April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Rainbow Train

by gosferano - Jam Entry

Game isn't finished as it was planned. Mainly because of lack of time, but it's playable coffee break game. I'll add high scores soon.

Controls:
*Arrow keys
*Number keys (including diagonal movement)

Goals:
*Move up and level-up
*Avoid circles
*You get points when finishing level. The more HP you have left, the more points you get.

These are the main goals. ;)
P.S., you need to press keys rapidly. Are you hard-core gamer, huh? ;)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#383Theme(Jam)2.94
#464Graphics(Jam)2.47
#490Innovation(Jam)2.12
#506Overall(Jam)2.44
#528Fun(Jam)2.00
#1720Coolness30%

Comments

Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:21pm

The game doesn't work - it doesn't even launch. :(

gosferano says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:43am

What Windows version are you using?
Is it XP SP3?

kyru says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:54pm

Good looking game, the colors were nice. Lots of key clicking, could maybe use shorter levels or register holding down as repeated key presses.

gosferano says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:40pm

It was intended to be top-down shooter for hardcore gamers, so accurate movement should be mandatory. It's easy to add, but then, the feeling will not be the same :)

Cambrian_Man says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 2:33am

I honestly couldn't figure out the other goals. I could get to the top pretty quick by mashing 7 and 9, though. I feel like even something this simple could be interesting, if the circles needed to be lured or trapped or moved in some day.

gosferano says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 12:19pm

Not the goals, but features. Like, what does the color of the circles mean.

netmute says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 2:14pm

I'm on a Mac. Sorry :(

dertom says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 3:31pm

Hmm,..somehow it is a nice game. Even though after dashing through 2 levels I have to get a new pair of hands :D It is not that clear where exactly you get or loose points. That would for sure increase the fun, otherwise you just keep on dashing...all in all good job

Cosine says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 4:12pm

The game seemed a little bit repetitive, but the first level was fun. Wish I could hold down keys, might make it less repetitive

Nick Cash says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 5:04pm

This was a fun game! My fingers are kind of tired now though. So much button pressing! It would definitely be nice of key repeats were on or levels were shorter. Music and sound effects would also be good.

gosferano says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 5:19pm

Updated description with info about score'ing.

klianc09 says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 6:55pm

"Play the new Button-Smasher-Simulator 2013". Well, this game concept is nothing for me, my poor hand...

yellowlemming says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 7:27pm

my fingers certainly get very tired while playing this game and the button-mashing stamina appears to be pretty much the only challenge-the circles were not really much of a challenge. But otherwise it is a rather nice game, despite he pain on my fingers.

bvanschooten says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 10:19pm

The graphics look interesting. Unfortunately there isn't much gameplay as is.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]