April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Between the lines

by martijn - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This my entry for this competition.
The goal is to collect all colors (red/blue/yellow) in each level by touching them.

This game has 32 Levels and 42 "collectables". Can you find theme all?

The graphics were made by taking pictures of paper and changing their color in gimp. It also includes a custom lightning/shadow engine (Not that hard for a 2d game, but looks pretty nice).

Controls are displayed in-game, but in case you missed them:
left/right: move left and right
up or X: jump
spacebar or Z: fall through patflorm
R: restart level

Also you can press f4 to switch between windowed and fullscreen mode.

(Also there are potatoes, or so I heard)

A (audioless) playthrough can be found here:
http://www.twitch.tv/martijn_ludum/c/2215380
The real game does have sound

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#69Theme4.16
#94Graphics3.94
#124Overall3.73
#131Innovation3.75
#140Fun3.55
#186Audio3.33
#190Mood3.39
#264Humor2.72

Comments

ddlyheadshot says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 1:12pm

Can't get it to run... :(

Apr 28, 2013 @ 1:35pm

Amazing. Had much fun! Thank you!

TinyGolem says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 3:38pm

Awesome fun! :)

Jeremy Stark says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 4:27pm

Amazing! This is really fun and a great idea! Good Job!

Overv says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 6:31pm

Very clever concept, congrats!

Cybearg says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 8:45pm

Ingenious concept with a sharp, interesting aesthetic to go with it!

If I'm honest, though, it didn't quite reach the potential it could have had as far as "fun" goes because of the controls and puzzle design. I was glad to see that new mechanics were introduced throughout, so the ideas were expanded upon and stayed interesting, but so many of the puzzles relied on precision jumping or tedious climbing by hopping from platform to platform, which was made frustrating because the controls are very loose and it's extremely easy to overshoot/undershoot your platform or to adjust yourself only to be sent flying off.

Still, great idea. Polish it up, tighten the controls, rework the puzzles, and I think it could make actual money. Pretty awesome for a <48-hour prototype!

Angelbait says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 8:48pm

Very cool! Glad someone could figure out a nifty way to handle platforming and Minimalism. Good job!

martijn says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 9:23pm

@Cybearg
Thank you for your feedback. Seeing as there was still time left I updated the game (changed a total of 4 lines of code) and now you can move more precisely. Turns out I made a mistake where the player accelerated from 0 to top speed in a single frame instead of gradually.

NEW VERSION UPLOADED
changes:
smoother movement so you can do precision jumps more easily
(same download link)

Nacho says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 9:37pm

Awesome job. Very unique concept, had lots of fun playing it (although the "skip level" prompt felt a little condescending :P)

martijn says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 9:42pm

The skip level button was not ment condescending. I'd rather some people skip some levels, than to stop playing because they were stuck. It was a last minute thing, so I haven't put a lot of thought into it.

Apr 28, 2013 @ 9:47pm

WOW. This is an awesome game!

theo says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 10:02pm

Fun, but the difficulty curve is kind of random, and a few levels seem extremely tedious. (The one where you have to go through like 100 walls? Why?) Oh, and the music sucks. 7/10, good work.

guestcheap says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:59am

Great art style, but I really hated those jumping challenges.

dylanaholcomb says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:00am

I really enjoyed myself with this one. I had to rate a little down for the music simply because while the track was really catchy, it got a bit repetitive.

LrdKzrth says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:04am

Great game! Great fun! Really enjoyed it!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:04am

Lovely. Thanks!

CMaster says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:08am

You need to make the existence of a quick-restart key more obvious, had a lot of frustration until I realized that existed.

Well executed though, even if I wasn't a huge fan of the "falling through things" mechanic.

Crynix says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:42am

Wow, love the graphics.

Hadyn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:50am

Oh man... Some of those levels are just mean, but the style is excellent! I agree with some existing comments regarding music and the slightly tedious climbing that appears on a few stages. A couple of steps would be cool, but sometimes it's just too much - especially if you die and have to start again. Also, I got stuck on the 'line with no colour' level for a crazy amount of time. I thought maybe there were invisible lines or something, until I eventually found the mechanic which lets you beat it (I imagine some earlier stages might have been easier too if I'd discovered the mechanic sooner!).

