April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

AlterSpace

by guestcheap - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Alter your surroundings in this minimalistic platformer - with a twist!

Looks like that lazy game developer has left his levels unfinished again! Luckily for you he's left behind some spare parts... See if you can win the game without him!

Instructions:
The goal each level of the game is to kill all the baddies (in red), and reach the green square.
Press Space at the beginning of each level to find the objective and a small hint.
Pressing space opens the edit mode as well, where you can drag and drop tiles to form your own level.
Press Space again to exit edit mode and see if you can finish the game!
Press E when near a lever to toggle it on or off.

There are 4 easy levels, 4 medium levels 3 hard levels and a bonus #potato level as well.

Music by WolframTones/sfxr.

UPDATE:
Thanks for the bug reports, guys, but I'm just going to clarify some of the common issues here:
1)Please play the web version only. I've removed the other links so this shouldn't be a problem anyway.
2)You can not move in EDIT MODE. This was intentionally disabled.
3)Placing blocks is done by clicking the required black block, (not click-and-drag) and click again on an empty space.
4)Blocks can not be place on spaces that are already filled.

Thanks for the feedback!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#390Innovation3.34
#539Audio2.73
#567Humor2.21
#572Fun2.97
#634Overall3.10
#702Theme3.39
#782Mood2.66
#1142Graphics2.23

Comments

sol_hsa says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:17am

Space didn't seem to do anything in the second level, and I got stuck :(

ThreeUp says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:17am

Spacebar worked on first level, but not on second.

guestcheap says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:23am

Sorry guys, when you enter a level you have to click into the game again. Irritating, I know

guestcheap says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:29am

Actually... I've fixed it up again. You don't need to do that.

visibleatom says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:42am

Jumping seems bugged after moving cubes in edit mode. Whenever I exit edit mode, I often simply cannot jump anymore.

Suese says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:46am

Ran into a bug that wouldn't let me let go of a piece with the mouse. Interesting concept anyway.

meat_popsicle says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:50am

I LOVE the concept of editing the level you're in.

I think the only thing that jars me as a PC player is swapping back and forth from keyboard (space + arrows) to mouse, esp. as a right-handed mouse user. (Maybe a left-hander is less jarred by the swap?).

I think a simple reevaluation of the control-scheme makes this a 5-star game :)

sparkleswirl says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:50am

Nice little game. Love the music change when you press space!

shaircast says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:52am

I like edit mode, making my own way. but I can't get the function of switch. I can move locked blocks and spikes without touching it.

guestcheap says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:53am

@visibleatom
Please use the Web version, if you aren't already. The others aren't tested, in fact, I think I'll take them down.

@Suese
The blocks aren't picked up by click and drag. Click once, move the block, then click again, on an EMPTY spot (important). It should work fine, as long as you're using the web version.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:55am

Everything works smooth for me.
Fresh and innovative idea.

guestcheap says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:10am

@shaircast
When you move over a lever press E, and it will work. The level where you can move the locked blocks does have 2 possible solutions, but in a later "Hard" level I've implemented levers only. Glad to see you guys are enjoying it.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:33am

Cool game! Reminds me a bit of my own.. but with better collition ^^

ChrisGaudino says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:10am

I like this concept. I think limiting the number of moves in edit mode would make it more challenging.

guestcheap says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:29am

@ChrisGaudino
I actually had been thinking of this, but I ran out of time.

JonRB says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:39am

Nice game, although the music gets quite repetitive... Pretty original way of platforming and a good game overall.

Ace says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:41am

Interesting concept, though the movement felt pretty strange with no friction or inertia whatsoever.
You could've made the game a bit harder by not letting you move blocks through other blocks, then more strategy could be involved.

Broxxar says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:44am

This could be fun but the challenge is just way too low. Consider limiting the editor a little bit, number of edits, restrict what blocks you can/can't edit.

guestcheap says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:22am

@Broxxar
I've already restricted which blocks can and cant be edited. Only black tiles may be moved around.

Doccrazy says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:39am

I really like the idea, its rather easy though.

Skywilly says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:52am

Great concept ;)

EggDestroyer says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:53am

Well made and interesting but lacks challenging puzzles, only the last one made me think a little ! The jumps feel a bit strange too, more responsivity could enhance the experience, along with a faster "Edit mode trigger" on Space. Also the music loop is a bit annoying imo.

Still was a pleasant experience :)

Griz says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:57am

Really enjoyed this one. You can't go wrong with non-linear levels.

RyanK says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:58am

Fantastic idea. Smooth, nice looking text.

RyanK says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:58am

Really nice concept.

m64 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:02pm

The best entry I played so far. Editing makes it a bit too easy, but otherwise this is a very nice, inventive and polished game

Split82 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:04pm

Nice idea, not very good execution, but fun :)

josefnpat says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:42pm

Nice game, but I always found myself with way more blocks than I needed.

triforcespark says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:48pm

Everything was nice, the feel, the fonts, the music, the gameplay.
Wish it had more levels and smoother controls.

Tinco says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:59pm

Hi, great little game, fun levels. The concept is innovative, but the gameplay wasn't very challenging and it could have used some more polish :) Perhaps letting modifications deduct from your a score would give it a replay value :)

Anyway it was fun I finished the game :)

Gustera says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:35pm

buggy :(

guestcheap says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:51pm

@Gustera
How?

