April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Aaron and Alex

by Robert - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Two brothers make somewhat snarky comments as you try to solve Alex's puzzles. Aaron could care less. You travel on a rail and try to keep enough walkways while solving puzzles to remove roadblocks.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#108Audio3.56
#177Humor3.02
#282Mood3.22
#595Fun2.94
#596Overall3.13
#650Innovation3.00
#737Theme3.35
#840Graphics2.67

Comments

Follett says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:58am

I have no idea what happened but I enjoyed it! The music and audio is so clear and crisp. Great work!

yajiv says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:02am

I liked the voices. Overall, both fun and funny :)

Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:02am

A fun little game! I liked the clean style of the graphics!

shaircast says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:29am

Voice is hilarious!(Is it kind of troll? lol) Pleasant sound and neat graphics.
But I have no idea about typing. I typed 'build', but nothing happened and bumped.

orangepascal says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:30am

enjoyable, nice vibes :)

guestcheap says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:32am

Fun,but confusing

Gustera says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:34am

With Score will be perfect

ndssia says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:23am

You guys are an awesome vocal duo :D

Well done!

Masadow says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:05pm

Very cool and innovative ! Would like to see more like that !

ataxkt says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:15pm

Ahaha, this is really fun :D Nice polish, love the stair effect you use. Might have been nice if it had gotten increasingly harder rather than just ending though.

Norritt42 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:51pm

I like the game but the capsule should have been something else and you would have nailed the theme and graphics. Voice acting was nice. It's creative feedback but i relay enjoyed it.

Alexander says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:13am

THIS is GREAT

AndyBumpkin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:22am

Uh...ah...wha?

I think that was good, but I'm not sure. Is good bad? Or is bad bad? The voices confuse me!

Szedouu says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:04am

fantastic mood and music

Greg Power says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:23am

Fantastic audio. Great voice acting and the piano was quite beautiful.

juaxix says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:40am

Nice mix between word and music videogame

BipolarMike says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:39pm

Well that was odd, but enjoyable!

Lythom says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:51pm

Hi, here is some feedback.
What I loved :
- atmosphere (strange world)
- sounds and music
- well introduced
What imo could be improved :
- relation to the theme
- random key combinaison to allow replaying
- the end (it just tells you game over suddently, you could add some "Congratulations" to let the player know he beat the game)

Nice overall, thanks for the game !

evilseanbot says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:12pm

I noticed that the pieces left counter doesn't reset when you restart. I assume that's unintentional.

Sylvain.p says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:19pm

The sound is really great, (it sounds likes Ghinzu...without rock guitar obviously).

PS : there are a little bug loop when you loose at the first word to write.

vandriver says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:14am

i knew this was 5 star audio as soon as my like game was done downloading or whatever.

smilingrob says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:17am

Thanks for all the great feedback everyone. I fixed the crashing bug where if you run out of walkways and hit a wall it won't let you play anymore. This also fixes the problem of running out of walkways.

Don't forget to hit spacebar to jump. The end of the game is not the "Aaron Alex" typing puzzle. It's after the 8 arrow puzzle after "asynchronous".

The other bugs remain because they fall out of the LD crashfix rule, such as not being able to hear Alex's defense of "oh come on, you got to get into a good company"

Crazi456 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:39am

Haha that was very amusing! Fits theme well.

tankete says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:22am

Loved the music and voices. Took me a second to figure out exactly how to play (even with the instructions).

Absolutely loved the Timelapse. It's great to get a "behind the scenes" peek and learn about tools that others are using as part of their work. I'll definitely be looking into GameAnalytics and finally putting my free Trello account to use. :)

P.S. My game link had died and you were kind enough to point it out. Thanks! It's since been fixed.

Oliver Simon says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:37pm

I don't know what that was about, but I won. I liked the setting.

EdoMiyamoto says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:43am

Good audio material !

fullmontis says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:05am

Interesting style of game play, very fun to play. I like the music and voices :)

Jan Marcano says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:39am

It was weird, but I found it pleasing nonetheless :)

Nice work man, I enjoyed this game.

Rafael Sales says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:23pm

Very interesting game. The part of typing remembers me the game "The Typing of the Dead". Congratz!

GranaDa says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:34pm

Nice entry!

cwilloughby says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:10am

Very cool. Love the narrative and the music. The gameplay is good. Pulled here by the 10s video. Nice!

Prelucid says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:20pm

Played really smoothly. I enjoyed it a lot.

protensity says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:05pm

I like the multitasking aspect a lot!

Sebastian says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 2:54pm

Pretty cool. Personally I would prefer a slightly faster, more intense pace to the game, but it's very enjoyable as it is.
The voices are really great!

Aceria says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 5:11pm

Good to see a game using humour!

foxter888 says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 7:55pm

like the music, funny random voices in it

Purplescape says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 11:19pm

The audio is excellent! Funny and interesting gameplay.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]