April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

AbbrevsMaster

by davidB - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This was my first participation to [Ludum Dare]

The Game
========

Goal : Become an AbbrevsMaster.

Find Abbreviation to clean the screen of its definition/translation and try to create a minimaliste view like "Google Search" and scoring.

Points : definition's length x number of occurences.

4 categories x 10 levels (each one have its own url).

Mainly tested on Chromium & Firefox

The Technologies
================

Runtime
-------

* Music: [Mr. Mealey's Mediocre Machine from Kevin MacLeod] (http://incompetech.com/)
* Font: Font-awesome, [weloveiconsfonts.com](http://weloveiconsfonts.com)
* Host: [github pages](http://pages.github.com/)
* Browser: Chrome / Chromium (better), Firefox, IE10 (no sound), Android 4 Chrome & Firefox (no sound, slow anim)
* Database: text file with content from [ChatSlang](http://www.chatslang.com/)
* CSS : bootwatch "Simplex" theme + custom

Dev time
--------

* debug/test : Dartium, Chromium, Firefox (print ;-) )
* lang: [Dart stack](http://dartlang.org) (SDK, DartEditor, Dartium), HTML5, CSS3
* lib: simple_audio, web_ui, widget
* editors: DartEditor, jEdit, vim
* builder : Ant, Freemarker
* OS: Arch linux, zsh (oh-myzsh), mc, ...
* Draw: Inkscape
* SoundFx: generator (as3sfxr)[http://www.superflashbros.net/as3sfxr/]
* Kanban: [Trello](https://trello.com/board/ld26/517afacee4a0282247000a89)
* SCM: git + [github](https://github.com/davidB/ld48_minimalism/)
* Google + some articles



The LD Theme : minimalism
=========================

I make game with minimal gfx (triangle, cube,...), sound, ... daily (WIP Game). So I should do something different. I'm a fan of web design "minimalist" and "Google Search" page is a famous example. So start on a game with a visual like it.

And Abbreviation because, it's to write the minimal characteres ;-)



I hope you will enjoyed it, and you find some fun when you'll crunch abbrevs.

Thx

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#156Innovation3.68
#335Humor2.59
#492Audio2.80
#885Theme3.19
#987Overall2.75
#1019Mood2.38
#1040Graphics2.38
#1163Fun2.22

Comments

alwaysinbeta says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:25pm

I really like this. Cool and original concept. Fun to play.

davidB says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:55pm

Thx (typo there is 4 categories)

davidB says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:26pm

I just check the game is playable on my android 4 tablet (Firefox & chrome). But animations aren't smooth (not optimized)

HuvaaKoodia says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:42pm

+Music
+It's minimalistic alright.

-I'm not sold on the idea, but at least it's quite original.

Per says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:15pm

Creative!
I enjoyed the layout.

hypp says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:29am

Original idea. Too hard for me though!

May 1, 2013 @ 8:11am

I think the bot is cheating.

Tyro says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:12am

One of the most original ideas I've seen thus far. Kudos to ya'.

alts says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:17am

Very interesting idea. I'm pretty terrible at it, though. Made me feel like a cultural outlier.

davidB says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:19am

Thank you.

Bot100 can't loose, It follow the best path. But it can't play bonus (displayed randomly once or zero in first 3min).
The Boot100 is "a hare". ;-)

gre says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:01pm

I'm not good at this but this is funny! 5-star for the Humor :-) :-) :-D :-)

Super Hamster says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:14am

Interesting concept but I couldn't figure out alot of them. I am suprised you had so many different things though so good job on that. :D

LizEngland says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:28am

Hard, like a text adventure can be, but I love the idea. Reminds me of a redesign of a crossword puzzle or other riddle-like word games.

FREEZX says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:31am

Nice word game, cool overall design, really innovative.

davidwparker says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:54pm

Neat in concept, but it didn't have very many abbreviations/a lot were missing...
For example, WTF, LoL/lol/LOL weren't there. Also, sometimes things like :-) would work, but :) wouldn't.

davidB says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:14pm

abbreviations are randomly extracted from list if you run at (level 1 => 10% .... level 10 => 100%) x 2/3. Sometimes lol will be selected, sometimes not (eg: LoL League of Legends is in the gaming catagories).

Thanks for feedback

Uhfgood says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:39pm

Interesting concept, however I don't know half of these abbreviations

imagnity says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:05pm

So original! Every one should play this game. It's solid. Very good job!

runonthespot says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:19pm

Solid implementation.

ENDESGA says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:28pm

very nice :)

sudorossy says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:01pm

Seems like a fun idea, but I seem to suck at it quite a lot!

May 6, 2013 @ 2:03pm

NIce work. I can't win though.

galman says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 8:56am

Nice concept! I'm quite bad at this game :P

euwaku says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 7:44pm

Not sure I totally understand what is going on. Maybe a tutorial would be great!

zkenshin says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 12:30am

Didn't know nearly enough of them :P Interesting game. :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]