April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Time Void [Tech Demo]

by drGsus - Jam Entry

TimeVOID is our first Ludum Dare game jam project-- for this game, we decided that in order to get the best result, we would stick to our specific talents; creating platformers.
The resulting 3 days of jamming resulted in TimeVOID.

Featuring a simple geometric atmosphere and dark ambient doomnoise, your ultimate goal is to jump between Time Voids in order to find your way out of The Void.
The abstract world around you builds, reshapes, and rewinds as you move yourself around, requiring a degree of reaction time in order to succeed in each Void.
The controls are basic platformer controls, but the player also has the ability to pick up and use specialized clocks that freeze certain obstacles in place, allowing the player to traverse gaps and open up additional paths.

TimeVOID is made programmed in Unity, and all 2D art assets were made using GraphicsGale.
The music was composed in FL Studio 10. TimeVOID went a few different directions and themes during development-- from dream worlds, to the struggle of death, to entering time itself.



Unfortunately, during development, a lot of snags caught us by surprise-- both of us ended up having a sick day, and some other personal problems got in the way, resulting in a severely shortened development time (essentially, we didn't get the opportunity to work at our max) and a fairly short and unfinished product.
There are quite a few missing concepts that didn't get to get carried over to this game, including some really intricate animations, graphical effects, levels, and audio.
As you can imagine, this affects the overall atmosphere of the game a bit-- however, we did manage to gather up both enough time and willpower to finish this 4-level tech demo of the general mechanics of the game.

Overall, things could have gone a lot better, but we are both ultimately satisfied with what we were able to create with the limited time available to us. But now that the jam's over, we're ready to tackle our other projects, harder than ever.

So, for the time being, please enjoy TimeVOID!

- Tyvon "alpha six" Thomas and Sergio "drGsus" Torcanin

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2059Coolness0%

Comments

bleatingheart says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:59am

Really nice, fluid character animation. Controls/movement felt a bit heavy but it may just be my rusty platforming skills.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:30pm

Cool concept! Liked the idea! I would like to have in the backs of cyberpunk, because the music is very fitting! We would like to note character animation!

Dabuuker says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:46pm

The character animation is indeed very cool. Also the overall concept. The controls felt a bit stiff though but that could be a personal preference thing.

_Rilem says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:24pm

Really like how the blocks appear only when you get close to them. This is a great game with an awesome concept. Also the game controls quite good imo :D

Taro Omiya says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 4:14am

Pretty frickin' awesome. Liked the Braid-like "move right to move time" aspect. Instructions were a bit minimal to grasp immediately, though.

MinionStudios says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 3:31am

Awesome game! the animations and design are top-notch in quality and the game composition is perfect. PRO

imagnity says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 5:26pm

Didn't see it before. A solid entry!

Bloated Hippo says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 11:28pm

Really awesome!

Super Hamster says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 2:15am

Really well done game.

Jezzamon says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 10:22am

Good game!

Feedback:
The lives and game over system made me sad because I was concerned about getting far and then dying and having to restart. The game was short enough that that would've been ok, but obviously I didn't know how long the game was.
The 'leap of faith' part of a game, where you don't know what's ahead and you have to just guess is quite overused in general (I'm guilty of using it too), but it kinda took away from this game. This is an easy mistake to make when you design the levels and know them really well, so that they're not leaps of faith for you.

I wasn't a massive fan of the 'music', but as it's literally what "minimalist music" sounds like, it was ok. I'm just not a fan of minimalistic music. :P
The ticking sound though was a little distracting, because it kinda made it seem like there was some timer, and that time was about to run out.

Anyways, good game! Fit the theme well!

Prelucid says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 8:53pm

Awesome idea

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]