April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Weapons of Minimal Destruction

by bluescrn - 48 Hour Compo Entry

It's an arena shooter, like many others. But don't just start shooting everything - as the aim of this one is to get a minimal score!

If you let enemies live, you lose score. Killing them gains you score. Kill as few as possible whilst still surviving! You'll also lose a bit of score for dying.

Of course, watch out for those nasty shiny coins, as they'll make your score go in the wrong direction!

WASD/Arrows to move. Mouse to aim+fire.

Made with Unity, Blender, AS3SFXR, SpaceScape, and Photoshop

You can play it on the web, but the native Win32 build (in the same zip as the source) runs a bit more smoothly, and can run full screen.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#9Fun4.08
#20Graphics4.29
#49Overall3.92
#219Mood3.33
#256Innovation3.51
#294Audio3.13
#364Humor2.54
#702Theme3.39
#1775Coolness26%

Comments

B says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 6:19pm

Pretty cool game! Interesting concept.

shatterhand says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 6:58pm

You used the same concept as I did :)

Except you did a proper game with nice, detailed GFX, I approached every aspect of my game with "minmalism" on mind :)

redmaple says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 11:11pm

Beautiful, nice arena shooter

Chman says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:41am

Really love the idea of a "lowscore" (in contrast to a "highscore"). The execution is clean and the game gets hectic pretty quickly (which is a good thing for a shmup IMO). Great title btw, it caught my eye instantly in the game list.

As the intro says, the best strategy seems to be killing the big guys as soon as they appear and not bother with the little ones (they'll agglomerate and form a group easy to avoid). Got 650K on my first try, 580k on my second try.

You should add a low-radius/low-speed magnet effect on coins, could be fun have to run away from coins trying to get to you :)

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:33pm

Very good, it's funny and well done :)

tonic says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:09pm

That's some pretty solid action there, in the Stardust-esque style. Well executed!

jolle says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:51pm

Very nice production value, only missing music. Looks great, sounds good, feels good.

I like that you can play it in two different ways, trying for a low score, or just playing it like a regular game. It was pretty hard to rack up +points though, if aiming for that, guess it wasn't balanced for it, which is understandable. Both ways was fun.

Orni says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:33am

wow, amazing game

the concept is brilliant, the graphics are awesome, the gameplay is fluid - I loved it

Jonny D says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:38pm

Plays great. I like the sound of lots of enemies popping.

Jonny D says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:56pm

Ah, well there's my low score: -3,700,000 without losing a life, then -4,639,740 at the end.

aquilicoco says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 3:20pm

Good job. I love the graphics

MinionStudios says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:28pm

Super great game! The ship is so fast and fluid that it almost seems possible to win.

michail says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:30pm

That's it! I've played it more than 20 minutes, finally getting low score near 0 (but still positve). Loved the idea and execution.

zkenshin says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:53pm

Really well done, and good use of theme. :)

wzl says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 11:57am

Awesome twist! Love it. And hella difficult all for the right reasons!
Best (worst?) score: 572.190

loxo says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:22pm

Incredible graphics and a great idea. This game is much fun to play!

_Rilem says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:21pm

I want to kill everything and grab all the coins! D:

I killed everything on the first go, but after that I found that trying to not kill anything is actually a lot of fun. Cool concept and sweet graphics!

Very impressive! :)

May 5, 2013 @ 6:15am

Pretty and well done. Slick and solid. Would have preferred some other new mechanic vs "don't kill stuff" as it was fun enough to shoot things that I wanted more of that.

May 5, 2013 @ 7:00pm

Beautiful entry!! Awesome graphics and good gameplay. Well done!!

Diamonde says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 10:17am

-668,160 :)
This game is so well done. I'm very impressed with what you've managed to do in only 48 hours!
Don't know what else to say.. I'm just amazed :D

oatsbarley says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 5:25pm

Awesome game! Super smooth controls and great graphical style, really clever idea too! Well done.

