April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

EmotimCrawl

by Tamik - Jam Entry

Help The Emoticon survive in the dark dungeons!

The goal is to reach the Gold star at the end of each level.
Its simply just reach the goal and survive.

Made with XNA so you have to have installed that. Theres a link at the top.

Controls are WASD to move and Space to Attack
Collect Green triangles to increase your damage
And Collect Red triangles to restore your health

This is my first Ludum Dare entry. The competition was a lot of fun! Although I think I should not have tried to write my own collisions ; ;
I may have made it in time for the compo if I got that part done sooner. Well here it is, but I wish i could have made more levels for it. Perhaps I will make some more available.

You can also make your own levels by a text file.
The rules for the loader are that each line has to be the same length,
but there is no max on the number of lines.
When you have your file save it under Content/Levels/
and it should appear when you launch the game.

Legend for level editing:
Z Zombie
A Archer
H Hero(Player)
h health
d damage
E Level Exit
W Walls

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#153Humor(Jam)2.69
#283Theme(Jam)3.22
#378Mood(Jam)2.61
#380Fun(Jam)2.61
#396Audio(Jam)2.19
#419Overall(Jam)2.76
#443Innovation(Jam)2.36
#486Graphics(Jam)2.36

Comments

Jellycakes says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:25am

Really nice game, the emoticon was cute and somehow kept me engaged. Nice job!

UntitledQ says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:45pm

Haha, yes, self-written collision code has always been a problem for our group as well.
The attack key seemed to not always work until I realized that holding it down work well.
Other than that the game performed great. Neat little first entry!

kyyninen says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:54pm

Definitely liked the Doom-style face in the bottom panel!

lanz says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:54pm

Cute emoticon!

tiffi says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:00pm

The level editor is a really cool feature, love it!

Cake&Code says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:07pm

Compo or not, you finished your first Ludum Dare! Congratulations :D

I know what you mean about writing collision code... oh man is it rough in such a limited time window. At least you saved time by making a such a simple level generator, also lets us make our own levels pretty easily!

I hope you come back for the next Ludum Dare!

reheated says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:11pm

Nice work, it was fun! The combat was good but it was a little too easy to just run past everything and not fight.

Tamik says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:13pm

I'm amused that the most noted features are the ones that took me the least amount of time to implement.(The emoticon and the level editor ^.^) It gave me more time to work out the tricky parts.

QXD-me says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:14pm

Aaah... the old create levels in notepad, I've done that before. It turned out to not be as good an idea as I thought it would be.

KR-Eddie says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:24pm

Aha collisions are always a pain in the ass right? xD
The emoticon blinking was really cute.
The combat was a little strange with the bad collisions and low range, but it was fun nevertheless.
Like how you went with a text based theme with for character and level editing.

whilefun says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:46pm

Pretty cool - I love that you basically included a level editor with your game. That's great! I found the hero movements a bit sticky (got stuck on the walls a lot). Good job, I hope you do more LD jams! :)

Tamik says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:11pm

I have an idea for fixing the collisions, but the controls for input and firing (like the archers only sometimes fire and tapping space doesn't always work) I'd like to improve. I think i can fix the collisions in most cases I just ran out of time to test my idea, but if someone knows how to get cleaner input in XNA I'd love to chat. For now just know that holding space will make the game easier =P

MartianWatts says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 6:26am

Collisions are a headache, but you learn a lot doing it by yourself. Nice game!

TehSkull says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 5:43am

Poor collision detection. Awkward attacks. Neat idea for level editing.

Dietrich Epp says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 5:47am

Collision problems are the #1 source of problems with gameplay, it seems. Beat the game, afterwards I saw the info and learned that I could attack--guess I didn't need to.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]