April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

barry-cade

by robertcalvert - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is my first Ludum Dare, although stressful it has definitely been an enjoyable learning experience. "barry-cade" (I normally sneak a character called Barry into my games) is a basic constant scrolling avoid the obstacles thingamabob.

I hope people like it... *looks nervous*

This game requires Java or OpenJDK 1.6+ to run...

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#173Fun3.48
#270Theme3.86
#307Graphics3.41
#361Overall3.37
#501Mood2.95
#714Humor2.00
#884Innovation2.68

Comments

Xgor says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:42pm

Nice interpretation of the theme and pretty fun, Desperately needs a kick-ass soundtrack or heck atleast some sounds

robertcalvert says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:01pm

Thank you. I agree it does need a funky beat in the background. Sadly my music skill is 0 :( but it is definitely something I will work on for next time.

Yngar says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:40pm

I like it, it gets pretty difficult very fast though. I was wondering what your personal high score is?

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:57pm

745 points.

Neat idea, definitely has room for expansion. Additionally, you have made a game about colour that a colourblind gentleman such as myself can play. So could on you!

robertcalvert says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:58pm

Thank you. Originally it did not speed up as quickly but it felt a little to slow to get into. So in the end I went with full speed quick and fast. The best I have done was in the 800 mark. I might expand on this after the compo and slow the game down a bit and add stages etc.

Puffi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:59pm

Neat concept, my best try was 270 points, agree with Xgor that some upbeat music would really set the mood for it.

robertcalvert says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:00pm

I will be honest I never though about colourblind issues, but I am glad it plays well for you :)

Dietrich Epp says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:01pm

Simple and fun!

JimmyLord says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:03pm

That was fun... only managed 445 points, I feel I got painted into a corner on some runs, do the arrow key movement speeds increase as the forward movement speed increases?

robertcalvert says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:07pm

Thank you. No the arrow speed stays the same. I think in hindsight it should speed up to a set point and the start to slow down again... so it come it waves.

robertcalvert says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:11pm

That should have read comes in waves.....

Yezu says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:25pm

Really fun!

ananasblau says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:43pm

with sounds it would be perfect. feels like a first-person-endless-runner and maybe that's how you should market it, and you really should bring it out big.

i made a score of 335 on the second run :)

Macroz says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:49pm

Great! Simple and clean! I have sort of the same idea (avoiding obstacles) but very different result :)

hypothete says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:35pm

130 points! I had a hard time steering - wasn't really sure how "big" I was. Loved the graphics though - simple and beautiful. Reminded me of those Japanese "human Tetris" videos. :P

Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:57pm

Love it! Good usage of the theme. Very clean and pretty looks. I maybe would've liked to see some inertia in the sideways movement and the font stands out a bit too much but otherwise this is a great game.

Yarek says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:52pm

It's a really nice game and I wish I could use the mouse to move I'd feel more in control because sometimes is it like " I know where to go but just can't reach it in time " :P

BTW my best score is about 750 so I've been playing it for a while :) Good job !

PS: I agree with the other comments you should include audio and if you could make it go faster or slower in the same way as the game goes that would be really nice ^^

Make A Game says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 3:49pm

Congratulations on your first entry.
xD I got vertigo after a while (and it's rare for me to get dizzy while playing)
It's minimalist, it's fun, the graphics look like Mondrian (loved it). The only thing that it lacks is a good backgound track =P. I hope to see your next work soon!

Siewart says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 2:55pm

While I'm still not sure what blue does, (Speed neutral?) I liked this game, a lot. (I also submitted a FPS endless runner :P, probably a reason why I like it.)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]