April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Invertigo!

by unusualcadence - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Shoot with X! Jump with Z! Kill baddies, progress, invert the world!

* Hold down X to release the 'burst fire', for pesky swarms of enemies.

* Press DOWN next to the chequered flag to save your progress!

* Hopefully no show-stopper progression bugs!

* I apologize for crappy jump puzzles.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#45Audio3.86
#72Fun3.72
#149Overall3.68
#358Theme3.74
#437Mood3.05
#515Graphics3.08
#712Humor2.02
#739Innovation2.90

Comments

spilth says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:12am

Nice job! I got up to the part with the "triple fire" turrets but couldn't manage to get up to that switch. Would be nice if there was a way to show which way the triangle is facing.

Jonatron says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:22am

Love it! It really distills the action platformer game to its simplest elements.

Broxxar says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:09am

This is a hard platformer. And I like that, well done!

daniel says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:27am

Some cool gameplay elements here, and nice take on the theme. A fun game!

torcado194 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:48am

wow nice! quite difficult

fueelin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:00am

I liked the music a lot. Controls were just a tad floaty for my tastes but overall fun game.

gabehollombe says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:38am

Love the tunes and sound effects! The inversion mechanism is neat, too.

shaircast says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:10am

Yay 8-bit disco-dubstep sound! neat graphic, jumping circles, Gotta love this game.

Hemuuuli says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:11am

Not a big fan of movement system, but otherwise it was good and pacing & difficulty were suprisingly balanced for a LD game.

donan says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:18am

Well done! I like how the interaction works. Quite hard game.

MetroidMan347 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:48am

A very nice game! Feels like it would be fun to just waste time with.

Kiwiboi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:29am

Is it just me or do you actually shoot with X and jump with Z? ;P don't know if that's a typo.

Anyway, well made game, a lot of detail, I like it! :)

Yacodo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:39am

Love the gameplay :) Same as spilth, can't reach the switch and missing a fire indicator : would have been perfect !

Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:12am

Ooh thanks for spotting the typo Kiwiboi, i was verry tired when I wrote it.

Just did a small progression-blocker bugfix for people that couldn't reach the switch on the 3rd level! Hopefully there aren't any more! :|

triforcespark says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:01am

At first I want to say this game is unoriginal (the color switching feels like the game Invert,) but adding action elements makes it more fun.
My only other problem are slippery controls.

But what stood out is the great sound and those graphic effects properly executed.

Conve says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:51am

Like it!!!

Corofides says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:46pm

Pretty decent game. Probably has some of the best audio I've heard in the competition so far.

richy486 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:34pm

Cool game, love the little effects when you shoot

Xgor says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:10pm

Fun game, Wish the character had a different shape than a triangle. I thought I was a spike and could hurt the enemies by running into them :(

Husky says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:06pm

Good job!
It's difficult but fun, and the music is great!

atraxgames says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:27pm

Well done, good music, great mechanics, fun gameplay.

Kvisle says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:27pm

Really fun game!

Copix says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:53pm

Very fun, this is a great game.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:02pm

Fun game, nicely done. Would be great to have some kind of background story, like why I am a shooting triangle killing balls... ?!? :)

netguy204 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:22pm

Nice work. The feel of shooting and popping the enemies is great. Good kinaesthetics. The sound fits. The color transitions work well. The game has a really nice feel with player motion being the only exception. Movement feels sluggish (forces instead of impulses, perhaps?).

stefenism says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:28pm

Solid game. I found myself ignoring my roommates whilst playing. This game is engaging and entertaining. I feel like I'm going to be playing this more in the near future...at work I mean.

Fabien Porée says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:35pm

This is a pretty good game about shooting stuff.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:36pm

@Martin_Monosys - as a triangle you wish revenge on your smooth-sided, pi-endowed bretherin! But their allies are many, and have the power of palette swapping at their disposal...

Thanks for the positive vibes and feedback folks! Ooh I could tighten up the 'floaty' feel of the movement by tweaking a few variables, but unfortunately them's the breaks of Ludum Dare! Hopefully in a future remix edition I will address the multitude of comments about the controls :) I think the acceleration/deceleration is just slightly too slow!

Pickehut says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:02pm

Holy shit! This is awesome!
My favorite game so far...

Bluebutton says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:43pm

Awesome.

TomboFry says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:44pm

Best music in a game I've found so far :D I really like the change between funk/disco to dubstep, it works really well (not forgetting the gameplay of course!)

ming_tea says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:30pm

Nice! Great sound, so far this is one of my favorites.

Foxtacy says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:04pm

This is some killer soundtrack you have there!!!!

I like the concept too!!!

Nice job!

sparkleswirl says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:38pm

Great platformer. Gave me some Cave Story and Shift vibes, in a good way.

Magewalkr says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:54am

O.o 2 days??? on top of being 2 days its pretty damn good :D well done

Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:37am

Nice tunes! I get kind of a Cave Story vibe from this.

heuermh says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:39am

Nice one. There is a bass riff somewhere in the background music that is real catchy too.

Casino Jack says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:32am

Really tight controls and funky music. The black-white switch was a really nice touch.

Idovoodoo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:33am

This is cool! Well done! :)

fishbrain says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:06pm

Excellent job! A nice, simple, fun platformer.

Volute says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:52pm

Very cool ! Those circles are evil.

bernhard says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:15am

Well made, and I'm glad it's not one-hit-kill :-) Oh, and the music ♪♪♪

Dir3kt says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:20am

Nice and hard game. I didn't finished it because of the checkpoint mechanism, got bored of starting over and having to redo the previous level. But still it's a really good entry.

Oh btw the music is awesome!

Tifu says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:35am

Excellent - I kind of wish there had been more save points, I kept dying in the level just before the second save point for a while, and was a little frustrating. Love the music

May 3, 2013 @ 6:36pm

Thanks for being super cool with feedback everyone! I've uploaded a post-compo version of the game, hopefully taking in to account most of the feedback from people.

* More health restore points!
* Restart at the beginning of the level you die on!
* More friction on the player character!
* You can see which way you're pointing now!
* Couple more levels thrown in for fun!

http://gamejolt.com/games/arcade/invertigo-bonus-beats/14400/

tcstyle says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:52pm

Good mechanic and level design. Fits the theme pretty well. I liked the music. The game feels very complete.

May 3, 2013 @ 10:16pm

A bit hard; still haven't beaten it. (I keep dying on the level after the first save point.) Might come back to this later.

Other than that, probably the most purely minimalist game I've played so far in the comp. The core mechanic reminds me of a simpler version of "Eversion". Fun to play, difficulty aside.

I'm kind of neutral to the music, but I appreciate the extra effort of putting it in.

Sylvain.p says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:27pm

Great job for a jam. The gameplay is very complete (lot of features). I think the jumb is a bit ... lunar. But the game is fun.

pereubu says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 11:59am

great game, the gameplay is really polished, but i think you should have made it a bit more nervous and speedy to be more enjoyable (it's mostly about the slow pacing of the triangle and it's moonlike jump). Also, art and music works really well.
great job 3:

wzl says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 12:13pm

Awesome, an entry with dnb tunes <3 insta-upvote :D
Great game, nice concept, horrific player physics :P
Otherwise solid entry, very enjoyable!

Jorjon says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 9:10pm

Nice graphics. I thought inverting the colors would have an effects on the level, but seems it's only an visual effect.

NightShadow0 says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 8:53pm

Whew, that got really intense when the enemies started shifting dimensions! Nice work!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]