Still, this is one of the few games that had me wanting to persevere to the very end, and the sense of achievement when beating the game was great, even if I only had 4 potatoes =[

ashdnazg says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:30am

Very nice game!
Level design was wonderful except the jumping/climbing bits.
They're less of a puzzle and more of a chore.

Morgawr says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:52am

Really great game, loved the humor and the simple and yet effective mechanics.
I agree the levels got tiring quickly but overall a very solid concept.

It's sad you put "Linux is better" in the windows level and yet aren't shipping the game for Linux too (I ran it fine with wine).

+1 point to humor for that line by the way :)

Xeke_Death says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:06pm

Nice work indeed. I really liked the graphic style with the photos of paper. And the little animations and particles on the character when it jumped. Fun game.

Diamonde says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:12pm

It was really tricky on some levels, but the game is a real blast! I really like the graphical style and the actual game play. Super well done :)

lucasncv says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:57pm

Best entry I've played so far, very very nice. Well done!

dvdking says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:41pm

fun game, with good mechanics
controls should be more polished
great that it has "skip level" feature, some levels looked so impossible to finish :)

tonic says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:43pm

A game like Piet Mondrian's paintings! :) Pretty interesting idea. Some levels a little bit frustrating, and the feedback about hitting each color could be more instant. A nice game overall!

Hegemege says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:26pm

Interesting concept, but the game controls felt a bit sloppy. Some of the puzzles were kinda frustrating, but there were some nice puzzles there as well. Overall, pretty good job!

3.14 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:43pm

It works as a game and is complete. I wouldn't add or take away a thing.

cmayhem says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:43pm

Very fun and the graphics are just great, music is cool.
The platforming controls need a bit of tweaking, they make the game much more difficult.

Spelchan says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:43pm

Very fun with enough of a puzzle element to keep it interesting. Kind of a large download though.

kewry says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:11pm

Amazing game, and that potato is beautiful

michail says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:40pm

The best entry I've played so far - simple, but excellent idea, great level design and lovely audio!

SenorDiablo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:03pm

love it

Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:34pm

I love that so many of these games are going with the image for "minimalism" on wikipedia as their graphic inspiration.

This is pretty fun! Basic controls and implementation, and pretty satisfying gameplay.

The game started really bugging out on the levels with the green-bouncy stuff. It seems like when you hit that stuff with your head, the game doesn't handle it very well.

Also, the "warps" were pretty annoying when they kept just going back immediately. It would have been better to have to leave the "warp landing" and then go back in to get teleported back.

Jumping was a bit tedious at times with the "switchbacks". I would have preferred the game without those levels.

Overall good job!

gameXcore says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:34pm

Fun, but I really struggled with the controls.

egos says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:16pm

special mention to the shadow really good use.
The game polishing is really nice too

Michael Hall says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:19pm

Great game, really fits the theme, also thanks for the skip level option. Sound is a bit intrusive though.

atraxgames says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:21pm

Very Cool! Graphics and Music are awesome, many levels, gameplay is challenging. And also potato.

Crazi456 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:13pm

Was very fun, the music was great!

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:36pm

This game is a nice surprise !

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:07pm

I don't know if this is intentional (might be a keyboard cluster issues), but I can't hold the jump button and go transparent at the same time. It's...starting to drive me nuts. Even when I'm deliberately trying to switch keys, I just can't do it with enough precision on a keyboard. Maybe on a controller, but not on this thing. LD has taught me that I need a new keyboard.

I do quite like this concept though. It also looks nice, and this is certainly the most modern music that I've heard so far this LD. Is that a plus? I don't know, but it's a piece of information!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:56pm

This is executed to near-perfection. Solid job in making such a polished game in 2 days!

dasrkrain says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:08pm

Great job. Really hard.

Purplescape says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:23pm

Great concept. Some of the levels were a bit difficult, I'm glad the skip level button was there. Controls were a little hard, but it was a lot of fun.

