#1241Theme2.62

Comments

Jesse111 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:30am

This is the hero Ludum Dare deserves

nicotuason says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:31am

game was ok... but the FRYING SAUCER was awesome

Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:32am

It doesn't follow the theme at all, but that doesn't stop it from being fun. The difficulty ramps up nicely. Loved blasting that biggie size fries.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:34am

The first think I thought when booting up the game was. "wow, this game could use some french fry bosses".
Did not dissapoint.

pvwradtke says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:39am

Funniest game I played so far, congrats!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:34am

Great game! I thought the flying fries shooting fries was a nice touch. haha

cjacobwade says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:39am

Reminds me of Luftrausers!

Broxxar says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:47am

Hands down the best potato game I've played so far, and that's really saying something on account of how many damn potato games there are.

Perry says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:48am

All around nice entry. Very solid.

lpcustom says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:55am

Thanks for all the great comments. I'm trying to get around to rating all of your games as well!

shaircast says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:03am

SO MANY POTATOES IN LD LOL

jhrrsn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:00am

Haha, very cool Asteroid/Lunar Lander mashup. Good job man!

rujo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:43am

i want potatoes now

Follett says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:16pm

That was ridiculous! I LOVE IT!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:26pm

Very nice game! A little too hard for my untrained fingers though! The potato themed foes were very cool!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:29pm

Very nice game! A little too hard for my untrained fingers though! The potato themed foes were very cool! Very nice music, definitely gonna check Muse Score!

aquilicoco says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:13pm

Kill potatoes...
Kill potatoes...

Good work

netguy204 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:35pm

So, astroids + lunar lander actually works quite well and I enjoyed it. Controls felt good. The game was smooth and felt good to the touch. I think the balance would have been improved by adding a little bit of missile command (lose points when enemies hit the surface.)

PsenFilip says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:44pm

Haha Potatoes everywhere!
I read Lunar lander but I had to go hard crash my ship in order to believe it. Really good mash-up... works great.

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:46pm

Really great mashup of asteroids and lunar lander! Difficult, but fun!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:10pm

You passed the secret LD26 test: the theme wasn't Minimalism. It was Potatos ALL ALONG!

Good job!

lpcustom says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:55am

netguy204, I actually started adding that in, but I didn't put a condition for game over on it or show the "health" of the base on the screen.

CagedRat says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:07am

POTATOES... IN... SPAAAACE!!

nilstastic says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:30pm

nice game! A little too hard, I crashed a lot :)

mortl8324 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:49pm

Very funny game. Felt a bit repetitive after awhile, and I didn't feel any incentive too keep trying. But otherwise, really funny game!

goerp says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:33pm

I never had the need to refuel. I always died before I had to refuel.
Played well and looked good.
You missed the theme I think. You should have come up with a silly reason why it would be Miminalism (like I did).

junt74 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:33am

Nice graphics, sounds, and potatoooooo!
I would be happier if I could check how much point I've got score when the game is over.

Tyro says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:14am

I really enjoyed this one. Flying around and blasting cosmic spuds is an unrivaled experience.

tcstyle says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:45pm

Interesting take on asteroid to add gravity (and potatoes). The controls are too sensitive.

SmilingCat says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 2:33am

Adding gravity to your basic asteroids game makes it a bit more interesting. Good job!

Korda says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 11:46am

Congratulations on your first game! You have done a good job. Potatoes should have been the theme.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]