Zed says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:00pm

Ingenious. A really clever mechanic with some great implementation. I'd like to see this expanded into a bigger game. Good job!

egos says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:02pm

nice game and fit with the theme perfectly
The edit mode is a good idea but to the level three its so long

martijn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:03pm

Kind of weird jump physics

guestcheap says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:08pm

@martijn
I was just trying to keep things simple.

LrdKzrth says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:12pm

Controls were a bit hit and miss, had to refresh the page in order to make the game recognize input from my keyboard. Overall, a good idea

guestcheap says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:25pm

@LrdKzrth
When you select a level from the main menu, you have to click in the screen inorder for the game to rcognize your keyboard.

kewry says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:59pm

Loved the idea, but the controls feel terrible since I have to constantly get my hand off the mouse onto the keyboard to used d-pad, maybe wasd would feel better

Lizzip says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:49pm

aaaarg, so frustrating. But fun game, and well made

tonic says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:53pm

Well, that was pretty nice towards the end. First I thought it was a bit dumb, but after the introductory thing it became a bit more interesting, and I played all the levels. (Spoiler: Many of the levels didn't even need usage of the lever!)

mrexcessive says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:55pm

Excellent design, level editing always good. Had a problem with mouse getting lost when over game first happened on first level with triangle black tiles - couldn't place them to kill baddie then mouse gone. Control scheme is a bit confusing, but hard to see what else you could do without click to edit.

Yarek says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:46pm

Really lovely game ^^ I like the concept and it's fun and tricky. Good job ;)

pythong says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:16pm

I like the idea, but when I got to the level 'Spikes kill you', I moved all the black tiles, but the animation got stuck when going back :/

JohnnySix says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:34pm

Interesting concept - controls are a little twitchy for the leap of faith level - a little too hard, trying to time the pause/edit beween jumps.

ChuiGum says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:16pm

VERY VERY Nice, I like how you can build to get to the exit.

tankete says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:25pm

Nice idea. Getting a chance to edit the level made it fun. Initially I thought gravity might eliminate some options when exiting edit mode, but that would probably be too hard (to play).

cwilloughby says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:32am

Cool. Love the concept of edit mode. Reminds me of my #1gam game Blocktion that I did a few months ago - http://www.chriswilloughby.net/blocktion/. Liked the controls. Liked the music. Fit the theme. Good job.

Ditto says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:16am

I like the concept a lot, but it wouldn't hurt if it was a bit more difficult!

guestcheap says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:31pm

@kewry
You can use WASD keys, guess I should mention that in the instructions

nilstastic says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:51pm

Nice idea to edit the level you are playing. The controls need a bit work.

lotusgame says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:26pm

Love the idea. with an editor to make personal level it would be fabulous. The Lever and lock on block seem not to do anything. Leap of faith is very long. Good luck.

zatyka says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:44pm

Cool little game. I ran into a few bugs (spikes getting stuck in other blocks, and not being able to let go of pieces), but it didn't stop me from finishing the game and enjoying myself.

CogComp says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:57pm

Very nice game and a very nice idea. Well done! You should focus on making more levels and maybe polish the graphics a bit (when LD48 voting is over of course, since I'm assuming the current graphics are based on the theme)

May 1, 2013 @ 7:53pm

Interesting concept, and there are some well-designed puzzles in there. Sadly the controls are too twitchy. It would be easier if E and space worked upon keydown, not keyup. The music is a bit annoying, especially when switching in and out of edit mode.

Travis Irby says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:14am

really cool concepts nice job!

RobKat says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:38am

Liked the level editing, movement was a bit difficult though

JimmyLord says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:47pm

Cool game, the current set of levels are a great intro to the mechanic, well done.

GranaDa says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:17pm

Fantastic idea! The jump seems a bit fast but overall is good.

Rafael Sales says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:41pm

Very intellinge approach. Congratz!

Shugor says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:16pm

Pretty nice idea, along with some nice background music.

Pixelulsar says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:54am

On the level where you had to move the spikes, I could pick them up but it wouldn't let me place them near the enemy(even though the place I wanted to put them was empty)

guestcheap says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:15am

@Pixelulsar
You have to click a couple of times to get the spikes to be stay still.

ashdnazg says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:11am

Absolutely wonderful game idea, I especially liked leap of faith :)

fishbrain says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 3:48pm

nice original idea, and like the simple graphics and mellow game tune.

May 3, 2013 @ 4:14pm

Very original concept. I think you can definitely develop this into something proper with more time. Still, given the 48-hour constraint, you did it quite well IMO.

SmilingCat says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 5:21pm

Pretty cool! Love the concept of switching between editor and gameplay.

Prelucid says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 5:53pm

Clicking black tile wouldn't move it. Oh well. Good stuff.

oatsbarley says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 3:40pm

The edit mode controls are a bit finicky but other than that this is really nice. Good job, I like the idea!

mollymus says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 7:41am

Think I might've found a bug. If you place a black block in the very tile you're standing - you will teleport to ontop of it. This meant that for potatolevel I could just go stand at the edge, build a huge tower on top of me and teleport up to the potato! Cool game, nonetheless! I enjoyed it!

kill0u says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 12:30pm

Nice concept :D

Sebastian says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 1:11pm

Cool idea. I think it would have been better if you had very few blocks to work with though. Also I somehow got stuck in edit mode on the first level that has a lever. (Edit mode text was visible, but I couldn't move blocks and pressing space did nothing).

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]