Zed says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:30pm

Very cool. A unique mechanic, good use of the theme, fair bit of gameplay, nice music.

bytegrove says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:43pm

Cool interpretation of the theme, but you used music from incompetech.com (as mentioned in the credits). Isn't that against the rules? :/

saampahlavan says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:58pm

I also went with a Mondrian Art style. this was fun I really like your take on this and the level design was interesting

Stiju says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:47pm

Great game.

Puzzlem00n says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:18pm

I made a game based off the whole Mondrian/De Stijl thing, too, and I like the look of yours!

I admit, I used the skip level button 3 or 4 times and only got nine potatoes, but I think I can say I beat it.

All the green blocks were really annoying, and the fact you had to hold up while phasing through walls at certain puzzles wasn't immediately clear, but other than that, great work. You have real skill for level design, and a lot of it.

Kimeric Labs says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:19pm

Pretty fun! Also, really liked the graphics made from paper, but I guess you could go for less digital treatment and use more "real world stuff" on the levels, since you went that way. Anyway, cool game! :)

Shugor says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:01pm

This was a really fun game to play~ The difficult curve was good, and I liked how you actually used all of the mechanics fairly often, it was fun figuring out how you could use everything. The trampoline color seems to work slightly buggy at times, and the skip level button had a tendency to fly around the screen really fast while I was respawning, but there's not really anything about the game itself I can complain about, apart from the lack of an option to play individual levels :y

qdowngames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:48pm

If you think about it, it's a very simple checkpoint game. Yet it seemed so new and fun. Nice work!

Ithildin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:25pm

As some people have already said, this game is quite promising. I love how the paper-like graphics look. Great job!

Nezzhil says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:35pm

Very good idea. Long and have a pretty good curve of difficulty.

multitude says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:12am

awesome game. really enjoyed it. something different to all the other games and i loved that this was done with photos.

jpcote says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:18am

Cool game, the skip level was a good idea.

ddionisio says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:55am

Really cool game! The paper art style with the lighting and shadow fit so well and added that nice extra feel to it. Then there's the music, that really set the mood nicely.

aneeslol says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:23am

Super slick graphics with some really creative levels. Easily one of my favorite games here.

Husky says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:50am

Pretty awesome!
Some levels are a little tricky, but it's still fun!
And I like the music, good job!:D

WauloK says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:52am

Lots of fun! Well done! :)

caranha says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:54pm

I loved the graphical style, really consistent. It also has a nice challenge curve.

I think it would be nice if there was a list of levels somewhere, so that we could see how far we had gotten - right now you can either skip a level, or press escape to completely quit the game.

Thanks for the cool game!

PS: in a few levels, the skip button started jumping everywhere like crazy as I moved. I think it is nice that the button moves out of the way, but you might want to look into that! :-)

Cheers,

IceCliff says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:44pm

I'm excited to play this! Just waiting for the download to finish! :D

IceCliff says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:05pm

This game's concept is so simple but your level design takes it a long way.

Oleg Zhurko says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:29pm

Really fun gameplay. Also hidden potatoes!

pvwradtke says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:27pm

Great, loved the puzzle based platforming of your game. Very innovative and challenging. Congratulations, one of the best games I have played until now. Keep the good work!

whilefun says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:12am

Wow, good job! :) It got very difficult at times, so I'm glad there was a skip level button

Travis Irby says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:27am

Cool game! Really like the aesthetic, the texturing and lighting. I thought the controls felt really good, nice job :)

Rafael Sales says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:22pm

Fucking awesome concept. Congratz!

kulhajs says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:52pm

Absolutely amazing game! Well done!

kill0u says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 9:54pm

Loved this one! The last levels were too difficult for me though :P

TheSheep says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 7:08pm

Nice music.

LUD4K says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 1:05pm

Awesome game and concept I really enjoyed playing it. Well done

KEFIR says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 11:24pm

Oh yeah! I saved it in my favorites list! Very very nice entry. Everything is good about it!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]