April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Nega-girl

by enzo - Jam Entry

"Minimalism describes movements in various forms of art and design, especially visual art and music, where the work is set out to expose the essence or identity of a subject through eliminating all non-essential forms, features or concepts." Wikipedia

I wanted to make a Megaman-style platformer, except that instead of accumulating more and more powers, the player loses abilities, until all that is left is the basic platformer elements.

I used Flixel with DAME for level editing

my journal: http://enzyme-attack.tumblr.com/tagged/ludum-dare

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#117Graphics(Jam)3.80
#126Fun(Jam)3.31
#195Humor(Jam)2.47
#248Overall(Jam)3.20
#276Mood(Jam)2.93
#349Innovation(Jam)2.73
#368Theme(Jam)3.00
#465Audio(Jam)1.25

Comments

Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:17am

Couldn't get it to start :/

enzo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:33pm

alright it should be fixed now!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:45pm

Aww, that's adorable

Casino Jack says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:26pm

Really nice, fluid animations. I've tried quite a few times but I can't seem to bit him though!

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:02pm

Feels truely like a megaman, it's fun

Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:06pm

Great! A bit difficult, but fun and a neat idea.

Covenant says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:11pm

Very cool idea, gorgeous graphics, extremely hard!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:56pm

VERY fluid controls and animations.. one of the best games I've played so far this LD! :D

free_napalm says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:13pm

What can I say? A Megaman boss fight with a twist.

Jubjub. says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:55pm

Very nice. Would be cool to see it extended in to a fully fledged game!

Brassawiking says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:58pm

The hit box was a bit off for the last stage. Great animations and movement! Bonus for not restarting at the beginning when you die.

kbm0 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:59pm

Quite the fun game, although I had a hard time understanding the correlation with the theme (before reading your explanation). Good job!

optimality says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:58pm

I got pushed through the door by a collision with the boss: http://imgur.com/VEIdNjB

Could really use some audio, and I couldn't figure out what the weak point indicator was indicating.

optimality says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:58pm

Great animations and flavor, though - I did really enjoy it, despite the bug!

Galvesmash says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:28pm

Great Game! But too hard!

Sestren says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:27pm

The difficulty curve was excellent. Just as you start to get better at learning his patterns and the controls, you start to lose abilities. Very fun!

sparkleswirl says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:29am

I think it was actually easier without the threat detector, and the magboots and double jump armor weren't really that useful either. Maybe it was because I got better at the game as I played?

SonnyBone says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:45pm

AWESOME! Reverse Mega Man! You really nailed the Mega Man feel. Awesome graphics. Needs some audio to make it PERFECT! Great great great job!

uncade says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:24pm

Awesome animation, controls worked well too, but I couldn't beat the bad dude. Awesome job!

acro says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:40am

I must disagree with some of the earlier comments: I think it's easier than most Megaman boss fights. In fact, it's very well balanced, Major Pain has a good range of moves, great learning curve, and lives up to his name! Threat detector is a nice feature to start with, too.
Your interpretation of the theme seems similar to what I came up with, but yours comes across more clearly, and I really liked the power core being the "discovered true important thing" after she is deprived of all the other superfluous things (which actually, weren't as good). You made the theme ring true with the gameplay/progression really well, which I don't know if our team entry quite managed. Top marks for that!
Just in terms of gameplay I'm not sure what was meant to happen with the power core, though: I just kinda ran into him. And a shame there was no ending screen, the art is cool! Nice feel, nice to play, and slick.
You should totally use SFXR next time round - it'd be ideal for sound effects for this kind of action shooter.
Great job!

pereubu says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:59pm

I like the idea, it was enjoyable to play, and nice art by the way :3

evilseanbot says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:49am

I really enjoyed the character designs and animation.

enzo says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 11:28pm

Thanks for the comments, all! Next time I'll plan more for sound design, hehe

MinionStudios says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 4:12pm

What a great game! Fun and really really hard... love the artwork!

Zccc says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 8:58pm

It is a bit buggy, but playable. I liked the idea very much, and strangely, I got better at fighting him the less the powers I had!

zkenshin says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 10:49pm

Enjoyed the art. :) Couldn't beat it though. :P

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 4:54am

great graphics -- too hard -- nice job

Jeremias says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 9:11am

Very hard, but I enjoyed it anyway. The graphics are well made, but as someone else mentioned here, the game gets easier because you benefit more from your experience as from the powerups.

Zccc says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 2:35pm

Forgot to say I beat it :P it's not that hard, I really like boss battles! Great game ahah

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]