April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Maximalism

by phi - 48 Hour Compo Entry

It's a pretty weird game... A delicious mixture of squares, shooting, incest and potato.

It's the first time I'm participating, and I think that's visible in the game... The code is really messy and my engine sucks eyeballs. You might get a flickering screen, so I've added the ability to manually set the FPS.

Please read the instructions if you're confused.

Timelapse video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OCjqf8-igO8

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#372Humor2.53
#580Audio2.67
#937Theme3.12
#1006Innovation2.46
#1070Mood2.31
#1169Overall2.50
#1191Fun2.17
#1236Coolness49%
#1292Graphics1.88

Comments

Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:23pm

I have a mac. :(

kratorspore says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:28pm

This game sounded really cool but I couldn't play it because of the flickering. None of the FPS settings seemed to make it any better.

stefan says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:36pm

Ah, these evil minimalist squares ;) This a nice idea, even though I needed some time to understand it. Some of the squares are really beautiful, but I think I don't want to marry them ;)

phi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:56pm

If the FPS settings don't reduce the flickering, try using the command "java -jar maximalism.jar". Works for me with 60 FPS this way.

Thanks for your comments!

Covenant says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:03pm

I thought the game a bit confusing... then I saw the instructions and I got even more confused... :)

Anyway, seems like a good idea, but the controls were a bit stiff.

The idea itself is awesome, hopefully you'll carry on with it!

cahman says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:01am

I liked it, lots of good ideas. One of the minimalists turned purple. I'm not really sure why that happened... Oh, and the music was simultaneously minimal AND BUMPING! I kept the fps set to 20 and didn't have any screen flicker problems.

hardycore says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:43pm

Not a bad game.

Test User says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:21pm

I think I know what the flickering problem might be. You might need to double buffer your canvas or applet if you're using one of those classes, by drawing to an image then drawing that image all at once or using the Java double buffering class. Otherwise, interesting concept though, I had fun. And nice music.

gmaker says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:52pm

i like it =)

XtremePrime says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:55pm

At first I played the game and I was confused. Then I read the instructions and got even more confused. It does strive for innovation but the game is kinda of unplayable because of the constant frame rate issues (runs a bit choppy on all the settings for me) and the constant flickering.

The idea is good, and it has potential, but I personally couldn't succeed in playing it and having too much fun.

Pros for the audio, thought, it really lifts the game.

Hamumu says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:02pm

That is a really interesting and weird idea... pretty hard to actually play, but interesting to experience! A more zoomed-out experience would feel less random. The boxes move so fast and your shots have such range that most of your bullets are going to be hitting guys at random.

phi says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:03pm

I am double buffering. It's my rendering method what causes the flickering. I'm sorry for that! It might depend on the Java version, because I get the issues only if I start the JAR by double clicking.

Well, at least I learned something. :)

May 1, 2013 @ 8:20am

Good first effort.

plash says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:16pm

Notes:

- Options, always a nice touch.
- Weird black rectangles flickering on the screen.
- Background is a little bland. Just randomized & blurred?
- The music is simple, not too annoying.
- Are they dodging my bullets? I cannot tell, but they are hard to hit!

Things I would change:

- The background.
- Fix that flicker!
- Remove the FPS option -- not necessary, just aim for a particular framerate.

plash says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:17pm

Also, running from the console with `java -jar maximalism.jar` did not fix the flicker with any of the FPS options.

Zim the Fox says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 4:00am

None of the links work for me.

Post on my page if you fix it and I'll play it!

Fritzendugan says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 7:30am

website is down

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]