Cyboot says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 7:44pm

Nice game with a great concpt. I like it :)

pereubu says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 8:23pm

waw, great job on the design. The game is highly polished and very enjoyable. :D

EatenAlive3 says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 9:49pm

Very fun! I found that the controls worked perfectly, which not many games can make happen.

My minimum score was 576280 :P

anjack says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 10:59pm

Fantastic game! Very literal interpretation of the theme and I liked it! The controls are solid and the gameplay is excellent. Great job, great game!

pvwradtke says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 3:24am

Great game, very good graphics and polished audio. Thanks for providing the Windows binary, because I could run it perfectly on Linux using Wine. I think it would be even better if played with a twin stick controller, instead of the keyboard + mouse combination. Also, forcing the use of WASD insteand of providing support for the arrow keys is a major bummer for those holding the mouse with the lef hand.

ferasmi says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 4:03am

absolutely my favorite

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 4:47am

man that was super cool and the graphics were great -- nice job!

davidB says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 7:03am

fun. 596.400

Jeremias says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 6:32pm

Nice visuals and interesting concept: the player balances his own game.

Sylvain.p says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 8:07pm

Really fun game, but not trully on the theme.

Fadobo says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 10:15am

Great high-quality fun. Juice it up a bit and I would buy that.

kill0u says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 6:24pm

So much win in this game O_o
474k at first attempt, definitely playing this again soon!

mrexcessive says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 7:00pm

Beautiful graphics. Nice smooth gameplay even fullscreen in browser (Chrome/W7).

nilstastic says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 10:43am

Pros: Beautiful graphics! The ship was very easy to control.
Cons: Not really on theme, but the theme sucked a bit so.. And the start game button could have used some love =)

Zccc says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 1:41pm

Awesome game, very well polished!

Smaxx says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 2:11pm

Very nice, although I've had a few issues gliding alongside the borders (getting slower/stuck at some point if you don't use a second direction in time (despite not being on the outermost part of the side).

Xanjos says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 10:04pm

I liked the gameplay concept. There's almost a high risk/high reward feel to it.

Kvisle says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 10:18pm

A very pretty implementation of a very simple mechanic. The "two-stick-shooter" works very well with wasd+mouse. Would be cool with title/end-screen, sound/music, and a possibility to win (that may be possible - I may just suck :P)

Angerus says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 10:32pm

"Evade! Just Evade, you god**mn pixel vessel!Please...Don't shoot..no! Stop shooting! What? my hand? clicking on the button...it's a mindtrap..."
As the nonsense talk shows it, I just keep playing again and again before stop around 500 000...grrrr! I will retry later. Funny game and I love the concept!

GaTechGrad says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 12:03am

Neat idea of getting the lowest possible score. My lowest was 590,790

Gungnir says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 4:55am

Nicely executed.

Mago says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 4:14pm

Very good and fun game

ethankennerly says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 8:59pm

Shooting UFOs and dodging bullets engaged me! Looks and plays sharp. If you continue to develop this, the spawn formations began to feel repetitive.

DaveDobson says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 5:24am

Very cool game, with smooth play, great 3D graphics, and an interesting concept. I got down to about 700,000 - no idea how good that is. I couldn't figure out if shooting anything at all was worth it, or if just hot dogging around trying not to die was a better strategy. I got so many points for shooting it seemed like just being careful was better. Nice work - really good.

Lyonsbanner says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 2:18pm

1 450 000 points.
It's great. :)

Codexus says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 10:37am

Nice little shooter, very smooth as usual with your games!

There should be an in-game reason to try to go for minimum damage. If it's all just based on score, it's just more fun to ignore it and shoot everything.

multikorv says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 10:21pm

Really nice game!! I played the first round thinking I should kill everything.. Good controls and really challenging!

MadGnomeGamer says ...
May 27, 2013 @ 1:29am

481,230 lowest score :D this is my favourite game out of this LD I've tried. Neat idea, great execution.

MadGnomeGamer says ...
May 27, 2013 @ 1:29am

481,230 lowest score :D this is my favourite game out of this LD I've tried. Neat idea, great execution. A lot of fun too.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]