April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Super Chronos Sonic Spaceship

by vegard1992 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A game where you fly onwards trying to avoid the deadly saws behind you. Collect coins, or bounce off blocks to feed energy into your generators. Time-energy is the precious resource which you have set out to procure. It's the most rare form of virtual unobtainium to exist in all permutations of space-time, hence why evil saws are out to get you, and steal it! If you find the stars are not to your favorable alignment, and you get into a tough predicament, you can spend some energy to reverse time for a short duration.

You can control with either joystick or keyboard.
For keyboard use WASD, spacebar, and "r" key for restart / start.
The joystick controls are only tested on my own, so you'll have to experiment to find which buttons and axes do what.

Have fun =)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#641Audio2.55
#650Innovation3.00
#802Mood2.63
#936Humor1.71
#975Overall2.77
#1015Fun2.45
#1047Graphics2.37
#1266Theme2.53

Comments

Infernal says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:23am

Errored when I tried to play:
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "C:\Python32\lib\site-packages\cx_Freeze\initscripts\Console3.py", line 2
7, in <module>
File "game.py", line 427, in <module>
File "game.py", line 296, in __init__
File "C:\Users\be24019611\vegards dropbox\Dropbox\ludum dare 26 game\input_han
dling.py", line 111, in __init__
File "C:\Users\be24019611\vegards dropbox\Dropbox\ludum dare 26 game\input_han
dling.py", line 11, in __init__
IndexError: list index out of range

vegard1992 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:32am

oh dang, it needs a joystick / gamepad plugged in. sorry

CogentInvalid says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:34am

I got the same error.

cwilloughby says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:35am

Cool. Good start - it might help if it was a little easier at the start and there was a tutorial. Joystick and keyboard both worked for me, after I figured out the controls.

vegard1992 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:41am

fixing the error now guys, give me 5min

vegard1992 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:46am

i think its fixed, anybody confirm?

fueelin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:24am

I'm able to run it now, couldn't before so hopefully that means it's fixed... I didn't get that specific error though. Yeah tutorial would be good, a bit confusing.

Cybearg says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:05am

Very unintuitive. I'm not going to rate because I don't want to rate down what could be a fun game just because I don't understand how to play it, but there are seriously no clues, which is a bad thing for a game that relies on the player to figure out how to play it.

paulopn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:51am

Took me awhile to learn how to play it, but it's definitely a fun game. I'm impressed with the time rewind mechanic.
You could make the beginning a little slower and be more forgiving on the use of fuel, that would go a long way towards making it easier to learn.

vegard1992 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:30am

thanks for the criticism
i got progressively better at the game as i kept running through cycles of coding and debugging, and so i ramped up the difficulty because it felt easier every run.
i shoudlve totally added some modes like "easy", "experienced", so people can actually get into it lol

vegard1992 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:31am

appparently im allowed to change it if its "unbeatable", ill head over to IRC to see if i can change it so the speed ramps up from a slow start

vegard1992 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:08pm

so the guys over at irc said it was ok since it was so hard. i made it start off slow and increase, also flashes a few text messages the first time you start, as a tutorial. i put a small number that is an objective score, so that the game is technically "beatable" as it should be.

PushmePullyu says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:53pm

Kinda hard to get and pretty challenging but, oddly, that's also its good points.

josefnpat says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:45pm

I was able to run this via wine in linux very well.

Nice game, I like the "Chronos" mechanic!

dasrkrain says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:48pm

Very confusing. Controls should be waaay more simple.

Holofire says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:09pm

Difficult, but fun. Took a while to get the hang of it, but it was great fun. Nice work!

Smaxx says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:44pm

Very interesting concept. I don't really understand why a spaceship would have to flee some kind of saw(?), but it's really nice. That replay feature reminds me a lot of the Prince of Persia.

Scott McBee says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:13am

While interesting, I didn't see how the time mechanic really fit into it. Any time I tried to use it, it didn't rewind me back far enough to make any difference.

cardboard says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:15pm

I beat it! Quite tricky to get the hang of, but really fun once I got the controls down. I got stuck a few times where even reversing time didn't save me, but I don't think that is a fault with the game. There were a few times where I almost died and things got pretty intense for a second. Overall, really cool and interesting game.

zanzindorf says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:36pm

I really like the audio. It reminds me of a really awesome DOS game. The game is really hard and confusing. I couldn't figure out how to play. There was a certain point where I died every time because the thingy kept overtaking me.

triplefox says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 2:09am

After an initially perplexing learning curve I had some fun with this.

Ryusui says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 8:00pm

I have no idea what I just "played." WASD just make me fly in random directions and the on-screen prompts are of no help whatsoever.

OU GDA says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 5:40pm

The music was pretty catchy, but some of the transitions were a bit hard between tracks. Maybe a fadein/out would have helped with that. Also the darkgreen on blue made it difficult to see the ship. The red line of site was an interesting idea, but I guess you didn't have enough time to hide the barriers in the red? or was it just a cosmetic thing. Ultimately, though, the game wasn't really that difficult, and really only used the time rewind mechanic when I just a path that didn't have an exit since the visibility was low. Some really cool ideas though.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]